Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Will Sky broadband be enough?

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Alternatives to Virgin Media > Other ISPs Discussion

Will Sky broadband be enough?
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-12-2020, 10:44   #16
jb66
cf.mega poster
 
jb66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 5,363
jb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze array
jb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze array
Re: Will Sky broadband be enough?

Is 6.9mb enough for streaming HD on Youtube?
__________________
"The postings on this site are my own and don't necessarily represent Virgin Media's positions, strategies or opinions."
jb66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 03-12-2020, 12:56   #17
daveeb
cf.geek
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Leeds
Posts: 861
daveeb is the helpful onedaveeb is the helpful onedaveeb is the helpful onedaveeb is the helpful onedaveeb is the helpful onedaveeb is the helpful onedaveeb is the helpful onedaveeb is the helpful onedaveeb is the helpful onedaveeb is the helpful onedaveeb is the helpful onedaveeb is the helpful onedaveeb is the helpful onedaveeb is the helpful onedaveeb is the helpful onedaveeb is the helpful onedaveeb is the helpful onedaveeb is the helpful one
Re: Will Sky broadband be enough?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jb66 View Post
Is 6.9mb enough for streaming HD on Youtube?

Yes that should be fine (it certainly is with Netflix). No 4K Netflix though !
daveeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2020, 21:08   #18
RichardCoulter
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 8,411
RichardCoulter has disabled reputation
Re: Will Sky broadband be enough?

Quote:
Originally Posted by GrimUpNorth View Post
So basically they're palming off one of their old technology Sky+ boxes on to the unsuspecting by bundling it with an unlimited old technology internet connection and a call package. You'll no doubt find the box will have less channels than a standard freesat box. There is no Sky TV package included in the 26/month and to add insult to injury, you'll probably have the added frustration of the full Sky EPG with everything but the few freeview channels greyed out.

So if you jump ship and it turns out to be rubbish you can't say you haven't been warned!
It's undoubtedly what they are doing, after all the box only costs 15.05! Having old technology doesn't bother me as long as it does what I want it to do. I never upgrade technology for the sake of it anyway.

My only worry is the 18 month contract. If I took it and it turned out that it didn't meet my needs, i'd want to upgrade to Sky Q. You'd think that would be fine as they'd be getting more money and they want everyone to move accross to Q anywsy, but you never know. This is why I want to check beforehand.

Does anyone have a link to Sky Live Chat? I can't seem to find it.
RichardCoulter is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2020, 12:46   #19
Pierre
The Dark Satanic Mills
 
Pierre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: floating in the ether
Posts: 9,400
Pierre has a pair of shiny starsPierre has a pair of shiny stars
Pierre has a pair of shiny starsPierre has a pair of shiny starsPierre has a pair of shiny starsPierre has a pair of shiny starsPierre has a pair of shiny starsPierre has a pair of shiny starsPierre has a pair of shiny starsPierre has a pair of shiny starsPierre has a pair of shiny starsPierre has a pair of shiny starsPierre has a pair of shiny starsPierre has a pair of shiny starsPierre has a pair of shiny starsPierre has a pair of shiny starsPierre has a pair of shiny starsPierre has a pair of shiny starsPierre has a pair of shiny starsPierre has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Will Sky broadband be enough?

Essential is ADSL, Superfast is FTTC.

Beware!

I am a Sky customer and ADSL struggles to get near 2Mb where I live and is more like 1-1.5Mb.

The 6Mb quoted is estimated and no guarantee you get anywhere near that.

Sky FTTC which I upgraded to gets me anywhere between 25-30Mb.
__________________
The wheel's still turning but the hamsters dead.
Pierre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-12-2020, 13:14   #20
muppetman11
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 12,119
muppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny stars
muppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Will Sky broadband be enough?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pierre View Post
Essential is ADSL, Superfast is FTTC.

Beware!

I am a Sky customer and ADSL struggles to get near 2Mb where I live and is more like 1-1.5Mb.

The 6Mb quoted is estimated and no guarantee you get anywhere near that.

Sky FTTC which I upgraded to gets me anywhere between 25-30Mb.
Which suggests you live some distance from the cab.
muppetman11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-12-2020, 18:21   #21
Paul
Dr Pepper Addict
Cable Forum Team
 
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Nottingham
Services: VM Phone : Sky Mobile : Sky TV : VM BB (350 Mbps) : Vodafone BB (38 Mbps)
Posts: 23,453
Paul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered stars
Paul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered stars
Re: Will Sky broadband be enough?

More accurately, from the exchange.

Total distance matters unless its FTTC, then its distance from the cab that matters.
__________________

Baby, I was born this way.
Paul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2021, 21:52   #22
alanbjames
cf.mega poster
 
alanbjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Swansea, South Wales UK.
Age: 69
Services: XL Phone, XXL 500mb BB SH3 (wired).
Posts: 2,387
alanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quads
Re: Will Sky broadband be enough?

A mate of mine is on Sky, when he had ADSL he got about 6mb, now he's on their fibre he gets about 65mb.
alanbjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:04.


Server: curium.zmnt.uk
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.