Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Anyone else experiencing slow internet?

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media Internet Service

Anyone else experiencing slow internet?
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 17-01-2012, 07:15   #1
caph
cf.geek
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 563
caph is a name known to allcaph is a name known to allcaph is a name known to allcaph is a name known to allcaph is a name known to allcaph is a name known to allcaph is a name known to allcaph is a name known to all
Anyone else experiencing slow internet?

All over the weekend and especially last night I've been getting slow web pages, slow ping times, packet loss, and loss of internet connection a couple of times.

In all cases (apart from loss of service obviously!) the problem lies on the hop immediately outside of the Virgin network on the telco side but, and here's the rub, only for certain websites. Last night ping times were 10-20 times slower to cableforum, my company's website (WebFusion), and bbmax speedtest than to the bbc or speedtest.net. Tested from multiple PCs having reset the SH back to factory, all on wired connections.

This morning all ping times have gone back to normal. Anyone else noticing problems with the Virgin network recently?
caph is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 17-01-2012, 09:11   #2
qasdfdsaq
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,207
qasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronze
qasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronze
Re: Anyone else experiencing slow internet?

Yes.
qasdfdsaq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-01-2012, 09:46   #3
caph
cf.geek
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 563
caph is a name known to allcaph is a name known to allcaph is a name known to allcaph is a name known to allcaph is a name known to allcaph is a name known to allcaph is a name known to allcaph is a name known to all
Re: Anyone else experiencing slow internet?

Quote:
Originally Posted by qasdfdsaq View Post
Yes.
Any idea what's going on? There's nothing on the status page I can find.
caph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-01-2012, 09:56   #4
Sephiroth
Simples
 
Sephiroth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: RG41
Services: Vivid 200;Hub 3 MM; ASUS RT-AC68U. BT Infinity2; Tivo; V6; XL Phone; Devolo 1200AV
Posts: 6,213
Sephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze array
Sephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze array
Re: Anyone else experiencing slow internet?

People on forums tend to answer your question with a YES.

At this time, VM are rolling out 100 meg (as you know). But this involves changes at the local hub, changes at the regional hub, street cabinet changes, cable works, resegmentation.

Service corwding is bound to occur in various places while they do all this work.

AFAIK, that is.
__________________
Seph.

My advice is at your risk.
Sephiroth is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 17-01-2012, 09:58   #5
heero_yuy
Perfect Soldier
 
heero_yuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Worthing West Sussex
Age: 61
Services: VM 70M SHUB thingy in modem mode XL TV VboxHD Sony Bravia smart TV and M phone
Posts: 15,042
heero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny stars
heero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Anyone else experiencing slow internet?

I've been getting random drop-outs where the net is inaccessable yet the local link is still up. Also my modem seems to keep getting a remote reset: Suddenly all the FP lights go on, then the modem starts a reset sequence before reconnecting. Once connected the speed seems OK. Well as OK as it's ever been.

I would suspect it's part of the speed doubling process in that the traffic on the nodes is being re-balanced to give the doubling the best chance of showing results.
__________________
History is much like an endless waltz. The three beats of war, peace and revolution continue on forever.
However history will change with my coronation - Mariemaia Kushrenada
heero_yuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-01-2012, 13:42   #6
qasdfdsaq
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,207
qasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronze
qasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronzeqasdfdsaq is cast in bronze
Re: Anyone else experiencing slow internet?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sephiroth View Post
People on forums tend to answer your question with a YES.
My excuse: I was barely awake and haven't quite figured out what the problem is myself. My best guess is Ignition's guess - bad/overloaded peering.
qasdfdsaq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-01-2012, 17:03   #7
Jelly
Inactive
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 178
Jelly has a spectacular aura about themJelly has a spectacular aura about themJelly has a spectacular aura about themJelly has a spectacular aura about them
Re: Anyone else experiencing slow internet?

some websites have been extremely slow for me recently, but using a vpn proxy seems to fix all the issues; its probably VM messing up their peering again
Jelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-01-2012, 17:06   #8
clinteastman
Inactive
 
clinteastman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sutton Coldfiled
Age: 43
Services: Virgin Media XL TV, XXL Broadband, L Phone, TiVo, V+
Posts: 1,029
clinteastman has reached the bronze age
clinteastman has reached the bronze ageclinteastman has reached the bronze ageclinteastman has reached the bronze ageclinteastman has reached the bronze ageclinteastman has reached the bronze ageclinteastman has reached the bronze ageclinteastman has reached the bronze ageclinteastman has reached the bronze ageclinteastman has reached the bronze ageclinteastman has reached the bronze ageclinteastman has reached the bronze age
Re: Anyone else experiencing slow internet?

Same problems here too, packet loss and slow speeds.
clinteastman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-01-2012, 17:20   #9
denphone
Still alive and happy
 
denphone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: In the land of beyond and beyond.
Services: XL BB, 2 V6 boxes , XL TV.
Posts: 49,568
denphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver bling
denphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver bling
Re: Anyone else experiencing slow internet?

Quote:
Originally Posted by clinteastman View Post
Same problems here too, packet loss and slow speeds.
And down here as well.
__________________
“The only lesson you can learn from history is that it repeats itself”
denphone is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 17-01-2012, 17:36   #10
crazyronnie
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: NW London
Services: 2x TiVo 1Tb, XL TV, M Phone, SuperHub 3 Modem Mode @ 200/12Mb
Posts: 315
crazyronnie is on a distinguished roadcrazyronnie is on a distinguished road
Re: Anyone else experiencing slow internet?

i cant connect to xbox live. i cant get to xbox.com either
__________________
What does god need with a Star Ship?
crazyronnie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-01-2012, 17:38   #11
Lew
Inactive
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Fleet, Hampshire
Age: 47
Services: VIP50, TiVo
Posts: 2,869
Lew has a bronze arrayLew has a bronze arrayLew has a bronze array
Lew has a bronze arrayLew has a bronze arrayLew has a bronze arrayLew has a bronze arrayLew has a bronze arrayLew has a bronze arrayLew has a bronze arrayLew has a bronze arrayLew has a bronze arrayLew has a bronze arrayLew has a bronze arrayLew has a bronze arrayLew has a bronze arrayLew has a bronze array
Re: Anyone else experiencing slow internet?

Same here. Some sites are fine and others are rubbish. I've had to post this on my phone as I can't get CF to load on my computer.
Lew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-01-2012, 17:42   #12
EYEZ
Inactive
 
EYEZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: In The Socket........ !!
Services: XL BB - XL TV - Tivo,V+HD Phone Xbox360 Slim 250GB PS3 Slim 250 GB
Posts: 47
EYEZ is on a distinguished roadEYEZ is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to EYEZ Send a message via Yahoo to EYEZ
Re: Anyone else experiencing slow internet?

Quote:
Originally Posted by denphone View Post
And down here as well.
Ive had random rebooting of Router since 4pm today here in Plymouth.

EYEZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-01-2012, 17:42   #13
thenry
Inactive
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Crawley
Posts: 14,025
thenry has a nice shiny starthenry has a nice shiny starthenry has a nice shiny starthenry has a nice shiny star
thenry has a nice shiny starthenry has a nice shiny starthenry has a nice shiny starthenry has a nice shiny starthenry has a nice shiny starthenry has a nice shiny starthenry has a nice shiny starthenry has a nice shiny starthenry has a nice shiny starthenry has a nice shiny starthenry has a nice shiny star
Re: Anyone else experiencing slow internet?

my bb just went down and its now back after a few minutes. tried calling 150 but got a message of all agents are busy
thenry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-01-2012, 17:47   #14
bo0rk
Inactive
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 29
bo0rk is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Anyone else experiencing slow internet?

Got cut off aswell, Hopefully they changed something for the good.
bo0rk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-01-2012, 17:51   #15
GazCBG
cf.mega poster
 
GazCBG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Lincoln
Age: 43
Services: 200Mb (Superhub v3) | TV: 2x TiVo on XL | Phone
Posts: 1,020
GazCBG is a jewel in the roughGazCBG is a jewel in the roughGazCBG is a jewel in the roughGazCBG is a jewel in the roughGazCBG is a jewel in the rough
Re: Anyone else experiencing slow internet?

Yes, I am also can't get to websites keep timing out was xbox.com now it is lovefilm.com.
My Xbox dropped connection mid game, rebooting router made no differents.
__________________
Intel Core i7-7700k // ASUS ROG STRIX Z270H Gaming // EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 FTW // 16GB HyperX (2x8GB) 2400MHz DDR4 // 500GB – Samsung 960 EVO M.2-2280 PCI Express 3.0 (NVMe) // 250GB – Samsung 850 Evo SSD // 3x 2TB Toshiba P300
GazCBG is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 21:26.


Server: xenon.zmnt.net
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.