when in doubt, I usually delete my entire website, before uploading the new one. Depends on how complex the site is whether that is viable or not, you may just want to do a reload of certain directories that you know have changed.
On the other hand when you ftp to your site you should be able to see if the pages have changed or not. If they are the new versions on your site, maybe there is a cache somewhere, even in your own browser that needs to be forcibly refreshed, CTRL-F5 in IE (or it would refresh automatically as the cache expires).
I would say post a link to the site, but we wouldn't have a clue if we are seeing new or old