Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Will Sky broadband be enough?

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Alternatives to Virgin Media > Other ISPs Discussion

Will Sky broadband be enough?
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-12-2020, 08:14   #1
RichardCoulter
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 8,410
RichardCoulter has disabled reputation
Will Sky broadband be enough?

I am currently on 200mb with VM and am looking to change to Sky for TV. 200mb is far too much for what I use the internet for but, bizarrely, it costs more to reduce it!

The minimum that Sky offer for BB costs £14 per month and these are the details:

Sky Broadband Essential
Your speeds (Mb/s)

6.9-13
estimated download

5.1 minimum guaranteed speed

0.7-1 upload speed

Would this be enough for surfing the internet, sending emails etc and watching YouTube?

They do offer a faster service for £18 per month:

Sky Broadband Superfast
Your speeds (Mb/s)


32-37
estimated download

27 minimum guaranteed speed

6.6-9.5 upload speed
RichardCoulter is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 02-12-2020, 08:37   #2
Hugh
Hic Sunt Dracones
Cable Forum Team
 
Hugh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Age: 64
Services: Premiere Collection
Posts: 36,639
Hugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden aura
Hugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden aura
Re: Will Sky broadband be enough?

Yes
__________________
There is always light.
If only we’re brave enough to see it.
If only we’re brave enough to be it
.
If my post is in bold and this colour, it's a Moderator Request.
Hugh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2020, 10:08   #3
tweetiepooh
Virgin Media Employee
 
tweetiepooh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Winchester
Services: Staff MyRates BB: VM XXL TV: VM XL Phone : VM XL
Posts: 2,335
tweetiepooh has a bronzed appealtweetiepooh has a bronzed appeal
tweetiepooh has a bronzed appealtweetiepooh has a bronzed appealtweetiepooh has a bronzed appealtweetiepooh has a bronzed appeal
Re: Will Sky broadband be enough?

You will need a BT line for Sky (don't you??) If you don't have that already is there still a line rental to them as well?
__________________
I work for Virgin Media but reply here in my own right. Any help or advice is made as a best effort basis. No comments construe any obligation on VM or its employees.
tweetiepooh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2020, 10:43   #4
pip08456
Sad Doig Fan!
 
pip08456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Barry South Wales
Age: 65
Services: Now back with VM for BB & phone. 50Mb service.
Posts: 10,137
pip08456 has a nice shiny star
pip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny star
Re: Will Sky broadband be enough?

Quote:
Originally Posted by tweetiepooh View Post
You will need a BT line for Sky (don't you??) If you don't have that already is there still a line rental to them as well?
Incorrect. Sky will get Openreach to install the line. Rental is included in broadband contract cost.
pip08456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2020, 12:07   #5
SnoopZ
CF Resident Dog
 
SnoopZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 12,592
SnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny stars
SnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Will Sky broadband be enough?

I wouldn't go for the cheapest with only an upload of 0.7-1mbit!
__________________
PSN: Snoopzster
SnoopZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2020, 12:17   #6
pip08456
Sad Doig Fan!
 
pip08456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Barry South Wales
Age: 65
Services: Now back with VM for BB & phone. 50Mb service.
Posts: 10,137
pip08456 has a nice shiny star
pip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny star
Re: Will Sky broadband be enough?

Quote:
Originally Posted by SnoopZ View Post
I wouldn't go for the cheapest with only an upload of 0.7-1mbit!
The upload is enough for what Richards says he wishes to do.
pip08456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2020, 12:22   #7
SnoopZ
CF Resident Dog
 
SnoopZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 12,592
SnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny stars
SnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Will Sky broadband be enough?

Quote:
Originally Posted by pip08456 View Post
The upload is enough for what Richards says he wishes to do.
Good luck with that, when my parents had that speed the internet was useless if more than 2-3 people wanted to browse.
__________________
PSN: Snoopzster
SnoopZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2020, 13:25   #8
MikeyB
cf.geek
 
MikeyB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Swindon
Age: 49
Services: BT FTTP, Humax Foxsat HDR Freesat+
Posts: 795
MikeyB is a splendid one to beholdMikeyB is a splendid one to beholdMikeyB is a splendid one to beholdMikeyB is a splendid one to beholdMikeyB is a splendid one to beholdMikeyB is a splendid one to beholdMikeyB is a splendid one to beholdMikeyB is a splendid one to beholdMikeyB is a splendid one to behold
Re: Will Sky broadband be enough?

Quote:
Originally Posted by SnoopZ View Post
Good luck with that, when my parents had that speed the internet was useless if more than 2-3 people wanted to browse.
Until June I was stuck with ADSL with download of 13Mb/s, and upload of 0.8.

It coped remarkably well with 2 teenage daughters home schooling, me working from home, and the other half on Facebook.
Then in the evenings lots of YouTube, TikTok and other streaming.

Only real issue for me working was the upload speed publishing up software changes to our the servers at work.

If your parents connection was useless if 3 people were merely browsing it would point to other issues possibly?
__________________
When there's always biscuits in the tin, where's the fun in biscuits?
MikeyB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2020, 13:51   #9
pip08456
Sad Doig Fan!
 
pip08456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Barry South Wales
Age: 65
Services: Now back with VM for BB & phone. 50Mb service.
Posts: 10,137
pip08456 has a nice shiny star
pip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny star
Re: Will Sky broadband be enough?

Quote:
Originally Posted by SnoopZ View Post
Good luck with that, when my parents had that speed the internet was useless if more than 2-3 people wanted to browse.
But he only needs it for himself for browsing, emails and you tube. Why pay for what you don't need?
pip08456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2020, 14:50   #10
Inactive Digital
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Services: VM broadband and phone, Sky Q
Posts: 269
Inactive Digital is a glorious beacon of lightInactive Digital is a glorious beacon of lightInactive Digital is a glorious beacon of lightInactive Digital is a glorious beacon of lightInactive Digital is a glorious beacon of lightInactive Digital is a glorious beacon of lightInactive Digital is a glorious beacon of light
Re: Will Sky broadband be enough?

If you're getting Sky TV I'd recommend a faster speed as On Demand is mostly downloaded to the set top box, rather than streamed. Even though you don't need to have downloaded the whole programme before you can start watching, it's not instaneous playback. However, I thought you'd just renewed your contract with VM?

Quote:
Originally Posted by RichardCoulter View Post
The thing is I am now in a 17 month contract. I'll be happy to honour this and possibly stay even longer, but it's now being said that all customers will have to go onto the 360 when the VM contract with TiVo ends. If this is during the next 17 months i'll have to get legal advice to see if I can get out of the contract by claiming that this amounts to a significant material change to what I signed up for, if this doesn't work i'll look into the consequences of cancelling the direct debit, breaching my contract and moving to Sky Q, but I doubt it will come to this tbh.
Inactive Digital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2020, 16:52   #11
RichardCoulter
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 8,410
RichardCoulter has disabled reputation
Re: Will Sky broadband be enough?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Inactive Digital View Post
If you're getting Sky TV I'd recommend a faster speed as On Demand is mostly downloaded to the set top box, rather than streamed. Even though you don't need to have downloaded the whole programme before you can start watching, it's not instaneous playback. However, I thought you'd just renewed your contract with VM?
Thanks for the advice everybody. I am in contract with VM, but am researching alternatives for when this expires or they try to force me onto the V360 software. I've been advised that this should count as a change significant enough to warrant my entitlement to cease the TV contract early.
RichardCoulter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2020, 00:02   #12
Paul
Dr Pepper Addict
Cable Forum Team
 
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Nottingham
Services: VM Phone : Sky Mobile : Sky TV : VM BB (350 Mbps) : Vodafone BB (38 Mbps)
Posts: 23,453
Paul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered stars
Paul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered stars
Re: Will Sky broadband be enough?

Always keeping the legal teams busy, I hope its all free.
__________________

Baby, I was born this way.
Paul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2020, 05:10   #13
RichardCoulter
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 8,410
RichardCoulter has disabled reputation
Re: Will Sky broadband be enough?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul View Post
Always keeping the legal teams busy, I hope its all free.
Completely free.

There's a package that Sky don't tend to publicise that much called 'Sky Essentials'. It has the ADSL BB, free landline and mobile calls and Sky+ for the free channels. It's £26 per month, guaranteed not to rise for 3 years, with an 18 month contract.

I think that's very reasonable indeed, however, from what I can gather it only has two tuners and a 500g hard drive.

I suppose I could source my own 1 or 2 TB box and have the card re-paired. How easy is it to replace the HDD with a bigger one and how much would a 2TB HDD cost?

I've been told that this minimum broadband can be slow at loading things and things like the iPlayer can buffer. Does anyone know if I can try out Sky Essentials & upgrade to Sky Q if it doesn't meet my needs whilst still in the minimum 18 month contract?
RichardCoulter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2020, 06:25   #14
Paul
Dr Pepper Addict
Cable Forum Team
 
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Nottingham
Services: VM Phone : Sky Mobile : Sky TV : VM BB (350 Mbps) : Vodafone BB (38 Mbps)
Posts: 23,453
Paul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered stars
Paul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered stars
Re: Will Sky broadband be enough?

Two tuners is perfectly fine.

You can watch one thing while recording something else at the same time, or just record two things at the same time.

Loads of tuners is over rated IMO, you really dont need 6/8/10/whatever.

Replacing the HDD is possible, but will void the warrenty.
__________________

Baby, I was born this way.
Paul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2020, 09:13   #15
GrimUpNorth
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Up North - Where It's Grim
Age: 53
Posts: 1,353
GrimUpNorth is cast in bronzeGrimUpNorth is cast in bronzeGrimUpNorth is cast in bronzeGrimUpNorth is cast in bronze
GrimUpNorth is cast in bronzeGrimUpNorth is cast in bronzeGrimUpNorth is cast in bronzeGrimUpNorth is cast in bronzeGrimUpNorth is cast in bronzeGrimUpNorth is cast in bronze
Re: Will Sky broadband be enough?

So basically they're palming off one of their old technology Sky+ boxes on to the unsuspecting by bundling it with an unlimited old technology internet connection and a call package. You'll no doubt find the box will have less channels than a standard freesat box. There is no Sky TV package included in the £26/month and to add insult to injury, you'll probably have the added frustration of the full Sky EPG with everything but the few freeview channels greyed out.

So if you jump ship and it turns out to be rubbish you can't say you haven't been warned!
GrimUpNorth is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:27.


Server: curium.zmnt.uk
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.