Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Virgin Akamai Cache Congestion

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media Internet Service

Virgin Akamai Cache Congestion
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-06-2021, 15:38   #31
Robertus
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 151
Robertus is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Virgin Akamai Cache Congestion

Quote:
Originally Posted by Synthetic View Post
Easiest way to test - https://1.1.1.1/help

Yes i'll post my finding over there too
Do you know of any good guides to install cloudflared on a synology NAS running docker and pihole?

Also thanks for posting.
Robertus is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 08-06-2021, 21:33   #32
Skie
a giant headend
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 1,114
Skie has reached the bronze age
Skie has reached the bronze ageSkie has reached the bronze ageSkie has reached the bronze ageSkie has reached the bronze ageSkie has reached the bronze ageSkie has reached the bronze ageSkie has reached the bronze age
Re: Virgin Akamai Cache Congestion

The DNS hijacking is probably also how they enforce blocking of websites for IWF and High Court orders.

Once browsers and OS's begin enabling more secure DNS lookups by default that might get fun.
Skie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2021, 07:01   #33
Synthetic
cf.geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Newcastle
Posts: 737
Synthetic is a name known to allSynthetic is a name known to allSynthetic is a name known to allSynthetic is a name known to allSynthetic is a name known to allSynthetic is a name known to allSynthetic is a name known to allSynthetic is a name known to all
Re: Virgin Akamai Cache Congestion

Quote:
Originally Posted by Robertus View Post
Do you know of any good guides to install cloudflared on a synology NAS running docker and pihole?

Also thanks for posting.
Just the guides on the pihole wiki, it covers various architectures, as long as you have some kind of cli access you should be able to configure it

https://docs.pi-hole.net/guides/dns/cloudflared/

---------- Post added at 07:01 ---------- Previous post was at 06:51 ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skie View Post
The DNS hijacking is probably also how they enforce blocking of websites for IWF and High Court orders.

Once browsers and OS's begin enabling more secure DNS lookups by default that might get fun.
Had a quick look,

Looks like Virgin are blocking those at the network level via IP, all of the below addresses take me to a virgin blocked page, slightly worrying as those are some of cloudflare's anycast IPs so they're probably blocking some sites they shouldnt be that are behind cloudflare...

; <<>> DiG 9.16.1-Ubuntu <<>> iptorrents.com
;; global options: +cmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 16734
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 3, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 1

;; OPT PSEUDOSECTION:
; EDNS: version: 0, flags:; udp: 65494
;; QUESTION SECTION:
;iptorrents.com. IN A

;; ANSWER SECTION:
iptorrents.com. 81 IN A 104.20.222.73
iptorrents.com. 81 IN A 104.20.223.73
iptorrents.com. 81 IN A 172.67.3.170
Synthetic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2021, 15:18   #34
Robertus
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 151
Robertus is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Virgin Akamai Cache Congestion

So, I have installed Adguard home and pointed my apple tv and PC to it - using DoH etc, BT seems OK however Nowtv is still crap.

Have you seen this behaviour?

https://imgur.com/ZcUj2e1
Robertus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2021, 08:54   #35
Synthetic
cf.geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Newcastle
Posts: 737
Synthetic is a name known to allSynthetic is a name known to allSynthetic is a name known to allSynthetic is a name known to allSynthetic is a name known to allSynthetic is a name known to allSynthetic is a name known to allSynthetic is a name known to all
Re: Virgin Akamai Cache Congestion

Quote:
Originally Posted by Robertus View Post
So, I have installed Adguard home and pointed my apple tv and PC to it - using DoH etc, BT seems OK however Nowtv is still crap.

Have you seen this behaviour?

https://imgur.com/ZcUj2e1
Not personally, in my testing i found nowtv uses

linear014-gb-hss1-prd-ak.cdn.skycdp.com
and
linear019-gb-hss1-prd-ak.cdn.skycdp.com

for live streaming.

If you do a ping / tracert to those, what IPs do they come back to?
Synthetic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2021, 08:59   #36
General Maximus
C/O Felix Legion
 
General Maximus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lincoln
Services: phone + 500Mbit BB + SkyQ
Posts: 9,987
General Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronze
General Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronze
Re: Virgin Akamai Cache Congestion

C:\WINDOWS\system32>tracert linear014-gb-hss1-prd-ak.cdn.skycdp.com

Tracing route to a1792.w60.akamai.net [176.255.191.144]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms router.asus.com [18.19.1.1]
2 10 ms 8 ms 9 ms 10.53.39.129
3 9 ms 9 ms 10 ms nott-core-2a-xe-1013-0.network.virginmedia.net [62.255.214.129]
4 * * * Request timed out.
5 * * * Request timed out.
6 13 ms 14 ms 17 ms tcma5-ic-1-ae0-0.network.virginmedia.net [62.253.174.181]
7 13 ms 12 ms 13 ms cur1-runc2-0-0-cust2.1-3.cable.virginm.net [213.105.20.3]
8 * * * Request timed out.
9 11 ms 13 ms 10 ms host16-rangeF-mcdn.cdn.enlba.isp.sky.com [176.255.191.144]





C:\WINDOWS\system32>tracert linear019-gb-hss1-prd-ak.cdn.skycdp.com

Tracing route to a1931.w60.akamai.net [176.255.191.139]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms router.asus.com [18.19.1.1]
2 34 ms 23 ms 18 ms 10.53.39.129
3 45 ms 41 ms 33 ms nott-core-2a-xe-013-0.network.virginmedia.net [62.254.0.153]
4 * * * Request timed out.
5 * * * Request timed out.
6 100 ms 215 ms 184 ms tcma5-ic-1-ae0-0.network.virginmedia.net [62.253.174.181]
7 29 ms 41 ms 72 ms cur1-runc2-0-0-cust2.1-3.cable.virginm.net [213.105.20.3]
8 * * * Request timed out.
9 13 ms 12 ms 10 ms host11-rangeF-mcdn.cdn.enlba.isp.sky.com [176.255.191.139]
__________________
Join the Mockingjay, join the fight
General Maximus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2021, 09:46   #37
Synthetic
cf.geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Newcastle
Posts: 737
Synthetic is a name known to allSynthetic is a name known to allSynthetic is a name known to allSynthetic is a name known to allSynthetic is a name known to allSynthetic is a name known to allSynthetic is a name known to allSynthetic is a name known to all
Re: Virgin Akamai Cache Congestion

So i get a totally different IP Range, and take a much longer route...

Tracing route to a1792.w60.akamai.net [88.221.210.11]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 1 ms 1 ms 1 ms 192.168.88.1
2 12 ms 13 ms 10 ms 10.53.34.249
3 15 ms 11 ms 9 ms gate-core-2a-xe-501-0.network.virginmedia.net [82.2.240.105]
4 * * * Request timed out.
5 * * * Request timed out.
6 24 ms 23 ms 22 ms 86.85-254-62.static.virginmediabusiness.co.uk [62.254.85.86]
7 * * * Request timed out.
8 25 ms 26 ms 25 ms uk-lon01c-ri2-ae-4-0.aorta.net [84.116.135.50]
9 23 ms 28 ms 21 ms ae-8.a02.londen12.uk.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.250.66.101]
10 26 ms 26 ms 25 ms ae-0.r20.londen12.uk.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.250.3.212]
11 30 ms 26 ms 29 ms ae-24.r00.mancen01.uk.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.250.4.190]
12 25 ms 24 ms 22 ms 212.119.4.98
13 44 ms 33 ms 25 ms r2.man-tcw.exa.net.uk [82.219.45.239]
14 26 ms 22 ms 22 ms r1.man-tcw.exa.net.uk [82.219.44.1]
15 24 ms 27 ms 31 ms r1.lon-the.exa.net.uk [82.219.45.29]
16 26 ms 25 ms 27 ms r2.lon-the.exa.net.uk [82.219.45.94]
17 55 ms 28 ms 30 ms r1.leeds-sc.exa.net.uk [82.219.2.46]
18 46 ms 52 ms 52 ms leeds-transit1.akamai.ce.exa.net.uk [82.219.2.93]
19 31 ms 31 ms 29 ms a88-221-210-11.deploy.static.akamaitechnologies.com [88.221.210.11]
Synthetic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2021, 13:31   #38
General Maximus
C/O Felix Legion
 
General Maximus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lincoln
Services: phone + 500Mbit BB + SkyQ
Posts: 9,987
General Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronze
General Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronze
Re: Virgin Akamai Cache Congestion

Quote:
Originally Posted by Synthetic View Post
So i get a totally different IP Range, and take a much longer route
Well that is google dns and my kick ass Asus router for you :p
__________________
Join the Mockingjay, join the fight
General Maximus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2021, 20:16   #39
Skie
a giant headend
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 1,114
Skie has reached the bronze age
Skie has reached the bronze ageSkie has reached the bronze ageSkie has reached the bronze ageSkie has reached the bronze ageSkie has reached the bronze ageSkie has reached the bronze ageSkie has reached the bronze age
Re: Virgin Akamai Cache Congestion

I get yet another route

Tracing route to a1792.w60.akamai.net [2.22.22.210]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms USGGateway [192.168.1.1]
2 10 ms 10 ms 7 ms 10.53.39.21
3 13 ms 10 ms 10 ms pres-core-2b-xe-0011-0.network.virginmedia.net [62.255.65.125]
4 * * * Request timed out.
5 21 ms 21 ms 18 ms 86.85-254-62.static.virginmediabusiness.co.uk [62.254.85.86]
6 * * * Request timed out.
7 31 ms 19 ms 22 ms be2871.ccr42.lon13.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.58.185]
8 58 ms 27 ms 27 ms be12489.ccr42.par01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.57.70]
9 36 ms 26 ms 24 ms be2103.ccr32.par04.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.61.22]
10 29 ms 26 ms 25 ms be2151.agr21.par04.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.61.34]
11 27 ms 27 ms 29 ms akamai.demarc.cogentco.com [149.11.114.234]
12 27 ms 29 ms 26 ms a2-22-22-210.deploy.static.akamaitechnologies.com [2.22.22.210]

Trace complete.
Skie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2021, 16:13   #40
Synthetic
cf.geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Newcastle
Posts: 737
Synthetic is a name known to allSynthetic is a name known to allSynthetic is a name known to allSynthetic is a name known to allSynthetic is a name known to allSynthetic is a name known to allSynthetic is a name known to allSynthetic is a name known to all
Re: Virgin Akamai Cache Congestion

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skie View Post
I get yet another route

Tracing route to a1792.w60.akamai.net [2.22.22.210]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms USGGateway [192.168.1.1]
2 10 ms 10 ms 7 ms 10.53.39.21
3 13 ms 10 ms 10 ms pres-core-2b-xe-0011-0.network.virginmedia.net [62.255.65.125]
4 * * * Request timed out.
5 21 ms 21 ms 18 ms 86.85-254-62.static.virginmediabusiness.co.uk [62.254.85.86]
6 * * * Request timed out.
7 31 ms 19 ms 22 ms be2871.ccr42.lon13.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.58.185]
8 58 ms 27 ms 27 ms be12489.ccr42.par01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.57.70]
9 36 ms 26 ms 24 ms be2103.ccr32.par04.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.61.22]
10 29 ms 26 ms 25 ms be2151.agr21.par04.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.61.34]
11 27 ms 27 ms 29 ms akamai.demarc.cogentco.com [149.11.114.234]
12 27 ms 29 ms 26 ms a2-22-22-210.deploy.static.akamaitechnologies.com [2.22.22.210]

Trace complete.
Interesting, I'm sure that's the IP / route I was seeing when I first had issues..
Synthetic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2021, 12:07   #41
InsaneNutter
cf.member
 
InsaneNutter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
Services: Virgin 200mbit / Superhub 3 Modem / pfSense Firewall
Posts: 96
InsaneNutter is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Virgin Akamai Cache Congestion

Interestingly enough I've been having issues with the BBC iPlayer constantly buffering every 30-60 seconds for a couple of weeks now.

I've enabled DoT on pfSense which certainly seems to stop me hitting Virgins Akamai caches, I'll have to watch something on the iPlayer tonight and see how things are.
__________________
InsaneNutter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2021, 15:01   #42
Synthetic
cf.geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Newcastle
Posts: 737
Synthetic is a name known to allSynthetic is a name known to allSynthetic is a name known to allSynthetic is a name known to allSynthetic is a name known to allSynthetic is a name known to allSynthetic is a name known to allSynthetic is a name known to all
Re: Virgin Akamai Cache Congestion

Quote:
Originally Posted by InsaneNutter View Post
Interestingly enough I've been having issues with the BBC iPlayer constantly buffering every 30-60 seconds for a couple of weeks now.

I've enabled DoT on pfSense which certainly seems to stop me hitting Virgins Akamai caches, I'll have to watch something on the iPlayer tonight and see how things are.
It's cropped up on reddit, enabling DoH / DoT has sorted it there as well.
Synthetic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-06-2021, 10:08   #43
cje85
cf.member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 44
cje85 is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Virgin Akamai Cache Congestion

Quote:
Originally Posted by Synthetic View Post
So i get a totally different IP Range, and take a much longer route...

Tracing route to a1792.w60.akamai.net [88.221.210.11]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 1 ms 1 ms 1 ms 192.168.88.1
2 12 ms 13 ms 10 ms 10.53.34.249
3 15 ms 11 ms 9 ms gate-core-2a-xe-501-0.network.virginmedia.net [82.2.240.105]
4 * * * Request timed out.
5 * * * Request timed out.
6 24 ms 23 ms 22 ms 86.85-254-62.static.virginmediabusiness.co.uk [62.254.85.86]
7 * * * Request timed out.
8 25 ms 26 ms 25 ms uk-lon01c-ri2-ae-4-0.aorta.net [84.116.135.50]
9 23 ms 28 ms 21 ms ae-8.a02.londen12.uk.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.250.66.101]
10 26 ms 26 ms 25 ms ae-0.r20.londen12.uk.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.250.3.212]
11 30 ms 26 ms 29 ms ae-24.r00.mancen01.uk.bb.gin.ntt.net [129.250.4.190]
12 25 ms 24 ms 22 ms 212.119.4.98
13 44 ms 33 ms 25 ms r2.man-tcw.exa.net.uk [82.219.45.239]
14 26 ms 22 ms 22 ms r1.man-tcw.exa.net.uk [82.219.44.1]
15 24 ms 27 ms 31 ms r1.lon-the.exa.net.uk [82.219.45.29]
16 26 ms 25 ms 27 ms r2.lon-the.exa.net.uk [82.219.45.94]
17 55 ms 28 ms 30 ms r1.leeds-sc.exa.net.uk [82.219.2.46]
18 46 ms 52 ms 52 ms leeds-transit1.akamai.ce.exa.net.uk [82.219.2.93]
19 31 ms 31 ms 29 ms a88-221-210-11.deploy.static.akamaitechnologies.com [88.221.210.11]
Is that using 1.1.1.1 DNS? I always found it had poor routing to CDNs including Akamai, compared to Google DNS.
cje85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-06-2021, 14:27   #44
Synthetic
cf.geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Newcastle
Posts: 737
Synthetic is a name known to allSynthetic is a name known to allSynthetic is a name known to allSynthetic is a name known to allSynthetic is a name known to allSynthetic is a name known to allSynthetic is a name known to allSynthetic is a name known to all
Re: Virgin Akamai Cache Congestion

Quote:
Originally Posted by cje85 View Post
Is that using 1.1.1.1 DNS? I always found it had poor routing to CDNs including Akamai, compared to Google DNS.
Nah i'm now running my own local unbound server and resolving stuff myself, although i'd expect cloudflare / google to resolve hostnames to the same IP
Synthetic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-06-2021, 14:44   #45
heero_yuy
Perfect Soldier
 
heero_yuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Worthing West Sussex
Age: 64
Services: VM 100M SH3 thingy in modem mode XL TV V6 Sony Bravia smart TV and M phone
Posts: 16,637
heero_yuy is seeing silvered starsheero_yuy is seeing silvered starsheero_yuy is seeing silvered stars
heero_yuy is seeing silvered starsheero_yuy is seeing silvered starsheero_yuy is seeing silvered starsheero_yuy is seeing silvered starsheero_yuy is seeing silvered starsheero_yuy is seeing silvered starsheero_yuy is seeing silvered starsheero_yuy is seeing silvered starsheero_yuy is seeing silvered starsheero_yuy is seeing silvered stars
Re: Virgin Akamai Cache Congestion

This is what I get using Google's DNS



Pretty slick.

akamai.net.JPG
__________________
History is much like an endless waltz: The three beats of war, peace and revolution continue on forever.
However history will change with my coronation - Mariemaia Khushrenada
heero_yuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:45.


Server: curium.zmnt.uk
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.