Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Advice PC

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Computers & IT > General IT Discussion

Advice PC
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-10-2019, 18:52   #1
nashville
nashville
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Rutherglen. Glasgow
Services: Virgin Media
Posts: 4,467
nashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronze
nashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronze
Advice PC

MY PC keeps closing down and saying I have an error then it restarts. Do I need a new PC as I have had it 10 years, ( windows 10 ) . Does not do it every day, But can do it three times another day. Thanks
nashville is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 02-10-2019, 18:53   #2
Hugh
Hic Sunt Dracones
Cable Forum Team
 
Hugh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Age: 62
Services: Premiere Collection
Posts: 33,425
Hugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden aura
Hugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden aura
Re: Advice PC

What is the error code?
__________________
If my post is in bold and this colour, it's a Moderator Request.
Hugh is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2019, 19:16   #3
heero_yuy
Perfect Soldier
 
heero_yuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Worthing West Sussex
Age: 62
Services: VM 70M SHUB thingy in modem mode XL TV VboxHD Sony Bravia smart TV and M phone
Posts: 15,391
heero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny stars
heero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Advice PC

You don't need a new PC. You need to find the source of the problem: I'd run a full virus scan including adware. Add Spybot search and destroy.

My main PC is quite old, was originally 98SE now XP SP3, loads of storage ( >4 terabytes) as it's my media server as well as the day-to-day machine. But it runs well. I keep the defences up to date and a firewall in the router.
__________________
History is much like an endless waltz. The three beats of war, peace and revolution continue on forever.
However history will change with my coronation - Mariemaia Kushrenada
heero_yuy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2019, 19:22   #4
daveeb
cf.geek
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Leeds
Posts: 699
daveeb is just so famous around these partsdaveeb is just so famous around these partsdaveeb is just so famous around these partsdaveeb is just so famous around these partsdaveeb is just so famous around these partsdaveeb is just so famous around these partsdaveeb is just so famous around these partsdaveeb is just so famous around these partsdaveeb is just so famous around these partsdaveeb is just so famous around these partsdaveeb is just so famous around these partsdaveeb is just so famous around these partsdaveeb is just so famous around these partsdaveeb is just so famous around these partsdaveeb is just so famous around these parts
Re: Advice PC

Quote:
Originally Posted by nashville View Post
MY PC keeps closing down and saying I have an error then it restarts. Do I need a new PC as I have had it 10 years, ( windows 10 ) . Does not do it every day, But can do it three times another day. Thanks

If you have a look in Event Viewer it may shed some light...just look at system events just prior to the shutdown.
daveeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2019, 00:31   #5
nashville
nashville
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Rutherglen. Glasgow
Services: Virgin Media
Posts: 4,467
nashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronze
nashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronze
Re: Advice PC

Thanks everyone, I will have a look tomorrow, and see if I find the error code,
nashville is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2019, 15:41   #6
Halcyon
Hello !
 
Halcyon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: East Midlands
Services: VMedia 10mb
Posts: 15,704
Halcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered stars
Halcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered stars
Re: Advice PC

Backing up all your files to an external drive and a fresh install of Windows often does it the world of good. After 10 years of use Windows does breakdown.
__________________
.
-

Halcyon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2019, 15:57   #7
nomadking
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Northampton
Services: Virgin Media TV&BB 200Mb Tivo STB
Posts: 5,169
nomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appeal
nomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appeal
Re: Advice PC

Quote:
Originally Posted by Halcyon View Post
Backing up all your files to an external drive and a fresh install of Windows often does it the world of good. After 10 years of use Windows does breakdown.
But does that preserve all of the installed apps and their settings? Or do you have install them all again from scratch?
nomadking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2019, 18:52   #8
nashville
nashville
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Rutherglen. Glasgow
Services: Virgin Media
Posts: 4,467
nashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronze
nashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronze
Re: Advice PC

it is only a few months since Wondows 10 was reinstalled. , Since I made my post the P C has been ok since, so maybe it will be ok , fingers crossed
nashville is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2019, 08:55   #9
Halcyon
Hello !
 
Halcyon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: East Midlands
Services: VMedia 10mb
Posts: 15,704
Halcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered stars
Halcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered stars
Re: Advice PC

Quote:
Originally Posted by nomadking View Post
But does that preserve all of the installed apps and their settings? Or do you have install them all again from scratch?



All apps, files, and anything you've customized would have to be re-installed.
__________________
.
-

Halcyon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2019, 09:33   #10
tweetiepooh
Virgin Media Employee
 
tweetiepooh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Winchester
Services: Staff MyRates BB: VM XXL TV: VM XL Phone : VM XL
Posts: 1,829
tweetiepooh has reached the bronze age
tweetiepooh has reached the bronze agetweetiepooh has reached the bronze agetweetiepooh has reached the bronze agetweetiepooh has reached the bronze agetweetiepooh has reached the bronze agetweetiepooh has reached the bronze agetweetiepooh has reached the bronze agetweetiepooh has reached the bronze agetweetiepooh has reached the bronze agetweetiepooh has reached the bronze agetweetiepooh has reached the bronze agetweetiepooh has reached the bronze agetweetiepooh has reached the bronze agetweetiepooh has reached the bronze agetweetiepooh has reached the bronze agetweetiepooh has reached the bronze age
Re: Advice PC

But if config is in files rather than the silly registry you may be able to restore them from backup.
__________________
I work for Virgin Media but reply here in my own right. Any help or advice is made as a best effort basis. No comments construe any obligation on VM or its employees.
tweetiepooh is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2019, 16:54   #11
nashville
nashville
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Rutherglen. Glasgow
Services: Virgin Media
Posts: 4,467
nashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronze
nashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronze
Re: Advice PC

Quote:
Originally Posted by Halcyon View Post
All apps, files, and anything you've customized would have to be re-installed.
It was reinstalled by a professional shop I always deal with. So Far now so good ,
nashville is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2019, 19:29   #12
Gavin78
Ice Cold
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Leeds, Seacroft
Age: 41
Services: XL TV M Phone 200MB BB
Posts: 1,495
Gavin78 is just so famous around these partsGavin78 is just so famous around these partsGavin78 is just so famous around these partsGavin78 is just so famous around these partsGavin78 is just so famous around these partsGavin78 is just so famous around these partsGavin78 is just so famous around these partsGavin78 is just so famous around these partsGavin78 is just so famous around these partsGavin78 is just so famous around these partsGavin78 is just so famous around these partsGavin78 is just so famous around these partsGavin78 is just so famous around these partsGavin78 is just so famous around these partsGavin78 is just so famous around these parts
Re: Advice PC

If it's 10 years old it could be a number of things I would go with either HD failure or PSU failure. It depends on how much you use it and what you use it for
Gavin78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2019, 08:41   #13
jonbxx
cf.geek
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Rickmansworth, Herts
Age: 48
Services: VM VIP Pack
Posts: 885
jonbxx has reached the bronze age
jonbxx has reached the bronze age
Re: Advice PC

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gavin78 View Post
If it's 10 years old it could be a number of things I would go with either HD failure or PSU failure. It depends on how much you use it and what you use it for
Yeah, if it's an old PC and the OS ad software are up to date, I would look at the power supply first and they can and do go bad, especially if it's a budget unit with cheaper capacitors.

It might also be worth checking the CPU temperatures in case the thermal paste has dried out or the heat sink is blocked. CPU-Z or similar programs are good for this
jonbxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2019, 16:34   #14
nashville
nashville
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Rutherglen. Glasgow
Services: Virgin Media
Posts: 4,467
nashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronze
nashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronze
Re: Advice PC

just to let you all know my PC was in for repair and tested . They could not find any fault as it never closed down once,, I have been on it now for 3 hours and it seems fine. One problem is if I go into FB it will not open and says there is a problem and cannot open at present . So I think this was the problem, But FB is ok on my Ipad. Should I delete FB from my PC all together,?
nashville is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2019, 17:33   #15
daveeb
cf.geek
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Leeds
Posts: 699
daveeb is just so famous around these partsdaveeb is just so famous around these partsdaveeb is just so famous around these partsdaveeb is just so famous around these partsdaveeb is just so famous around these partsdaveeb is just so famous around these partsdaveeb is just so famous around these partsdaveeb is just so famous around these partsdaveeb is just so famous around these partsdaveeb is just so famous around these partsdaveeb is just so famous around these partsdaveeb is just so famous around these partsdaveeb is just so famous around these partsdaveeb is just so famous around these partsdaveeb is just so famous around these parts
Re: Advice PC

Quote:
Originally Posted by nashville View Post
just to let you all know my PC was in for repair and tested . They could not find any fault as it never closed down once,, I have been on it now for 3 hours and it seems fine. One problem is if I go into FB it will not open and says there is a problem and cannot open at present . So I think this was the problem, But FB is ok on my Ipad. Should I delete FB from my PC all together,?
I doubt FB is the issue, it's an online resource and not physically installed on a pc afaik.
Perhaps your pc just isn't really up to running windows 10, it is 10 years old after all.
daveeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:40.


Server: xenon.zmnt.net
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.