Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | 600mb tier rollout

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media Internet Service

Are VM throttling Usenet again?
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-04-2021, 18:26   #1
buckeye
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 185
buckeye is just really nicebuckeye is just really nicebuckeye is just really nicebuckeye is just really nicebuckeye is just really nicebuckeye is just really nice
Are VM throttling Usenet again?

As the title says are VM throttling Usenet again?
I'm on their GB tier and up until the 26th March my Usenet downloads averaged over 100 MB/s, usually they would be around 108 MB/s.
Ever since that date my downloads are fluctuating between 20-48 MB/s, but if I go to speed test sites I'm being shown pretty much my full bandwidth (although ping has increased during this time to 10ms from 7 or 8),
also whilst I am downloading from Usenet the speed test sites are showing a pretty accurate measure of my remaining bandwidth.

All of my Usenet servers are SSL servers on port 563 and over the past week I've pretty much eliminated any hardware faults in my own equipment, so either my VM Hub 4 (which is in modem mode) has suddenly developed a fault, my area has suddenly become congested at all hours, my area has maintenance being done (nothing is announced when I phone or check in my VM) or VM are throttling me on Usenet only.

Is anyone else experiencing any problems like this?
buckeye is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 02-04-2021, 18:41   #2
Jaymoss
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 285
Jaymoss has entered a golden reputation eraJaymoss has entered a golden reputation eraJaymoss has entered a golden reputation eraJaymoss has entered a golden reputation eraJaymoss has entered a golden reputation eraJaymoss has entered a golden reputation eraJaymoss has entered a golden reputation eraJaymoss has entered a golden reputation eraJaymoss has entered a golden reputation eraJaymoss has entered a golden reputation eraJaymoss has entered a golden reputation era
Re: Are VM throttling Usenet again?

how many providers you tried? Tweaknews saturates my connection all the time
Jaymoss is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2021, 11:32   #3
buckeye
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 185
buckeye is just really nicebuckeye is just really nicebuckeye is just really nicebuckeye is just really nicebuckeye is just really nicebuckeye is just really nice
Re: Are VM throttling Usenet again?

I have tried 5 providers 4 of which are on different backbones, I've also tried to see if its a routing problem by trying all of those providers via their US servers and their EU ones nothing is making a difference, for Usenet its like I'm on at the most the 500 meg tier but other stuff is behaving like the 1000 meg tier.
buckeye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2021, 11:35   #4
Jaymoss
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 285
Jaymoss has entered a golden reputation eraJaymoss has entered a golden reputation eraJaymoss has entered a golden reputation eraJaymoss has entered a golden reputation eraJaymoss has entered a golden reputation eraJaymoss has entered a golden reputation eraJaymoss has entered a golden reputation eraJaymoss has entered a golden reputation eraJaymoss has entered a golden reputation eraJaymoss has entered a golden reputation eraJaymoss has entered a golden reputation era
Re: Are VM throttling Usenet again?

Well maybe they are targeting you because you are downloading the internet or maybe there is a temporary issue in your area
Jaymoss is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2021, 14:52   #5
buckeye
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 185
buckeye is just really nicebuckeye is just really nicebuckeye is just really nicebuckeye is just really nicebuckeye is just really nicebuckeye is just really nice
Re: Are VM throttling Usenet again?

Well I'm not downloading the internet, my usage is reasonably low compared to most other Usenet users I know.
As someone who is working during lockdown and not from home my bandwidth usage is zero for 10 hours a day for 5 days a week anyway.
I guess I will have to lodge a complaint but its going to be anyone's guess as to when I will be able to get a weekend visit from an engineer which is the only time I can have a visit.
buckeye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2021, 14:56   #6
Jaymoss
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 285
Jaymoss has entered a golden reputation eraJaymoss has entered a golden reputation eraJaymoss has entered a golden reputation eraJaymoss has entered a golden reputation eraJaymoss has entered a golden reputation eraJaymoss has entered a golden reputation eraJaymoss has entered a golden reputation eraJaymoss has entered a golden reputation eraJaymoss has entered a golden reputation eraJaymoss has entered a golden reputation eraJaymoss has entered a golden reputation era
Re: Are VM throttling Usenet again?

I know there is DMCA take downs and the like but may I ask why you need 5 providers ?
Jaymoss is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2021, 15:33   #7
pip08456
Sad Doig Fan!
 
pip08456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Barry South Wales
Age: 65
Services: Now back with VM for BB & phone. 50Mb service.
Posts: 10,208
pip08456 has a nice shiny star
pip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny star
Re: Are VM throttling Usenet again?

Quote:
Originally Posted by buckeye View Post
Well I'm not downloading the internet, my usage is reasonably low compared to most other Usenet users I know.
As someone who is working during lockdown and not from home my bandwidth usage is zero for 10 hours a day for 5 days a week anyway.
I guess I will have to lodge a complaint but its going to be anyone's guess as to when I will be able to get a weekend visit from an engineer which is the only time I can have a visit.
Have you set up a BQM yet?
pip08456 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2021, 17:53   #8
buckeye
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 185
buckeye is just really nicebuckeye is just really nicebuckeye is just really nicebuckeye is just really nicebuckeye is just really nicebuckeye is just really nice
Re: Are VM throttling Usenet again?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaymoss View Post
I know there is DMCA take downs and the like but may I ask why you need 5 providers ?
As a beta tester for 3 of those providers I get very cheap life time accounts,
my other two accounts are from the darkside I.E. Omicron, but they are still ridiculously cheap , I'm not asking about DMCA takedowns, I haven't even thought about those for many years, no-one using Usenet should have any concerns about DMCA if they have their system setup correctly.
I am asking why my downloads from NNTP are so slow?
buckeye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2021, 09:52   #9
Sephiroth
Simples
 
Sephiroth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: RG41
Services: 1 Gbps; Hub 4 MM; ASUS RT-AX88U. BT Infinity2; Tivo; V6; XL Phone; Devolo 1200AV
Posts: 8,732
Sephiroth is cast in bronzeSephiroth is cast in bronzeSephiroth is cast in bronzeSephiroth is cast in bronze
Sephiroth is cast in bronzeSephiroth is cast in bronzeSephiroth is cast in bronzeSephiroth is cast in bronzeSephiroth is cast in bronzeSephiroth is cast in bronzeSephiroth is cast in bronzeSephiroth is cast in bronzeSephiroth is cast in bronzeSephiroth is cast in bronzeSephiroth is cast in bronzeSephiroth is cast in bronzeSephiroth is cast in bronzeSephiroth is cast in bronzeSephiroth is cast in bronzeSephiroth is cast in bronzeSephiroth is cast in bronzeSephiroth is cast in bronze
Re: Are VM throttling Usenet again?

The usual reasons are:

1. Area congestion;

2. Circuit impairment.

Have you checked your modem levels? What is happening to your neighbours? VM don’t throttle anything afaik.
__________________
Seph.

My advice is at your risk.
Sephiroth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-04-2021, 21:46   #10
broadbandking
cf.mega poster
 
broadbandking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: At My Desk
Services: Virgin Media V6 XL TV - 1Gb Broadband
Posts: 3,004
broadbandking has a bronze arraybroadbandking has a bronze arraybroadbandking has a bronze array
broadbandking has a bronze arraybroadbandking has a bronze arraybroadbandking has a bronze array
Re: Are VM throttling Usenet again?

Couldn't it be down to load balancing and given certain traffic priority on the VM level?
__________________
My Broadband Ping
broadbandking is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 20:18.


Server: curium.zmnt.uk
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.