Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | SIPGATE - has anyone any experience of it

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Alternatives to Virgin Media > Other Telco Services Discussion

SIPGATE - has anyone any experience of it
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-07-2005, 17:59   #1
etccarmageddon
Inactive
 
etccarmageddon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Manchester
Posts: 5,638
etccarmageddon has a nice shiny star
etccarmageddon has a nice shiny staretccarmageddon has a nice shiny staretccarmageddon has a nice shiny staretccarmageddon has a nice shiny staretccarmageddon has a nice shiny staretccarmageddon has a nice shiny staretccarmageddon has a nice shiny staretccarmageddon has a nice shiny staretccarmageddon has a nice shiny staretccarmageddon has a nice shiny staretccarmageddon has a nice shiny star
SIPGATE - has anyone any experience of it

In my search for relacing a BT line with a VOIP solution I discovered Vonage.co.uk.

But now I find Sipgate is even cheaper for me as there is no monthly cost... has anyone experience of it? I would be purchasing a netgear router with built in voip to sipgate. Have you used Sipgate and by what method? computer to computer or computer to landline or landline to landline? what was the call quality like?

this is the box I need

http://www.dsl-warehouse.co.uk/produ...?pr=TA612VSPUK

I can get it for around £65 elsewhere and my landline calls will be 1.2p and mobile calls 15p and 0845 3p and 0870 7.5p per min.
etccarmageddon is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 09-07-2005, 18:03   #2
Kliro
Inactive
 
Kliro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester
Posts: 1,528
Kliro has reached the bronze age
Kliro has reached the bronze ageKliro has reached the bronze ageKliro has reached the bronze ageKliro has reached the bronze ageKliro has reached the bronze ageKliro has reached the bronze ageKliro has reached the bronze age
Send a message via MSN to Kliro
Re: SIPGATE - has anyone any experience of it

I've used it computer - computer using X-lite, quality was very good, although if you are on to more than one person it can be a bit 'scratchy' or if you are using a lot of your up/downstream. Overall though, is very good, and operates very much in the same way as a normal phone.
Kliro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2005, 18:05   #3
etccarmageddon
Inactive
 
etccarmageddon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Manchester
Posts: 5,638
etccarmageddon has a nice shiny star
etccarmageddon has a nice shiny staretccarmageddon has a nice shiny staretccarmageddon has a nice shiny staretccarmageddon has a nice shiny staretccarmageddon has a nice shiny staretccarmageddon has a nice shiny staretccarmageddon has a nice shiny staretccarmageddon has a nice shiny staretccarmageddon has a nice shiny staretccarmageddon has a nice shiny staretccarmageddon has a nice shiny star
Re: SIPGATE - has anyone any experience of it

I've updated my post above with details of the netgear device.

Thanks for your comments Kilro. So it's ok then for me to replace my BT line with this?
etccarmageddon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2005, 19:24   #4
Bifta
Inactive
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Eglinton, Co. Derry
Posts: 7,640
Bifta has a nice shiny starBifta has a nice shiny star
Bifta has a nice shiny starBifta has a nice shiny starBifta has a nice shiny starBifta has a nice shiny starBifta has a nice shiny starBifta has a nice shiny starBifta has a nice shiny starBifta has a nice shiny starBifta has a nice shiny starBifta has a nice shiny starBifta has a nice shiny starBifta has a nice shiny starBifta has a nice shiny starBifta has a nice shiny starBifta has a nice shiny starBifta has a nice shiny starBifta has a nice shiny starBifta has a nice shiny starBifta has a nice shiny starBifta has a nice shiny star
Re: SIPGATE - has anyone any experience of it

Quote:
Originally Posted by etccarmageddon
I've updated my post above with details of the netgear device.

Thanks for your comments Kilro. So it's ok then for me to replace my BT line with this?
Bit of a risk surely? You're relying on your broadband to be up or you lose not only your internet connection but your phone too.
Bifta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2005, 20:26   #5
etccarmageddon
Inactive
 
etccarmageddon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Manchester
Posts: 5,638
etccarmageddon has a nice shiny star
etccarmageddon has a nice shiny staretccarmageddon has a nice shiny staretccarmageddon has a nice shiny staretccarmageddon has a nice shiny staretccarmageddon has a nice shiny staretccarmageddon has a nice shiny staretccarmageddon has a nice shiny staretccarmageddon has a nice shiny staretccarmageddon has a nice shiny staretccarmageddon has a nice shiny staretccarmageddon has a nice shiny star
Re: SIPGATE - has anyone any experience of it

I've always got my orange pay as you to fall back onto.
etccarmageddon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2005, 23:24   #6
KingPhoenix
Inactive
 
KingPhoenix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: On top of this heat sink
Age: 41
Services: Sky+ & 8mb ADSL + BT Together option 3
Posts: 2,345
KingPhoenix has a bronze arrayKingPhoenix has a bronze arrayKingPhoenix has a bronze array
KingPhoenix has a bronze arrayKingPhoenix has a bronze arrayKingPhoenix has a bronze arrayKingPhoenix has a bronze arrayKingPhoenix has a bronze arrayKingPhoenix has a bronze arrayKingPhoenix has a bronze arrayKingPhoenix has a bronze array
Send a message via MSN to KingPhoenix
Re: SIPGATE - has anyone any experience of it

Am i right in assuming you have ADSL or do you have Cable?

If you have ADSL... then you cant get rid of your line, as you will have nothing for your ADSL to come through..........
KingPhoenix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2005, 00:10   #7
etccarmageddon
Inactive
 
etccarmageddon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Manchester
Posts: 5,638
etccarmageddon has a nice shiny star
etccarmageddon has a nice shiny staretccarmageddon has a nice shiny staretccarmageddon has a nice shiny staretccarmageddon has a nice shiny staretccarmageddon has a nice shiny staretccarmageddon has a nice shiny staretccarmageddon has a nice shiny staretccarmageddon has a nice shiny staretccarmageddon has a nice shiny staretccarmageddon has a nice shiny staretccarmageddon has a nice shiny star
Re: SIPGATE - has anyone any experience of it

ntl baby!
etccarmageddon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2005, 13:26   #8
KingPhoenix
Inactive
 
KingPhoenix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: On top of this heat sink
Age: 41
Services: Sky+ & 8mb ADSL + BT Together option 3
Posts: 2,345
KingPhoenix has a bronze arrayKingPhoenix has a bronze arrayKingPhoenix has a bronze array
KingPhoenix has a bronze arrayKingPhoenix has a bronze arrayKingPhoenix has a bronze arrayKingPhoenix has a bronze arrayKingPhoenix has a bronze arrayKingPhoenix has a bronze arrayKingPhoenix has a bronze arrayKingPhoenix has a bronze array
Send a message via MSN to KingPhoenix
Re: SIPGATE - has anyone any experience of it

Quote:
Originally Posted by etccarmageddon
ntl baby!
So by the time you have laid out for all the equipment, how long should it take you to be in profit, if you were to use your NTL phone line.... Just wondering how long it takes to start making a saving, if its worth it then i might go down that route too (all be it with a BT phone line though)
KingPhoenix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2005, 13:49   #9
etccarmageddon
Inactive
 
etccarmageddon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Manchester
Posts: 5,638
etccarmageddon has a nice shiny star
etccarmageddon has a nice shiny staretccarmageddon has a nice shiny staretccarmageddon has a nice shiny staretccarmageddon has a nice shiny staretccarmageddon has a nice shiny staretccarmageddon has a nice shiny staretccarmageddon has a nice shiny staretccarmageddon has a nice shiny staretccarmageddon has a nice shiny staretccarmageddon has a nice shiny staretccarmageddon has a nice shiny star
Re: SIPGATE - has anyone any experience of it

If you're talking in the region of £70 for the equipment (sipgate) then assuming this cancels out the BT line rental and caller display of around £14 a month then it pays for itself in the region of 6 months.

but I've found another supplier which appears to be cheaper!

http://www.cableforum.co.uk/board/sh...378#post523378
etccarmageddon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2005, 15:28   #10
etccarmageddon
Inactive
 
etccarmageddon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Manchester
Posts: 5,638
etccarmageddon has a nice shiny star
etccarmageddon has a nice shiny staretccarmageddon has a nice shiny staretccarmageddon has a nice shiny staretccarmageddon has a nice shiny staretccarmageddon has a nice shiny staretccarmageddon has a nice shiny staretccarmageddon has a nice shiny staretccarmageddon has a nice shiny staretccarmageddon has a nice shiny staretccarmageddon has a nice shiny staretccarmageddon has a nice shiny star
Re: SIPGATE - has anyone any experience of it

http://www.broadbandbuyer.co.uk/Shop...hone%20Adapter

here's a cheaper bit of kit - for around £40 you can have one of these - I will report back soon on it's performance.
etccarmageddon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-07-2005, 17:35   #11
etccarmageddon
Inactive
 
etccarmageddon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Manchester
Posts: 5,638
etccarmageddon has a nice shiny star
etccarmageddon has a nice shiny staretccarmageddon has a nice shiny staretccarmageddon has a nice shiny staretccarmageddon has a nice shiny staretccarmageddon has a nice shiny staretccarmageddon has a nice shiny staretccarmageddon has a nice shiny staretccarmageddon has a nice shiny staretccarmageddon has a nice shiny staretccarmageddon has a nice shiny staretccarmageddon has a nice shiny star
Re: SIPGATE - has anyone any experience of it

installed at my fiends house - he has used it today and the call quality is as good as land line. no noticable difference. and it's using sipgate.
etccarmageddon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-07-2005, 18:29   #12
etccarmageddon
Inactive
 
etccarmageddon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Manchester
Posts: 5,638
etccarmageddon has a nice shiny star
etccarmageddon has a nice shiny staretccarmageddon has a nice shiny staretccarmageddon has a nice shiny staretccarmageddon has a nice shiny staretccarmageddon has a nice shiny staretccarmageddon has a nice shiny staretccarmageddon has a nice shiny staretccarmageddon has a nice shiny staretccarmageddon has a nice shiny staretccarmageddon has a nice shiny staretccarmageddon has a nice shiny star
Re: SIPGATE - has anyone any experience of it

installed at home and the sound quality is as good as if not better than my current BT line! brilliant. It was a bit of a pain to setup as it required a RJ11 to BT converter with ring capacitor from maplins but wasn't too much bother. And strangely no NAT or DMZ or other router settings were needed to link it into the outside world - bloody brilliant!

I expected there to be some micro delays on the phone conversation - none at all. Quite amazing. My current connection is from www.sipgate.co.uk as this allows you to sign up without paying anything for a uk phone number.

Cost was - £30 plus vat for the box plus £7 delivery. plus £7 for the connector I purchased from Maplin which is cheaper if purchased on line.

So total cost was around the £50 mark.
etccarmageddon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2006, 15:39   #13
JediMaster
Inactive
 
JediMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Swansea
Posts: 1,376
JediMaster is just so famous around these partsJediMaster is just so famous around these partsJediMaster is just so famous around these partsJediMaster is just so famous around these partsJediMaster is just so famous around these partsJediMaster is just so famous around these partsJediMaster is just so famous around these partsJediMaster is just so famous around these partsJediMaster is just so famous around these partsJediMaster is just so famous around these partsJediMaster is just so famous around these partsJediMaster is just so famous around these partsJediMaster is just so famous around these partsJediMaster is just so famous around these partsJediMaster is just so famous around these parts
Re: SIPGATE - has anyone any experience of it

How do you still find sipgate?

I was going to try Skype-Out (I only use it for Pc-Pc) But I saw a few sites & I like sipgate because I can buy a Phone & Connect to NTL & NO PC online

Will http://www.sipgate.co.uk/voipshop/grandstream/gxp2000 & Sipgate work on my NTL 4MB (£24.99) Broadband via my www.ebuyer.com Quick Find Code: 52629 (Extra Value 54Mbps 802.11g WI-FI Wireless Cable/DSL 4 Port Broadband Router)

I like idea FREE New Number & Phone no PC switched on.......
Looking forward to your Reply
JediMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2006, 15:57   #14
etccarmageddon
Inactive
 
etccarmageddon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Manchester
Posts: 5,638
etccarmageddon has a nice shiny star
etccarmageddon has a nice shiny staretccarmageddon has a nice shiny staretccarmageddon has a nice shiny staretccarmageddon has a nice shiny staretccarmageddon has a nice shiny staretccarmageddon has a nice shiny staretccarmageddon has a nice shiny staretccarmageddon has a nice shiny staretccarmageddon has a nice shiny staretccarmageddon has a nice shiny staretccarmageddon has a nice shiny star
Re: SIPGATE - has anyone any experience of it

I use the linksys pap phone adaptor for my setup - which connects to my router - my standard BT phone then connects into the PAP and caller display still works! which is better than NTL can offer! The only problem is sometimes I dial out and it fails to connect plus recently call quality sometimes degrades (recently as in the last couple of weeks) - I recon NTL are traffic shaping.

for a wireless router I'd recommend linksys - find code 63763.

---------- Post added at 14:57 ---------- Previous post was at 14:56 ----------

I'm on the NTL top tier so sound quality is fine - when I was on 1meg the upload was 100k which meant poor sound for my phone calls.
etccarmageddon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2006, 16:10   #15
TheBlueRaja
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Baw deep in a munter
Age: 46
Services: Initiations, rep rigging and orgies!
Posts: 5,750
TheBlueRaja has a nice shiny starTheBlueRaja has a nice shiny starTheBlueRaja has a nice shiny starTheBlueRaja has a nice shiny starTheBlueRaja has a nice shiny star
TheBlueRaja has a nice shiny starTheBlueRaja has a nice shiny starTheBlueRaja has a nice shiny starTheBlueRaja has a nice shiny starTheBlueRaja has a nice shiny starTheBlueRaja has a nice shiny starTheBlueRaja has a nice shiny starTheBlueRaja has a nice shiny starTheBlueRaja has a nice shiny starTheBlueRaja has a nice shiny starTheBlueRaja has a nice shiny starTheBlueRaja has a nice shiny star
Re: SIPGATE - has anyone any experience of it

Quote:
Originally Posted by etccarmageddon View Post
I use the linksys pap phone adaptor for my setup - which connects to my router - my standard BT phone then connects into the PAP and caller display still works! which is better than NTL can offer! The only problem is sometimes I dial out and it fails to connect plus recently call quality sometimes degrades (recently as in the last couple of weeks) - I recon NTL are traffic shaping.

for a wireless router I'd recommend linksys - find code 63763.

---------- Post added at 14:57 ---------- Previous post was at 14:56 ----------

I'm on the NTL top tier so sound quality is fine - when I was on 1meg the upload was 100k which meant poor sound for my phone calls.
I would avoid Linksys like the plague - in fact i just ripped out my Linksys kit and replaced it with Netgear and the difference is unreal - no dropouts, no problems, does exactly what it says on the tin.
TheBlueRaja is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:41.


Server: curium.zmnt.uk
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.