Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Wifi Range Extender

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Computers & IT > Networking

Wifi Range Extender
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 27-01-2018, 15:42   #16
techguyone
Deus Vult
 
techguyone's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: W Mids
Services: VM Freeview TV with Tivio > VM Fibre BB (70MB) with Superhub1 (modem mode) > VM XL Telephone
Posts: 1,947
techguyone has reached the bronze age
techguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze age
Send a message via Yahoo to techguyone
Re: Wifi Range Extender

wi fi extenders typically double the range, half the speed don't they? if the issues is old thick walls, power lines sound like the best bet, I just got a tp link powerline

https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B01FFBN4MO/

when tested, I had almost no losses either (to my surprise) and I have 70's dodgy wiring

You can get a slightly slower model with Wi Fi too (TP Link)
__________________
Never trust a man who, when left alone in a room with a tea cozy, doesn't try it on.
techguyone is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 27-01-2018, 19:51   #17
Hom3r
All true..Except the lies
 
Hom3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Galactic Sector ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha, www.daves-world.co.uk. A secret Moonbase (shh don't tell anybody)
Age: 49
Services: 1 V6 Tivo, 2x1TB Tivo, , SH3. Samsung Galaxy Note 8, 2TB & 3 TB WD NAS, Smart Home stuff, & Cuddy To
Posts: 14,803
Hom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny stars
Hom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Wifi Range Extender

Quote:
Originally Posted by techguyone View Post
wi fi extenders typically double the range, half the speed don't they? if the issues is old thick walls, power lines sound like the best bet, I just got a tp link powerline

https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B01FFBN4MO/

when tested, I had almost no losses either (to my surprise) and I have 70's dodgy wiring

You can get a slightly slower model with Wi Fi too (TP Link)
Will they work on different rings?

As the will be on different floors?

The fuse box is RCD protected
__________________
Twitter Facebook

My Blog

Last edited by Hom3r; 27-01-2018 at 19:56.
Hom3r is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2018, 20:20   #18
AndyCambs
cf.mega poster
 
AndyCambs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Peterborough
Services: Virgin Media XL Broadband XL Virgin Mobile V+ installed! and a happy Virgin Media customer
Posts: 2,559
AndyCambs has reached the bronze age
AndyCambs has reached the bronze ageAndyCambs has reached the bronze ageAndyCambs has reached the bronze age
Re: Wifi Range Extender

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hom3r View Post
Will they work on different rings?


The fuse box is RCD protected
I have the Virgin Media Powerline extenders. They work on the same ring, but not opposite sides of the house which is disappointing.
AndyCambs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-2018, 16:49   #19
techguyone
Deus Vult
 
techguyone's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: W Mids
Services: VM Freeview TV with Tivio > VM Fibre BB (70MB) with Superhub1 (modem mode) > VM XL Telephone
Posts: 1,947
techguyone has reached the bronze age
techguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze age
Send a message via Yahoo to techguyone
Re: Wifi Range Extender

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hom3r View Post
Will they work on different rings?

As the will be on different floors?

The fuse box is RCD protected
no idea, amazon are good with returns though, find out?
__________________
Never trust a man who, when left alone in a room with a tea cozy, doesn't try it on.
techguyone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2018, 16:51   #20
Hom3r
All true..Except the lies
 
Hom3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Galactic Sector ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha, www.daves-world.co.uk. A secret Moonbase (shh don't tell anybody)
Age: 49
Services: 1 V6 Tivo, 2x1TB Tivo, , SH3. Samsung Galaxy Note 8, 2TB & 3 TB WD NAS, Smart Home stuff, & Cuddy To
Posts: 14,803
Hom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny stars
Hom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Wifi Range Extender

I bought a set of TP-Link AV2000 2-Port Gigabit Passthrough P/L adaptor. (TL-PA9020P)

I just litterally plugged them in and away I went.

I connected the second port downstairs to my laptop and I'm getting 165meg
__________________
Twitter Facebook

My Blog
Hom3r is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2018, 19:18   #21
techguyone
Deus Vult
 
techguyone's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: W Mids
Services: VM Freeview TV with Tivio > VM Fibre BB (70MB) with Superhub1 (modem mode) > VM XL Telephone
Posts: 1,947
techguyone has reached the bronze age
techguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze age
Send a message via Yahoo to techguyone
Re: Wifi Range Extender

They're really good aren't they, I had powerlines some 10 yrs ago and they were awful, always losing config too, the TP ones work great for me.
__________________
Never trust a man who, when left alone in a room with a tea cozy, doesn't try it on.
techguyone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2018, 17:07   #22
Hom3r
All true..Except the lies
 
Hom3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Galactic Sector ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha, www.daves-world.co.uk. A secret Moonbase (shh don't tell anybody)
Age: 49
Services: 1 V6 Tivo, 2x1TB Tivo, , SH3. Samsung Galaxy Note 8, 2TB & 3 TB WD NAS, Smart Home stuff, & Cuddy To
Posts: 14,803
Hom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny stars
Hom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Wifi Range Extender

You need to give them a few minutes to connect/configure before you start.
__________________
Twitter Facebook

My Blog
Hom3r is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:03.


Server: xenon.zmnt.net
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.