Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | V6 EPG, scrolling etc been freezing the past few days.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media TV Service

V6 EPG, scrolling etc been freezing the past few days.
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 22-07-2019, 12:44   #1
RichardCoulter
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 7,391
RichardCoulter has disabled reputation
V6 EPG, scrolling etc been freezing the past few days.

Over the past few days has anyone else found that navigating the EPG, scrolling down lists of programmes etc has been freezing?

The freeze lasts about 5 seconds, before things return to normal. It's getting really annoying now, but i'd like to know if it's my particular box that's doing it or if it's a system fault before calling them.
RichardCoulter is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 22-07-2019, 13:06   #2
spiderplant
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 7,634
spiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny star
spiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny star
Re: V6 EPG, scrolling etc been freezing the past few days.

Go into Settings -> Devices -> Remote Control Pairing and make sure the remote is paired to the box. Also try a box reboot.
spiderplant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-2019, 17:23   #3
RichardCoulter
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 7,391
RichardCoulter has disabled reputation
Re: V6 EPG, scrolling etc been freezing the past few days.

Will do
RichardCoulter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-2019, 17:30   #4
Raider999
cf.geek
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 953
Raider999 will become famous soon enoughRaider999 will become famous soon enoughRaider999 will become famous soon enough
Re: V6 EPG, scrolling etc been freezing the past few days.

Quote:
Originally Posted by RichardCoulter View Post
Over the past few days has anyone else found that navigating the EPG, scrolling down lists of programmes etc has been freezing?

The freeze lasts about 5 seconds, before things return to normal. It's getting really annoying now, but i'd like to know if it's my particular box that's doing it or if it's a system fault before calling them.

I had some similar problems yesterday evening - all buttons pressed on remote seemed to double up.

I.e. Up or down arrow in EPG moved up/down twice. Entering a channel number was impossible as enter 5 gave 55 etc
Raider999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-2019, 17:34   #5
ozsat
cf.geek
 
ozsat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Area 31 (Oxford)
Services: V6 TiVo (+MRS), VIVID500/35, Freeview HD, SkyQ UHD, FreesatHD, BTtv UHD, DAB+, Panasonic 4k/HDR
Posts: 986
ozsat has much to be proud ofozsat has much to be proud ofozsat has much to be proud ofozsat has much to be proud ofozsat has much to be proud ofozsat has much to be proud ofozsat has much to be proud ofozsat has much to be proud ofozsat has much to be proud ofozsat has much to be proud of
Re: V6 EPG, scrolling etc been freezing the past few days.

The doubling up of key presses is usually a new battery and re-pair required.
ozsat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-2019, 17:44   #6
heero_yuy
Perfect Soldier
 
heero_yuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Worthing West Sussex
Age: 62
Services: VM 70M SHUB thingy in modem mode XL TV VboxHD Sony Bravia smart TV and M phone
Posts: 15,363
heero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny stars
heero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny stars
Re: V6 EPG, scrolling etc been freezing the past few days.

Try "spinning" the batteries with your fingertip. Often poor connections rather than dead batteries are the issue.
__________________
History is much like an endless waltz. The three beats of war, peace and revolution continue on forever.
However history will change with my coronation - Mariemaia Kushrenada
heero_yuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-2019, 18:37   #7
RichardCoulter
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 7,391
RichardCoulter has disabled reputation
Re: V6 EPG, scrolling etc been freezing the past few days.

Quote:
Originally Posted by heero_yuy View Post
Try "spinning" the batteries with your fingertip. Often poor connections rather than dead batteries are the issue.
If I have no new batteries available due to them running out of power, i've found that swapping them over provides a temporary fix.

---------- Post added at 18:37 ---------- Previous post was at 18:34 ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by ozsat View Post
The doubling up of key presses is usually a new battery and re-pair required.
I get this intermittently too. There is a short burst of audio white noise (with some beeps that sound like an old dial up modem) and the remote won't then work properly. The only way to clear it is to do a reboot.
RichardCoulter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-07-2019, 13:13   #8
Joedm45
cf.geek
 
Joedm45's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Beyond The Sun
Posts: 632
Joedm45 has a reputation beyond reputeJoedm45 has a reputation beyond reputeJoedm45 has a reputation beyond reputeJoedm45 has a reputation beyond reputeJoedm45 has a reputation beyond reputeJoedm45 has a reputation beyond reputeJoedm45 has a reputation beyond reputeJoedm45 has a reputation beyond reputeJoedm45 has a reputation beyond reputeJoedm45 has a reputation beyond reputeJoedm45 has a reputation beyond reputeJoedm45 has a reputation beyond reputeJoedm45 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: V6 EPG, scrolling etc been freezing the past few days.

The box will tell you the % level of the batteries.

It's hidden in the menu system somewhere, unfortunately not at home to check exactly where
Joedm45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-07-2019, 17:14   #9
OLD BOY
Experience is everything
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Wokingham
Services: 2 V6 boxes; Full House; Now TV, Amazon and Netflix; VM broadband and landline
Posts: 9,713
OLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze array
OLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze array
Re: V6 EPG, scrolling etc been freezing the past few days.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joedm45 View Post
The box will tell you the % level of the batteries.

It's hidden in the menu system somewhere, unfortunately not at home to check exactly where
Thatís useful! If you discover how to do this, please tell!
OLD BOY is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 26-07-2019, 17:20   #10
RichardCoulter
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 7,391
RichardCoulter has disabled reputation
Re: V6 EPG, scrolling etc been freezing the past few days.

This would be useful as it turned out that my problem was the batteries (even though they were fairly new).
RichardCoulter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-07-2019, 19:19   #11
newapollo
cf.member
 
newapollo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 56
newapollo is a glorious beacon of lightnewapollo is a glorious beacon of lightnewapollo is a glorious beacon of lightnewapollo is a glorious beacon of lightnewapollo is a glorious beacon of lightnewapollo is a glorious beacon of lightnewapollo is a glorious beacon of light
Re: V6 EPG, scrolling etc been freezing the past few days.

Quote:
Originally Posted by OLD BOY View Post
Thatís useful! If you discover how to do this, please tell!
Go to Help and Settings > System Info > System Info (again) > scroll down to 3rd page, and it's the 5th line down

newapollo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-07-2019, 19:22   #12
Joedm45
cf.geek
 
Joedm45's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Beyond The Sun
Posts: 632
Joedm45 has a reputation beyond reputeJoedm45 has a reputation beyond reputeJoedm45 has a reputation beyond reputeJoedm45 has a reputation beyond reputeJoedm45 has a reputation beyond reputeJoedm45 has a reputation beyond reputeJoedm45 has a reputation beyond reputeJoedm45 has a reputation beyond reputeJoedm45 has a reputation beyond reputeJoedm45 has a reputation beyond reputeJoedm45 has a reputation beyond reputeJoedm45 has a reputation beyond reputeJoedm45 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: V6 EPG, scrolling etc been freezing the past few days.

Quote:
Originally Posted by OLD BOY View Post
Thatís useful! If you discover how to do this, please tell!
No worries, here goes:

Home - Help & Settings - System Info - System Info (again) - Press down arrow twice

RF remote battery level is 5th line down

Hope that helps

---------- Post added at 19:22 ---------- Previous post was at 19:21 ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by newapollo View Post
Go to Help and Settings > System Info > System Info (again) > scroll down to 3rd page, and it's the 5th line down

Beat me to it... Almost word for word
Joedm45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-07-2019, 19:25   #13
newapollo
cf.member
 
newapollo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 56
newapollo is a glorious beacon of lightnewapollo is a glorious beacon of lightnewapollo is a glorious beacon of lightnewapollo is a glorious beacon of lightnewapollo is a glorious beacon of lightnewapollo is a glorious beacon of lightnewapollo is a glorious beacon of light
Re: V6 EPG, scrolling etc been freezing the past few days.

Quote:
Beat me to it... Almost word for word
Great minds think alike
newapollo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-07-2019, 20:58   #14
spiderplant
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 7,634
spiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny star
spiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny star
Re: V6 EPG, scrolling etc been freezing the past few days.

If anyone is still getting the double key presses, I'd be interested to know what battery level it reports.
spiderplant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-07-2019, 21:05   #15
Mr K
Lefty Liberal Remoaner
 
Mr K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Services: TV, Phone, BB, a goldfish
Posts: 5,345
Mr K has a bronzed appealMr K has a bronzed appeal
Mr K has a bronzed appealMr K has a bronzed appealMr K has a bronzed appealMr K has a bronzed appealMr K has a bronzed appealMr K has a bronzed appealMr K has a bronzed appealMr K has a bronzed appealMr K has a bronzed appealMr K has a bronzed appealMr K has a bronzed appealMr K has a bronzed appealMr K has a bronzed appealMr K has a bronzed appealMr K has a bronzed appealMr K has a bronzed appealMr K has a bronzed appealMr K has a bronzed appealMr K has a bronzed appealMr K has a bronzed appeal
Re: V6 EPG, scrolling etc been freezing the past few days.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joedm45 View Post
No worries, here goes:

Home - Help & Settings - System Info - System Info (again) - Press down arrow twice

RF remote battery level is 5th line down

Hope that helps

---------- Post added at 19:22 ---------- Previous post was at 19:21 ----------



Beat me to it... Almost word for word
Fantastic ! At last a way to test the quality of those suspect Poundland batteries
Mr K is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 15:42.


Server: xenon.zmnt.net
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.