Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | 600mb tier rollout

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media Internet Service

600mb tier rollout
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-04-2021, 12:35   #46
jb66
cf.mega poster
 
jb66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 5,368
jb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze array
jb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze array
Re: 600mb tier rollout

Quote:
Originally Posted by bbxxl View Post
My wifi speed isnt bad, its my wired speed I was talking about. When the engineer came out he said hed be happy if he could get high 200s but failed to improve my speed.
In 11 years of being a service tech I've never had that issue, it's always been the customers equipment or setup causing the slow speed
__________________
"The postings on this site are my own and don't necessarily represent Virgin Media's positions, strategies or opinions."
jb66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 03-04-2021, 13:25   #47
bbxxl
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 196
bbxxl is on a distinguished roadbbxxl is on a distinguished road
Re: 600mb tier rollout

Quote:
Originally Posted by ozsat View Post
How are you measuring the wire speed? What LAN card?
The router has Speedtest built in and was showing the same speeds as my laptop. An engineer came out and seemed happy that the results were correct.
bbxxl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-04-2021, 14:32   #48
linwelin
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 192
linwelin is on a distinguished roadlinwelin is on a distinguished road
Re: 600mb tier rollout

any upgrades planned for lower tiers ? 200mb and 100mb??
linwelin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-04-2021, 22:48   #49
broadbandking
cf.mega poster
 
broadbandking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: At My Desk
Services: Virgin Media V6 XL TV - 1Gb Broadband
Posts: 3,004
broadbandking has a bronze arraybroadbandking has a bronze arraybroadbandking has a bronze array
broadbandking has a bronze arraybroadbandking has a bronze arraybroadbandking has a bronze array
Re: 600mb tier rollout

TBH I am surprised they haven't announced speed upgrades for the lower tier as VM have always done decent speed increases normally along side a price increase.
__________________
My Broadband Ping
broadbandking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-2021, 07:20   #50
bbxxl
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 196
bbxxl is on a distinguished roadbbxxl is on a distinguished road
Re: 600mb tier rollout

Quote:
Originally Posted by broadbandking View Post
TBH I am surprised they haven't announced speed upgrades for the lower tier as VM have always done decent speed increases normally along side a price increase.
Have they actually announced speed upgrades for anyone? Im on oomph and still on 500 even though 600 has been available here for ages, no sign of an upgrade for me.
bbxxl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2021, 11:14   #51
Hom3r
Mum 15/08/46 - 30/09/20
 
Hom3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Galactic Sector ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha, www.daves-world.co.uk. A secret Moonbase (shh don't tell anybody)
Age: 52
Services: 1 V6, 2x1TB TiVo, SH3. Samsung Galaxy Note 10+ 5G, Ton's of Smart Home stuff, & Cuddy Toy
Posts: 16,119
Hom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny stars
Hom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny stars
Re: 600mb tier rollout

About 2 months ago I had a call from VM saying as I've been with them for over 19 years I'm getting 500meg for free.

But nothing happened, so I call 150 thinking it was a scam call, but they couldn't help as I was the account hold nor knew the password, I mentioned a LPA, and they gave me another number, that was able to help, they said nothing had been entered into the system and flagged it as a possible scam.

They told me to send the LPA to the Exec team, which I did.

A month ago a woman there called me back and helped out and at the same time reduced our bill from 170 to 120, but when we got the bill yesterday it was the same amount.

This morning I called 150 and the guy there sorted it out and upgraded us to the Ultimate Oomph, so I'm on 600meg, buy my laptop seems to top out at 230meg ish.

So gaming PC will have to come sooner rather than later.
__________________
STAY AT HOME: I found out that mum will never walk again as the coronavirus attacked her nervous system. She died on September 30th, wearing a mask and she still might be alive today.
Hom3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2021, 14:44   #52
General Maximus
C/O Felix Legion
 
General Maximus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lincoln
Services: phone + 500Mbit BB + SkyQ
Posts: 9,902
General Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronze
General Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronze
Re: 600mb tier rollout

Funnily enough i upgraded to 500mbits two days ago and got my bill reduced by 16/month. My pc is getting 550mbits and my phone maxes out at 430.
__________________
Join the Mockingjay, join the fight
General Maximus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2021, 15:57   #53
alanbjames
cf.mega poster
 
alanbjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Swansea, South Wales UK.
Age: 69
Services: XL Phone, XXL 500mb BB SH3 (wired).
Posts: 2,441
alanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quads
Re: 600mb tier rollout

Im on 500mb but there are times it dips below 430mb.
alanbjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2021, 07:29   #54
jb66
cf.mega poster
 
jb66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 5,368
jb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze array
jb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze array
Re: 600mb tier rollout

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Maximus View Post
Funnily enough i upgraded to 500mbits two days ago and got my bill reduced by 16/month. My pc is getting 550mbits and my phone maxes out at 430.
Your at the limits for wifi 5 you need wifi 6 routers to go beyond that
__________________
"The postings on this site are my own and don't necessarily represent Virgin Media's positions, strategies or opinions."
jb66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2021, 07:54   #55
bbxxl
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 196
bbxxl is on a distinguished roadbbxxl is on a distinguished road
Re: 600mb tier rollout

Quote:
Originally Posted by alanbjames View Post
Im on 500mb but there are times it dips below 430mb.
Ive been on 500 for the past couple of years (just upgraded to 600 yesterday) my speeds are normally in the low 200s, never seen above 280.

The engineer came out and said hed be happy if he could get high 200s. He failed.

My WiFi is consistent at 200-203 which is still a lot faster Thani can get elsewhere so it will have to do.

I got a SamKnows whitebox which will show 160 to the router and 200 to my iPad - go figure!
bbxxl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2021, 08:56   #56
General Maximus
C/O Felix Legion
 
General Maximus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lincoln
Services: phone + 500Mbit BB + SkyQ
Posts: 9,902
General Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronze
General Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronze
Re: 600mb tier rollout

Quote:
Originally Posted by jb66 View Post
Your at the limits for wifi 5 you need wifi 6 routers to go beyond that
I am okay atm. I'll get a new router when i upgrade to 1gbit because mine maxes out around 760 ish.
__________________
Join the Mockingjay, join the fight
General Maximus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 23:18.


Server: curium.zmnt.uk
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.