Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Remote control playing up.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media TV Service

Why does Virgin Not have a virgin 1 or virgin sport?
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 26-03-2021, 01:12   #1
wwe
cf.mega poster
 
wwe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: England Uk
Services: Telewest Phone Telewest BroadBand Telewest Digital Tv v+ HD
Posts: 4,085
wwe has a very nice sixpackwwe has a very nice sixpackwwe has a very nice sixpackwwe has a very nice sixpackwwe has a very nice sixpackwwe has a very nice sixpackwwe has a very nice sixpackwwe has a very nice sixpackwwe has a very nice sixpackwwe has a very nice sixpackwwe has a very nice sixpackwwe has a very nice sixpackwwe has a very nice sixpackwwe has a very nice sixpackwwe has a very nice sixpackwwe has a very nice sixpack
Why does Virgin Not have a virgin 1 or virgin sport?

Not sure if this has been asked but why doesn't virgin not have its own channels like sky and BT? Like Virgin 1 or Virgin Sports like Sky 1 and Bt Sports
wwe is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 26-03-2021, 04:52   #2
denphone
Still alive and fighting
 
denphone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: In the land of beyond and beyond.
Services: XL BB, 2 V6 boxes , XL TV.
Posts: 55,055
denphone has a golden aura
denphone has a golden auradenphone has a golden auradenphone has a golden auradenphone has a golden auradenphone has a golden auradenphone has a golden auradenphone has a golden aura
Re: Why does Virgin Not have a virgin 1 or virgin sport?

l am pretty sure after the Sky TV basics dispute Virgin did launch a Virgin One channel although it did not seem to last that long.

Other forum members would know a bit more about this.
__________________
“The only lesson you can learn from history is that it repeats itself”
denphone is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 26-03-2021, 09:18   #3
Taf
cf.mega poster
 
Taf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kairdiff-by-the-sea
Age: 65
Services: TVXL BBXL Superhub 2ac (wired) 1Tb Tivo
Posts: 8,750
Taf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny star
Taf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny star
Re: Why does Virgin Not have a virgin 1 or virgin sport?

BT Sports was added to all subscribers whether we wanted it or not, with a fee added.
Taf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-03-2021, 09:47   #4
weesteev
Cable Guru
 
weesteev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Scotland
Age: 38
Services: EE Fibre 40/10x 2 and 4G load balanced, Virgin FTTH coming soon!
Posts: 1,045
weesteev has reached the bronze age
weesteev has reached the bronze ageweesteev has reached the bronze ageweesteev has reached the bronze ageweesteev has reached the bronze ageweesteev has reached the bronze ageweesteev has reached the bronze ageweesteev has reached the bronze ageweesteev has reached the bronze ageweesteev has reached the bronze age
Re: Why does Virgin Not have a virgin 1 or virgin sport?

Virgin Media UK isn't in the direct content market currently, they sold their holdings to Sky some years ago and the old Virgin1 channel was reconstituted as something else. Virgin has no plans publicly to get back into the content or broadcasting market, but VM IE does has a content division and channels so this may be something that changes in future.

As for sports... its not commercially viable. Have you seen how much money is thrown at sports rights agreements these days!
__________________


Access Network Innovation @ Liberty Global/Virgin Media

All comments are my own opinion and not a direct expression of LG/VM.
weesteev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-03-2021, 11:46   #5
Tricky Trevor
cf.geek
 
Tricky Trevor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Nottingham
Age: 64
Services: Ultimate Oomph,Virgin 360 Still waiting for Sky Sports UHD!!
Posts: 678
Tricky Trevor has a brilliant futureTricky Trevor has a brilliant futureTricky Trevor has a brilliant futureTricky Trevor has a brilliant futureTricky Trevor has a brilliant futureTricky Trevor has a brilliant futureTricky Trevor has a brilliant futureTricky Trevor has a brilliant futureTricky Trevor has a brilliant futureTricky Trevor has a brilliant futureTricky Trevor has a brilliant futureTricky Trevor has a brilliant future
Re: Why does Virgin Not have a virgin 1 or virgin sport?

They have Virgin 1,2 and 3 and Virgin Sports in Ireland only presumably because of copyrights. They do look good as I watched them when I was in Dublin a couple of years ago.
__________________
I used to be indecisive but now I'm not so sure.
Tricky Trevor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-03-2021, 23:02   #6
Raider999
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 1,498
Raider999 is a glorious beacon of lightRaider999 is a glorious beacon of lightRaider999 is a glorious beacon of lightRaider999 is a glorious beacon of lightRaider999 is a glorious beacon of lightRaider999 is a glorious beacon of lightRaider999 is a glorious beacon of light
Re: Why does Virgin Not have a virgin 1 or virgin sport?

They do not want to spend the money needed to acquire any sports rights to be able to fill a sports channel of their own - I imagine the same applies to drama programs for a V1 channel.

End result they negotiate to provide channels from Sky/BT.
Raider999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-03-2021, 14:23   #7
OLD BOY
Rise above the players
 
OLD BOY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Wokingham
Services: 2 V6 boxes with 360 software, Now TV, Amazon, Netflix, Starzplay, Apple TV; Discovery +, VM broadban
Posts: 11,806
OLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze array
OLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze array
Re: Why does Virgin Not have a virgin 1 or virgin sport?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raider999 View Post
They do not want to spend the money needed to acquire any sports rights to be able to fill a sports channel of their own - I imagine the same applies to drama programs for a V1 channel.

End result they negotiate to provide channels from Sky/BT.
Although they do run the Virgin Ultra HD channel, which has shown dramas such as Mr Mercedes, Absentia and Underground, to name a few.

If Virgin had their own 24 hour channel exclusive to Virgin, it would offset the advantage Sky customers have with Sky Atlantic.
__________________
Forumbox.co.uk
OLD BOY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-03-2021, 14:35   #8
Legendkiller2k
cf.geek
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Jupiter
Services: Plusnet fibre 80mbs, plusnet tv with bt sport,skyq with cinema and signature and netflix,hulu, kodi
Posts: 644
Legendkiller2k has much to be proud ofLegendkiller2k has much to be proud ofLegendkiller2k has much to be proud ofLegendkiller2k has much to be proud ofLegendkiller2k has much to be proud ofLegendkiller2k has much to be proud ofLegendkiller2k has much to be proud ofLegendkiller2k has much to be proud ofLegendkiller2k has much to be proud ofLegendkiller2k has much to be proud of
Re: Why does Virgin Not have a virgin 1 or virgin sport?

Quote:
Originally Posted by denphone View Post
l am pretty sure after the Sky TV basics dispute Virgin did launch a Virgin One channel although it did not seem to last that long.

Other forum members would know a bit more about this.
They did indeed had a few decent shows on too including the Sarah Connor chronicles.

---------- Post added at 14:35 ---------- Previous post was at 14:33 ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raider999 View Post
They do not want to spend the money needed to acquire any sports rights to be able to fill a sports channel of their own - I imagine the same applies to drama programs for a V1 channel.

End result they negotiate to provide channels from Sky/BT.
And when BT and SKY decide they want exclusivity of their own channels it's game over for Virgin tv one would think.
SKY are already starting the process with BTTV now running Nowtv on their platform, only a matter of time before VM get the same.
__________________
Destiny is not set but what we make.
Legendkiller2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-03-2021, 20:11   #9
OLD BOY
Rise above the players
 
OLD BOY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Wokingham
Services: 2 V6 boxes with 360 software, Now TV, Amazon, Netflix, Starzplay, Apple TV; Discovery +, VM broadban
Posts: 11,806
OLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze array
OLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze array
Re: Why does Virgin Not have a virgin 1 or virgin sport?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Legendkiller2k View Post

And when BT and SKY decide they want exclusivity of their own channels it's game over for Virgin tv one would think.
SKY are already starting the process with BTTV now running Nowtv on their platform, only a matter of time before VM get the same.
It’ll come anyway in time, I believe. If I am right and Sky dump their satellite TV in favour of Peacock, Virgin viewers would have to access the streamer to see those programmes. So Peacock would join Netflix, Prime and the rest on the VM platform, paying Sky direct by way of a Peacock subscription.
__________________
Forumbox.co.uk
OLD BOY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-03-2021, 20:18   #10
Legendkiller2k
cf.geek
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Jupiter
Services: Plusnet fibre 80mbs, plusnet tv with bt sport,skyq with cinema and signature and netflix,hulu, kodi
Posts: 644
Legendkiller2k has much to be proud ofLegendkiller2k has much to be proud ofLegendkiller2k has much to be proud ofLegendkiller2k has much to be proud ofLegendkiller2k has much to be proud ofLegendkiller2k has much to be proud ofLegendkiller2k has much to be proud ofLegendkiller2k has much to be proud ofLegendkiller2k has much to be proud ofLegendkiller2k has much to be proud of
Re: Why does Virgin Not have a virgin 1 or virgin sport?

Quote:
Originally Posted by OLD BOY View Post
It’ll come anyway in time, I believe. If I am right and Sky dump their satellite TV in favour of Peacock, Virgin viewers would have to access the streamer to see those programmes. So Peacock would join Netflix, Prime and the rest on the VM platform, paying Sky direct by way of a Peacock subscription.
I myself have access to Peacock for around £4p/m it is exceptional value even more so now WWE is on it but one wonders how long they can keep that price point.
HBOMax is considering a cheaper ad option too.
Paramount+ is another one to watch too.

SKYs satellite service won't be going anywhere for a very long time.
__________________
Destiny is not set but what we make.
Legendkiller2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-03-2021, 20:42   #11
Mad Max
cf.mega poster
 
Mad Max's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 3,370
Mad Max has a bronzed appealMad Max has a bronzed appeal
Mad Max has a bronzed appealMad Max has a bronzed appealMad Max has a bronzed appealMad Max has a bronzed appealMad Max has a bronzed appealMad Max has a bronzed appealMad Max has a bronzed appealMad Max has a bronzed appealMad Max has a bronzed appealMad Max has a bronzed appealMad Max has a bronzed appealMad Max has a bronzed appealMad Max has a bronzed appealMad Max has a bronzed appealMad Max has a bronzed appeal
Re: Why does Virgin Not have a virgin 1 or virgin sport?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Legendkiller2k View Post
I myself have access to Peacock for around £4p/m it is exceptional value even more so now WWE is on it but one wonders how long they can keep that price point.
HBOMax is considering a cheaper ad option too.
Paramount+ is another one to watch too.

SKYs satellite service won't be going anywhere for a very long time.
Which VPN do you use mate?
Mad Max is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-03-2021, 21:06   #12
Legendkiller2k
cf.geek
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Jupiter
Services: Plusnet fibre 80mbs, plusnet tv with bt sport,skyq with cinema and signature and netflix,hulu, kodi
Posts: 644
Legendkiller2k has much to be proud ofLegendkiller2k has much to be proud ofLegendkiller2k has much to be proud ofLegendkiller2k has much to be proud ofLegendkiller2k has much to be proud ofLegendkiller2k has much to be proud ofLegendkiller2k has much to be proud ofLegendkiller2k has much to be proud ofLegendkiller2k has much to be proud ofLegendkiller2k has much to be proud of
Re: Why does Virgin Not have a virgin 1 or virgin sport?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mad Max View Post
Which VPN do you use mate?
I use ibvpn mate they're not cheap.
They recently got took over by strongvpn who don't have a very good reputation so i'm seeing how it goes as my 12 months expires next month. I've had no issues so far though.
__________________
Destiny is not set but what we make.

Last edited by Legendkiller2k; 28-03-2021 at 21:10.
Legendkiller2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-03-2021, 23:31   #13
Mad Max
cf.mega poster
 
Mad Max's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 3,370
Mad Max has a bronzed appealMad Max has a bronzed appeal
Mad Max has a bronzed appealMad Max has a bronzed appealMad Max has a bronzed appealMad Max has a bronzed appealMad Max has a bronzed appealMad Max has a bronzed appealMad Max has a bronzed appealMad Max has a bronzed appealMad Max has a bronzed appealMad Max has a bronzed appealMad Max has a bronzed appealMad Max has a bronzed appealMad Max has a bronzed appealMad Max has a bronzed appealMad Max has a bronzed appeal
Re: Why does Virgin Not have a virgin 1 or virgin sport?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Legendkiller2k View Post
I use ibvpn mate they're not cheap.
They recently got took over by strongvpn who don't have a very good reputation so i'm seeing how it goes as my 12 months expires next month. I've had no issues so far though.
Cheers mate.
Mad Max is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 13:11.


Server: curium.zmnt.uk
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.