Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Engineer...

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media Internet Service

Engineer...
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-10-2006, 16:34   #1
uka100
Inactive
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 7
uka100 is an unknown quantity at this point
Engineer...

I rang for the 5th time today about my Terayon being slow, got the usual rubbish even though the last time I rang I was promised if it didn't work they would replace the modem...she even gave me a ref no. for the call. Well that did nothing they still wouldn't believe me...so I just asked for an Engineer to come out, he said that was possible but if he didn't find a fault i'd be charged £25....I couldn't be arsed messing around with them on the phones anymore so I said yes. Anyone else been in this situation...what happened? All I want is my old modem replaced for the 250,....because i'm sure thats what is causing my speed drops and intermittent connection and so are others.

Thanks
uka100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 07-10-2006, 22:03   #2
hairy_mick
Inactive
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: N.East England
Posts: 493
hairy_mick has a spectacular aura about themhairy_mick has a spectacular aura about themhairy_mick has a spectacular aura about themhairy_mick has a spectacular aura about them
Re: Engineer...

well i have been informed by a service tec that the current upgrade of the ubrs and the change in QAM has effected the terayon modems so when he turns up tell him to swap it for a 250
hairy_mick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2006, 07:17   #3
Nedkelly
Hfc engineer
 
Nedkelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: North East lincolnshire
Age: 42
Services: V6 & Tivo SH3 on 300mb and 200mb and a telephone
Posts: 2,714
Nedkelly has a bronzed appealNedkelly has a bronzed appeal
Nedkelly has a bronzed appealNedkelly has a bronzed appealNedkelly has a bronzed appealNedkelly has a bronzed appealNedkelly has a bronzed appealNedkelly has a bronzed appealNedkelly has a bronzed appealNedkelly has a bronzed appealNedkelly has a bronzed appealNedkelly has a bronzed appealNedkelly has a bronzed appealNedkelly has a bronzed appeal
Smile Re: Engineer...

The tjet becomes unstable when the qam is changed .I swap out tjets in my aera as this will stop the customer having this fault when when the qam is changed
__________________
V6 its the future
Nedkelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2006, 10:33   #4
mmm
cf.geek
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 508
mmm has a spectacular aura about themmmm has a spectacular aura about themmmm has a spectacular aura about themmmm has a spectacular aura about them
Re: Engineer... Terayon TJ210

As I have a TJ210 I have been seeing these reports for ages, and have been told by a senior guy in NTL that these 5 year old modems will be replaced at the first time of trouble. [Mine wasn't as it was an NTL account problem not hardware]

When will the message be passed onto the front line call centre operators? I don't think they even know what a Terayon TJ210 is because when I last called to say the 'cable light' was off - they kept asking about 'sync' and 'ready' lights which it doesn't have.

Why don't ntl just send out new modems to replace the few TJ210s left in service? If they are limping along they will be slowing down other users on the same UBR cards so it wouldn't only benefit the TJ210 users.
mmm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2006, 12:50   #5
Jules
Inactive
 
Jules's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Leeds
Age: 57
Services: Don't have a clue any more.
Posts: 7,523
Jules has a pair of shiny starsJules has a pair of shiny starsJules has a pair of shiny stars
Jules has a pair of shiny starsJules has a pair of shiny starsJules has a pair of shiny starsJules has a pair of shiny starsJules has a pair of shiny starsJules has a pair of shiny starsJules has a pair of shiny starsJules has a pair of shiny starsJules has a pair of shiny starsJules has a pair of shiny starsJules has a pair of shiny starsJules has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Engineer...

Because it costs money so they replace as and when people have problems
Jules is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2006, 16:59   #6
uka100
Inactive
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 7
uka100 is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Engineer...

The engineer came today, I asked him if he knew the situation and he hadn't been told anything by the phone workers...and as soon as he walked in he said "Ah you need a new modem" I was like yay someone actually knows their stuff. he said he's had to replace a lot of the terayons on the 4MB and 10MB service mainly, and he kept saying how the message should get across to the phone workers that these things needs replacing, which is exactly what I was thinking.
He was done within 15 mins giving me a new 250 modem and everything works fine. Great work.
uka100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-10-2006, 00:07   #7
mmm
cf.geek
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 508
mmm has a spectacular aura about themmmm has a spectacular aura about themmmm has a spectacular aura about themmmm has a spectacular aura about them
Re: Engineer...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jules View Post
Because it costs money so they replace as and when people have problems
and there is no-one left at NTL to put 2 and 2 together and realise it would be cheaper in the long run and better PR to swap out the old modems in bulk rather than one at a time - or even add the solution to the help-desk fault finding chart!
mmm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 16:18.


Server: xenon.zmnt.net
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.