Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Ethernet Recieve Buffer size

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Computers & IT > General IT Discussion

Ethernet Recieve Buffer size
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 20-07-2021, 03:03   #1
alanbjames
cf.mega poster
 
alanbjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Swansea, South Wales UK.
Age: 70
Services: XL Phone, XXL 500mb BB SH3 (wired).
Posts: 2,447
alanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quads
Ethernet Recieve Buffer size

Im attempting to change the buffer size of my ethernet card from 512 to 1024 but i kept being told that the size is to high even though according to the net the max size is 2048.

Its a Realtek 8125 2.5g chipset card.

Anyone have any ideas?
Thanks.

Ive attached a screen shot to.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Clipboard01a.jpg (464.8 KB, 17 views)
alanbjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 20-07-2021, 09:52   #2
GrimUpNorth
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Up North - Where It's Grim
Age: 54
Posts: 1,456
GrimUpNorth is cast in bronzeGrimUpNorth is cast in bronzeGrimUpNorth is cast in bronzeGrimUpNorth is cast in bronze
GrimUpNorth is cast in bronzeGrimUpNorth is cast in bronzeGrimUpNorth is cast in bronzeGrimUpNorth is cast in bronzeGrimUpNorth is cast in bronzeGrimUpNorth is cast in bronzeGrimUpNorth is cast in bronzeGrimUpNorth is cast in bronzeGrimUpNorth is cast in bronzeGrimUpNorth is cast in bronze
Re: Ethernet Recieve Buffer size

Have you set the transmit buffer to 2048?
GrimUpNorth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-07-2021, 10:06   #3
alanbjames
cf.mega poster
 
alanbjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Swansea, South Wales UK.
Age: 70
Services: XL Phone, XXL 500mb BB SH3 (wired).
Posts: 2,447
alanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quads
Re: Ethernet Recieve Buffer size

yes.
alanbjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-07-2021, 10:21   #4
mrmistoffelees
067
 
mrmistoffelees's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Middlesbrough
Age: 45
Services: Many
Posts: 3,306
mrmistoffelees has a bronze arraymrmistoffelees has a bronze arraymrmistoffelees has a bronze array
mrmistoffelees has a bronze arraymrmistoffelees has a bronze arraymrmistoffelees has a bronze arraymrmistoffelees has a bronze arraymrmistoffelees has a bronze arraymrmistoffelees has a bronze arraymrmistoffelees has a bronze arraymrmistoffelees has a bronze arraymrmistoffelees has a bronze arraymrmistoffelees has a bronze arraymrmistoffelees has a bronze array
Re: Ethernet Recieve Buffer size

Whats your MTU set to ?
__________________
Nerves of steel, heart of gold, knob of butter......
mrmistoffelees is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20-07-2021, 13:31   #5
alanbjames
cf.mega poster
 
alanbjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Swansea, South Wales UK.
Age: 70
Services: XL Phone, XXL 500mb BB SH3 (wired).
Posts: 2,447
alanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quads
Re: Ethernet Recieve Buffer size

MTU is 1500
alanbjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-07-2021, 15:04   #6
mrmistoffelees
067
 
mrmistoffelees's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Middlesbrough
Age: 45
Services: Many
Posts: 3,306
mrmistoffelees has a bronze arraymrmistoffelees has a bronze arraymrmistoffelees has a bronze array
mrmistoffelees has a bronze arraymrmistoffelees has a bronze arraymrmistoffelees has a bronze arraymrmistoffelees has a bronze arraymrmistoffelees has a bronze arraymrmistoffelees has a bronze arraymrmistoffelees has a bronze arraymrmistoffelees has a bronze arraymrmistoffelees has a bronze arraymrmistoffelees has a bronze arraymrmistoffelees has a bronze array
Re: Ethernet Recieve Buffer size

I think (but I could be wrong) that your MTU needs upping, from what I can gather your trying to utilise jumbo frames ? IIRC MTU should be 9216

Again this is old knowledge so could be wrong
__________________
Nerves of steel, heart of gold, knob of butter......
mrmistoffelees is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20-07-2021, 17:41   #7
alanbjames
cf.mega poster
 
alanbjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Swansea, South Wales UK.
Age: 70
Services: XL Phone, XXL 500mb BB SH3 (wired).
Posts: 2,447
alanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quads
Re: Ethernet Recieve Buffer size

i have never known an MTU to be that high.
alanbjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-07-2021, 18:27   #8
pip08456
Sad Doig Fan!
 
pip08456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Barry South Wales
Age: 65
Services: Now back with VM for BB & phone. 50Mb service.
Posts: 10,359
pip08456 has a nice shiny star
pip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny star
Re: Ethernet Recieve Buffer size

Just download and use this. https://www.speedguide.net/downloads.php
pip08456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-07-2021, 20:10   #9
Paul
Dr Pepper Addict
Cable Forum Team
 
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Nottingham
Services: VM Phone : Sky Mobile : Sky TV : VM BB (350 Mbps) : Vodafone BB (38 Mbps)
Posts: 23,708
Paul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered stars
Paul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered stars
Re: Ethernet Recieve Buffer size

Quote:
Originally Posted by alanbjames View Post
i have never known an MTU to be that high.
For good reason, you would have terrible fragmentation.
1500 is generally what you need. You can test with ping if you want.
__________________

Baby, I was born this way.
Paul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-07-2021, 20:52   #10
mrmistoffelees
067
 
mrmistoffelees's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Middlesbrough
Age: 45
Services: Many
Posts: 3,306
mrmistoffelees has a bronze arraymrmistoffelees has a bronze arraymrmistoffelees has a bronze array
mrmistoffelees has a bronze arraymrmistoffelees has a bronze arraymrmistoffelees has a bronze arraymrmistoffelees has a bronze arraymrmistoffelees has a bronze arraymrmistoffelees has a bronze arraymrmistoffelees has a bronze arraymrmistoffelees has a bronze arraymrmistoffelees has a bronze arraymrmistoffelees has a bronze arraymrmistoffelees has a bronze array
Re: Ethernet Recieve Buffer size

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul View Post
For good reason, you would have terrible fragmentation.
1500 is generally what you need. You can test with ping if you want.
A jumbo frame (if thatís what being used) will not work with an mtu of 1500


Frame type MTU Payload size
Standard 1500 1460 byte
Jumbo 9000 8960 byte
__________________
Nerves of steel, heart of gold, knob of butter......
mrmistoffelees is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-2021, 01:37   #11
Paul
Dr Pepper Addict
Cable Forum Team
 
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Nottingham
Services: VM Phone : Sky Mobile : Sky TV : VM BB (350 Mbps) : Vodafone BB (38 Mbps)
Posts: 23,708
Paul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered stars
Paul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered stars
Re: Ethernet Recieve Buffer size

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrmistoffelees View Post
A jumbo frame (if thatís what being used) will not work with an mtu of 1500
Which is why they are about as useful as an ashtray on a moterbike.

Unless you are only using your network card internally to connect devices, and they ALL support Jumbo frames, and ALL have a large MTU set.

They are of little/no use for Broadband.
__________________

Baby, I was born this way.
Paul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-2021, 09:29   #12
mrmistoffelees
067
 
mrmistoffelees's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Middlesbrough
Age: 45
Services: Many
Posts: 3,306
mrmistoffelees has a bronze arraymrmistoffelees has a bronze arraymrmistoffelees has a bronze array
mrmistoffelees has a bronze arraymrmistoffelees has a bronze arraymrmistoffelees has a bronze arraymrmistoffelees has a bronze arraymrmistoffelees has a bronze arraymrmistoffelees has a bronze arraymrmistoffelees has a bronze arraymrmistoffelees has a bronze arraymrmistoffelees has a bronze arraymrmistoffelees has a bronze arraymrmistoffelees has a bronze array
Re: Ethernet Recieve Buffer size

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul View Post
Which is why they are about as useful as an ashtray on a moterbike.

Unless you are only using your network card internally to connect devices, and they ALL support Jumbo frames, and ALL have a large MTU set.

They are of little/no use for Broadband.
Absolutely, as you say only any use for internal LAN.
__________________
Nerves of steel, heart of gold, knob of butter......
mrmistoffelees is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:23.


Server: curium.zmnt.uk
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.