Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Finally got Sky!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Alternatives to Virgin Media > Other ISPs Discussion

Finally got Sky!
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-12-2007, 21:13   #1
LooieENG
Inactive
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 35
LooieENG is an unknown quantity at this point
Finally got Sky!

And went from a solid 4mbps to 3.2, 384kbps to ~290 and pings of 12ms (bbc.co.uk) to 77ms

Sky

Edit: Btw, this is the "up to 8mbit/448kbit upload"

---------- Post added at 21:13 ---------- Previous post was at 20:33 ----------

Edit: It just went off, and said "ADSL Link Down"

I reconnected, did a speedtest and I'm getting 5.3mbps
LooieENG is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 11-12-2007, 21:15   #2
Tightscot
Inactive
 
Tightscot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Location Location...
Posts: 740
Tightscot has reached the bronze age
Tightscot has reached the bronze ageTightscot has reached the bronze ageTightscot has reached the bronze ageTightscot has reached the bronze ageTightscot has reached the bronze ageTightscot has reached the bronze ageTightscot has reached the bronze ageTightscot has reached the bronze ageTightscot has reached the bronze ageTightscot has reached the bronze ageTightscot has reached the bronze ageTightscot has reached the bronze ageTightscot has reached the bronze ageTightscot has reached the bronze age
Re: Finally got Sky!

if its max and it's only just been activated, you'll have to wait anywhere upto 10 or so days while it trains and then gets locked to the best possible speed.
Tightscot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2007, 21:24   #3
LooieENG
Inactive
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 35
LooieENG is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Finally got Sky!

Okay, I'll leave it a bit then. Thanks.

Also, is it normal for my router to keep asking me to log in every so often?
LooieENG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2007, 22:05   #4
Chrysalis
VMNG300 RIP!!!
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Leics
Age: 40
Services: *-Sky 80/20-*
Posts: 11,835
Chrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze array
Chrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze array
Re: Finally got Sky!

sky connect (the one you on) is much poorer than skys normal LLU service.
Chrysalis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2007, 22:56   #5
LooieENG
Inactive
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 35
LooieENG is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Finally got Sky!

I'm on the "Mid" service
LooieENG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2007, 23:06   #6
Tezcatlipoca
Inactive
 
Tezcatlipoca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 16,850
Tezcatlipoca has a pair of shiny starsTezcatlipoca has a pair of shiny starsTezcatlipoca has a pair of shiny starsTezcatlipoca has a pair of shiny starsTezcatlipoca has a pair of shiny stars
Tezcatlipoca has a pair of shiny starsTezcatlipoca has a pair of shiny starsTezcatlipoca has a pair of shiny starsTezcatlipoca has a pair of shiny starsTezcatlipoca has a pair of shiny starsTezcatlipoca has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Finally got Sky!

What are the stats? Downstream attenuation & noise margin?

How do you connect the router? Extension or master socket?


etc. etc.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tightscot View Post
if its max and it's only just been activated, you'll have to wait anywhere upto 10 or so days while it trains and then gets locked to the best possible speed.

Nope, not with Sky BB Max, Mid, or Base. Sky's LLU services have no "training period".


Unless by "max" you mean "ADSLMax", such as Sky's non-LLU "Sky BB Connect" service, which is just a resold BT BB ADSLMax service.
Tezcatlipoca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2007, 23:50   #7
LooieENG
Inactive
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 35
LooieENG is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Finally got Sky!

Sky "Mid" package

Connection Speed 3808 kbps 384 kbps
Line Attenuation 26.0 db 13.5 db
Noise Margin 11.5 db 14.0 db
LooieENG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2007, 10:30   #8
LSainsbury
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Near Hungerford, West Berkshire
Services: TV: Sky HD, Landline: BT, Mobile: Orange, Internet: Quite Slow!
Posts: 6,883
LSainsbury is cast in bronzeLSainsbury is cast in bronzeLSainsbury is cast in bronzeLSainsbury is cast in bronze
LSainsbury is cast in bronzeLSainsbury is cast in bronzeLSainsbury is cast in bronzeLSainsbury is cast in bronzeLSainsbury is cast in bronzeLSainsbury is cast in bronzeLSainsbury is cast in bronzeLSainsbury is cast in bronzeLSainsbury is cast in bronzeLSainsbury is cast in bronzeLSainsbury is cast in bronze
Re: Finally got Sky!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt D View Post
What are the stats? Downstream attenuation & noise margin?


How would I find those out, please Matt?
LSainsbury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2007, 10:57   #9
pedantic
Inactive
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Swinton
Services: O2 standard
Posts: 2,499
pedantic is cast in bronzepedantic is cast in bronzepedantic is cast in bronzepedantic is cast in bronze
pedantic is cast in bronzepedantic is cast in bronzepedantic is cast in bronzepedantic is cast in bronzepedantic is cast in bronzepedantic is cast in bronzepedantic is cast in bronzepedantic is cast in bronze
Send a message via Yahoo to pedantic
Re: Finally got Sky!

Quote:
Originally Posted by LSainsbury View Post
How would I find those out, please Matt?
Try here.
pedantic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2007, 23:18   #10
Chrysalis
VMNG300 RIP!!!
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Leics
Age: 40
Services: *-Sky 80/20-*
Posts: 11,835
Chrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze array
Chrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze arrayChrysalis has a bronze array
Re: Finally got Sky!

Quote:
Originally Posted by LooieENG View Post
I'm on the "Mid" service
you on ipstream - non LLU

evident due to the 448 upstream.
Chrysalis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-12-2007, 12:38   #11
SOSAGES
Inactive
 
SOSAGES's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,379
SOSAGES is a pillar of societySOSAGES is a pillar of societySOSAGES is a pillar of societySOSAGES is a pillar of societySOSAGES is a pillar of societySOSAGES is a pillar of societySOSAGES is a pillar of societySOSAGES is a pillar of societySOSAGES is a pillar of societySOSAGES is a pillar of societySOSAGES is a pillar of societySOSAGES is a pillar of societySOSAGES is a pillar of societySOSAGES is a pillar of societySOSAGES is a pillar of societySOSAGES is a pillar of societySOSAGES is a pillar of societySOSAGES is a pillar of societySOSAGES is a pillar of societySOSAGES is a pillar of society
Re: Finally got Sky!

what are u comparing sky with ?
SOSAGES is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-12-2007, 12:40   #12
southwell
Inactive
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Basingstoke
Age: 35
Services: Sky HD Virgin Phone + 50mb
Posts: 918
southwell has entered a golden reputation erasouthwell has entered a golden reputation erasouthwell has entered a golden reputation erasouthwell has entered a golden reputation erasouthwell has entered a golden reputation erasouthwell has entered a golden reputation erasouthwell has entered a golden reputation erasouthwell has entered a golden reputation erasouthwell has entered a golden reputation erasouthwell has entered a golden reputation erasouthwell has entered a golden reputation era
Re: Finally got Sky!

Are you connected to the main BT socket in your house? How far are you from your exchange?
southwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-12-2007, 20:04   #13
Tightscot
Inactive
 
Tightscot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Location Location...
Posts: 740
Tightscot has reached the bronze age
Tightscot has reached the bronze ageTightscot has reached the bronze ageTightscot has reached the bronze ageTightscot has reached the bronze ageTightscot has reached the bronze ageTightscot has reached the bronze ageTightscot has reached the bronze ageTightscot has reached the bronze ageTightscot has reached the bronze ageTightscot has reached the bronze ageTightscot has reached the bronze ageTightscot has reached the bronze ageTightscot has reached the bronze ageTightscot has reached the bronze age
Re: Finally got Sky!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt D View Post

Nope, not with Sky BB Max, Mid, or Base. Sky's LLU services have no "training period".


Unless by "max" you mean "ADSLMax", such as Sky's non-LLU "Sky BB Connect" service, which is just a resold BT BB ADSLMax service.
yep i meant max as in adsl max... AFAIK none of the LLU has no training period, regardless of isp.
Tightscot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-12-2007, 21:53   #14
Tezcatlipoca
Inactive
 
Tezcatlipoca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 16,850
Tezcatlipoca has a pair of shiny starsTezcatlipoca has a pair of shiny starsTezcatlipoca has a pair of shiny starsTezcatlipoca has a pair of shiny starsTezcatlipoca has a pair of shiny stars
Tezcatlipoca has a pair of shiny starsTezcatlipoca has a pair of shiny starsTezcatlipoca has a pair of shiny starsTezcatlipoca has a pair of shiny starsTezcatlipoca has a pair of shiny starsTezcatlipoca has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Finally got Sky!

Quote:
Originally Posted by LooieENG View Post
Sky "Mid" package

Connection Speed 3808 kbps 384 kbps
Line Attenuation 26.0 db 13.5 db
Noise Margin 11.5 db 14.0 db
I wish I had your attenuation!

It's easily low enough for the full 16mbps (depending on noise margin) if you were to be on Sky BB Max, & certainly low enough for the full 8mbps on Sky BB Mid.

However your sync speed is low, & noise margin high. Maybe you've been capped due to a poor line, or maybe the noise margin was very low the last time the router synced (causing a low sync speed), & has since risen.

Have a good read of these...

http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/view-common.html

http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/view-master.html

http://www.dslzoneuk.net/socket.php

http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/route...explained.html

http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/route...ter-stats.html

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chrysalis View Post
you on ipstream - non LLU

evident due to the 448 upstream.
Sky BB Mid has a 448kbps upload AFAIK, & is LLU...

It's only Sky BB Max which has 768kbps upload.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tightscot View Post
yep i meant max as in adsl max... AFAIK none of the LLU has no training period, regardless of isp.
Ah, thought that's what you meant
Tezcatlipoca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-12-2007, 22:38   #15
LooieENG
Inactive
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 35
LooieENG is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Finally got Sky!

I plugged my router into the test socket and got 7mbps, then I realised all the other sockets needed those splitter things. Now I have

Connection Speed 8096 kbps 384 kbps
Line Attenuation 25.0 db 13.0 db
Noise Margin 14.8 db 14.0 db

and get a download speed of just under 7mbps, and an upload speed of 320kbps. Pings are still bad compared to VM though.

Matt D, could I really get around 16mbps with Max?
LooieENG is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:30.


Server: xenon.zmnt.net
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.