Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Am I safe to cut this cable?

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Alternatives to Virgin Media > Other Telco Services Discussion

Am I safe to cut this cable?
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 21-12-2019, 15:39   #1
Halcyon
Hello !
 
Halcyon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: East Midlands
Services: VMedia 10mb
Posts: 15,726
Halcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered stars
Halcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered stars
Am I safe to cut this cable?

I have recently moved home and am looking at removing a cable that fed a phone extension upstairs as it looks awful hanging over the door and round the front of the house. See photo.
It is currently wired into the main outside box.

A few questions...

1) Is there any electric shock I could get if I cut it.

2) If I cut it could this added noise affect the other connections?

3) I imagine I can’t unhook it from the box as that is openreach property?

Thanks for your help.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg E974E4B0-6D2A-4C34-AC9C-56ABD7B0CE47.jpg (563.4 KB, 40 views)
__________________
.
-

Halcyon is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 21-12-2019, 21:14   #2
richard s
cf.mega poster
 
richard s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Near France
Services: Tivo XL 150mb broadband L phone
Posts: 1,764
richard s is the helpful onerichard s is the helpful onerichard s is the helpful onerichard s is the helpful onerichard s is the helpful onerichard s is the helpful onerichard s is the helpful onerichard s is the helpful onerichard s is the helpful onerichard s is the helpful onerichard s is the helpful onerichard s is the helpful onerichard s is the helpful onerichard s is the helpful onerichard s is the helpful onerichard s is the helpful onerichard s is the helpful one
Re: Am I safe to cut this cable?

https://community.bt.com/t5/Landline.../td-p/1013984#
__________________
CIVIL WAR ROUND 2...
richard s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-12-2019, 21:50   #3
pip08456
Sad Doig Fan!
 
pip08456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Barry South Wales
Age: 63
Services: Now back with VM for BB & phone. 50Mb service.
Posts: 8,774
pip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronze
pip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronze
Re: Am I safe to cut this cable?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Halcyon View Post
I have recently moved home and am looking at removing a cable that fed a phone extension upstairs as it looks awful hanging over the door and round the front of the house. See photo.
It is currently wired into the main outside box.

A few questions...

1) Is there any electric shock I could get if I cut it. No

2) If I cut it could this added noise affect the other connections? Possibly

3) I imagine I canít unhook it from the box as that is openreach property?

Thanks for your help. As it is an extension you can remove it. I think you'll find it terminates in the master socket.
pip08456 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 14:35.


Server: xenon.zmnt.net
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.