Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Windows WhatsApp App question

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Computers & IT > Internet Discussion

Firefox Memory Hog!
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 27-09-2020, 00:13   #1
alanbjames
cf.mega poster
 
alanbjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Swansea, South Wales UK.
Age: 69
Services: XL Phone, XXL 500mb BB SH3 (wired).
Posts: 2,328
alanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quads
Firefox Memory Hog!

Is there anyway to effectively stop multiple versions of firefox running in the background?


They seemed to have stopped the use of these in version 68 and later....

browser.tabs.remote.force-enable -- Enforces the use of multi-process in Firefox if it is not enabled by default, e.g. because of accessibility.
browser.tabs.remote.force-disable -- Disables multi-process in the Firefox web browser.

Its just firefox can be so memory hungry, ive seen it with just 2 or 3 tabs open in the browser having 4 or 5 instances running about 2GB of ram.



Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks
alanbjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 27-09-2020, 08:19   #2
downquark1
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Age: 34
Services: Plusnet FFTC
Posts: 4,798
downquark1 has a bronzed appealdownquark1 has a bronzed appeal
downquark1 has a bronzed appealdownquark1 has a bronzed appealdownquark1 has a bronzed appealdownquark1 has a bronzed appealdownquark1 has a bronzed appealdownquark1 has a bronzed appealdownquark1 has a bronzed appealdownquark1 has a bronzed appealdownquark1 has a bronzed appealdownquark1 has a bronzed appealdownquark1 has a bronzed appeal
Re: Firefox Memory Hog!

It's not multiple versions, it has split different aspects of itself into multiple processes, unfortunately most browsers are doing the same now as it aids security and stability. There maybe things you can do like removing extensions but memory usage is just a fact of life now.

I think there are three or 4 processes involved just for my Dropbox.
__________________
"Knowledge is Power. Power Corrupts. Study Hard. Be Evil."
downquark1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2020, 16:43   #3
Paul
Dr Pepper Addict
Cable Forum Team
 
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Nottingham
Services: VM Phone : Sky Mobile : Sky TV : VM BB (350 Mbps) : Vodafone BB (38 Mbps)
Posts: 23,205
Paul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered stars
Paul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered stars
Re: Firefox Memory Hog!

Quote:
Originally Posted by alanbjames View Post
Is there anyway to effectively stop multiple versions of firefox running in the background?
No, its not multiple versions, its actually one version running multiple processes.
You will also notice they take time to close when you close FF, but they will (eventually).
__________________

Baby, I was born this way.
Paul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2020, 22:28   #4
alanbjames
cf.mega poster
 
alanbjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Swansea, South Wales UK.
Age: 69
Services: XL Phone, XXL 500mb BB SH3 (wired).
Posts: 2,328
alanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quads
Re: Firefox Memory Hog!

Well its official, ive been using Firefox as my primary browser since V3.6 and now i have dumped it in favour of Opera.

Even with all the extensions disabled Firefox was still using over a gig of system resources.

Opera running my 4 extensions runs at just over 500mb system resources which is a massive difference.
alanbjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-09-2020, 04:37   #5
Dude111
An Awesome Dude
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2,170
Dude111 has reached the bronze age
Dude111 has reached the bronze ageDude111 has reached the bronze ageDude111 has reached the bronze ageDude111 has reached the bronze ageDude111 has reached the bronze ageDude111 has reached the bronze ageDude111 has reached the bronze ageDude111 has reached the bronze ageDude111 has reached the bronze ageDude111 has reached the bronze ageDude111 has reached the bronze ageDude111 has reached the bronze ageDude111 has reached the bronze age
Quote:
Originally Posted by downquark1
It's not multiple versions, it has split different aspects of itself into multiple processes, unfortunately most browsers are doing the same now as it aids security and stability.
Yes which is why im glad on my browser (MyIE2) I can disable multiple instances (Its not possible for another to run in the background..... Only 1 instance can run at once)
Attached Images
File Type: png Capture.png (38.0 KB, 10 views)
Dude111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-09-2020, 10:19   #6
SnoopZ
CF Resident Dog
 
SnoopZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 12,509
SnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny stars
SnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Firefox Memory Hog!

Why are you guys worried about memory usage when most PCs run just fine with 8 or 16gb?

---------- Post added at 09:19 ---------- Previous post was at 09:16 ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dude111 View Post
Yes which is why im glad on my browser (MyIE2) I can disable multiple instances (Its not possible for another to run in the background..... Only 1 instance can run at once)
1 day you will have to become modern, I still don't understand what you see in that old software or hardware when there are far better options available.
__________________
PSN: Snoopzster
SnoopZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-09-2020, 21:19   #7
alanbjames
cf.mega poster
 
alanbjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Swansea, South Wales UK.
Age: 69
Services: XL Phone, XXL 500mb BB SH3 (wired).
Posts: 2,328
alanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quads
Re: Firefox Memory Hog!

IE12? I thought last version was 11?
alanbjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-09-2020, 21:37   #8
SnoopZ
CF Resident Dog
 
SnoopZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 12,509
SnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny stars
SnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Firefox Memory Hog!

Quote:
Originally Posted by alanbjames View Post
IE12? I thought last version was 11?
You miss read.
__________________
PSN: Snoopzster
SnoopZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-09-2020, 23:59   #9
alanbjames
cf.mega poster
 
alanbjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Swansea, South Wales UK.
Age: 69
Services: XL Phone, XXL 500mb BB SH3 (wired).
Posts: 2,328
alanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quads
Re: Firefox Memory Hog!

MyIE12?
alanbjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-09-2020, 01:10   #10
Paul
Dr Pepper Addict
Cable Forum Team
 
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Nottingham
Services: VM Phone : Sky Mobile : Sky TV : VM BB (350 Mbps) : Vodafone BB (38 Mbps)
Posts: 23,205
Paul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered stars
Paul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered stars
Re: Firefox Memory Hog!

Its says MyIE2 - two, not twelve.
__________________

Baby, I was born this way.
Paul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-09-2020, 02:20   #11
alanbjames
cf.mega poster
 
alanbjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Swansea, South Wales UK.
Age: 69
Services: XL Phone, XXL 500mb BB SH3 (wired).
Posts: 2,328
alanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quads
Re: Firefox Memory Hog!

Sorry i misread. Think i need a stronger pair of glasses.
alanbjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-09-2020, 05:47   #12
Dude111
An Awesome Dude
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2,170
Dude111 has reached the bronze age
Dude111 has reached the bronze ageDude111 has reached the bronze ageDude111 has reached the bronze ageDude111 has reached the bronze ageDude111 has reached the bronze ageDude111 has reached the bronze ageDude111 has reached the bronze ageDude111 has reached the bronze ageDude111 has reached the bronze ageDude111 has reached the bronze ageDude111 has reached the bronze ageDude111 has reached the bronze ageDude111 has reached the bronze age
No no dont worry,your ok mate

Thank you Paul....... Yes MyIE2 -- Its an IE wrapper and the best one I have ever found....

I started with MyIE1 v3.2de and I stayed with that long after the first MyIE2 came out.... Then I finally got a MyIE2 version and finally ended up with the one I have now which is the LAST VERSION called "MyIE2" - When it became Maxthon it became garbage and im grateful to have what I have......
Dude111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-09-2020, 10:04   #13
SnoopZ
CF Resident Dog
 
SnoopZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 12,509
SnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny stars
SnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Firefox Memory Hog!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dude111 View Post
No no dont worry,your ok mate

Thank you Paul....... Yes MyIE2 -- Its an IE wrapper and the best one I have ever found....

I started with MyIE1 v3.2de and I stayed with that long after the first MyIE2 came out.... Then I finally got a MyIE2 version and finally ended up with the one I have now which is the LAST VERSION called "MyIE2" - When it became Maxthon it became garbage and im grateful to have what I have......
Hope you don't do any online banking on your PC.
__________________
PSN: Snoopzster
SnoopZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-09-2020, 16:32   #14
Paul
Dr Pepper Addict
Cable Forum Team
 
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Nottingham
Services: VM Phone : Sky Mobile : Sky TV : VM BB (350 Mbps) : Vodafone BB (38 Mbps)
Posts: 23,205
Paul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered stars
Paul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered stars
Re: Firefox Memory Hog!

Unlikely, I'm not sure IE2 would even load an online banking site these days.
PCI requires banking sites to to use TLS 1.1 (or above) and IE2 does not support 1.1
__________________

Baby, I was born this way.
Paul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2020, 08:05   #15
Dude111
An Awesome Dude
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2,170
Dude111 has reached the bronze age
Dude111 has reached the bronze ageDude111 has reached the bronze ageDude111 has reached the bronze ageDude111 has reached the bronze ageDude111 has reached the bronze ageDude111 has reached the bronze ageDude111 has reached the bronze ageDude111 has reached the bronze ageDude111 has reached the bronze ageDude111 has reached the bronze ageDude111 has reached the bronze ageDude111 has reached the bronze ageDude111 has reached the bronze age
Nope I dont do any banking... That stuff SHOULD BE DONE with full SSL if your gonna do it online!
Dude111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:13.


Server: curium.zmnt.uk
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.