Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Third party modem router to virgin media

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Computers & IT > Networking

Third party modem router to virgin media
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 26-09-2016, 17:15   #1
Waco
Inactive
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Scotland
Services: virgin media
Posts: 2
Waco is an unknown quantity at this point
Third party modem router to virgin media

Install a third party modem/router to the virgin media. Has anyone ever replaced their Virgin super-hub with a third party, more advanced unit?

I just have received from Amazon a TP-LINK AC1750 Wireless Dual Band DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem Router which much more advanced unit than the Virgin super-hub.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 1440043201000_IMG_524640.jpg (16.8 KB, 34 views)
Waco is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 26-09-2016, 18:07   #2
jb66
cf.mega poster
 
jb66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 5,210
jb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze array
jb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze arrayjb66 has a bronze array
Re: third party modem router to virgin media

Quote:
Originally Posted by Waco View Post
Install a third party modem/router to the virgin media. Has anyone ever replaced their Virgin super-hub with a third party, more advanced unit?

I just have received from Amazon a TP-LINK AC1750 Wireless Dual Band DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem Router which much more advanced unit than the Virgin super-hub.
Good news is amazon are good with returns, you cant replace the hub with your own unit. You need to put the virgin hub in modem mode and then attach a router to the hub
__________________
"The postings on this site are my own and don't necessarily represent Virgin Media's positions, strategies or opinions."
jb66 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2016, 18:18   #3
Paul M
Dr Pepper Addict
Cable Forum Team
 
Paul M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Nottingham
Age: 55
Services: VM Phone : Sky TV : VM Cable (350 Mbps) : Sky BB (38 Mbps)
Posts: 21,561
Paul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny stars
Paul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Third party modem router to virgin media

Quote:
Originally Posted by Waco View Post
Has anyone ever replaced their Virgin super-hub with a third party, more advanced unit?
No, becasue you cannot do that.

As above, you can put your SH into modem mode, and then attach your own router, but you cannot replace the SH itself.
__________________

Baby, I was born this way.
Paul M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2016, 20:00   #4
Waco
Inactive
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Scotland
Services: virgin media
Posts: 2
Waco is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Third party modem router to virgin media

Good new, I just add external antenna to router with great success.

Sent back the TP-Link Unit.

Thanks
Attached Images
File Type: png Capture Virgin Media.PNG (359.8 KB, 46 views)
Waco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-2018, 23:21   #5
Koromiko
cf.member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 1
Koromiko is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Third party modem router to virgin media

Slightly old thread....


So, I can't actually use another modem?? Anyone know why that is and if there's a way round that?

I do mean modem. My intention was to use a HWIC-CABLE-E/J-2 in a Cisco 1841

Koromiko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-2018, 23:26   #6
pip08456
Sad Doig Fan!
 
pip08456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Barry South Wales
Age: 61
Services: As I spend little time at home have an arrangemet to use a neighbours SKY connection for a small fee
Posts: 6,619
pip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze array
pip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze array
Re: Third party modem router to virgin media

Virgin will only activate their own modems on their network and only ones they've suppplied to you.

You can't even buy a Virgin hub off ebay and ask for it to be activated.
pip08456 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:38.


Server: xenon.zmnt.net
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.