Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | How long have you had cable BB

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media Internet Service

How long have you had cable BB
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-02-2021, 20:53   #1
Paul
Dr Pepper Addict
Cable Forum Team
 
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Nottingham
Services: VM Phone : Sky Mobile : Sky TV : VM BB (350 Mbps) : Vodafone BB (38 Mbps)
Posts: 23,381
Paul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered stars
Paul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered stars
How long have you had cable BB

A comment in the retentions topic got me wondering how long people have had cable.

For me, its just under 22 years, I had a cable modem, and two phone lines installed in mid June 1999, when it was still Diamond Cable around here (my phone sockets are still the originals, with the diamond logo on them). NTL took over DC not long after.
__________________

Baby, I was born this way.
Paul is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 05-02-2021, 21:09   #2
ash45
cf.member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Services: M500
Posts: 17
ash45 is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: How long have you had cable BB

had it since 1995 when Yorkshire cable first laid in Barnsley at my mums , although we did leave for a while when VM lost the sky channels as my mum was a big watcher of sky one back then, So switched to sky for TV/BB as it didn't work out good cost wise to keep the VM broadband at the time with sky tv and the speeds weren't really that much different anyway at the time, soon as the sky channels come back we moved back and ive always had it since moving away so bar that odd year or so about 26 years

EDIT missed the BB bit We had TV/Phone from 1995 then BB soon as it was rolled out after TW took over

Last edited by ash45; 05-02-2021 at 21:18.
ash45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2021, 21:22   #3
daveeb
cf.geek
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Leeds
Posts: 841
daveeb is the helpful onedaveeb is the helpful onedaveeb is the helpful onedaveeb is the helpful onedaveeb is the helpful onedaveeb is the helpful onedaveeb is the helpful onedaveeb is the helpful onedaveeb is the helpful onedaveeb is the helpful onedaveeb is the helpful onedaveeb is the helpful onedaveeb is the helpful onedaveeb is the helpful onedaveeb is the helpful onedaveeb is the helpful onedaveeb is the helpful one
Re: How long have you had cable BB

Mid 90's 1994 or 1995. Think it was either Bell cablemedia or Jones cable, can't remember which one came first. I can't remember how much it was but we had a salesman visit to seal the deal, little did he know we would have snatched his hand off at the time whatever it cost.
daveeb is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2021, 21:39   #4
copernob
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 139
copernob can only hope to improve
Re: How long have you had cable BB

Can't remember the date but I signed on with NTLWORLD the second day they switched on in Swansea. Telephone days and Sun News. lol. Quite a few years ago now and could of been late 1990s not sure.
copernob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2021, 21:48   #5
Martin_D
cf.geek
 
Martin_D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Services: BT FTTP | BT Sims 2 | Sipgate VoIP | Plex
Posts: 859
Martin_D is a name known to allMartin_D is a name known to allMartin_D is a name known to allMartin_D is a name known to allMartin_D is a name known to allMartin_D is a name known to allMartin_D is a name known to allMartin_D is a name known to all
Re: How long have you had cable BB

Joined telewest in 1999 until middle of 2020 now on BT FTTP
__________________
Building the next generation of broadband not just faster but smarter
Martin_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2021, 22:18   #6
david_w2k
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Dorset
Posts: 192
david_w2k is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: How long have you had cable BB

Had unlimited dial up on NTLWORLD and then won a competition on the original NTHellworld to get 6 months free BB - must have been back in 2002/2003! I was in school then and finally got broadband lol

Last edited by david_w2k; 05-02-2021 at 22:22.
david_w2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2021, 22:27   #7
Rankrotten
Artist of Light and Shade
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Glasgow
Services: Gig 1
Posts: 216
Rankrotten is on a distinguished roadRankrotten is on a distinguished road
Re: How long have you had cable BB

CableTel Glasgow (ex Clyde CableVision) 1995 with ISDN dial up, then broadband 512k in 1999 with the 150 purchase of a 3Com CMX cable modem. Still have it in a drawer.
Rankrotten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2021, 22:54   #8
Jaymoss
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 109
Jaymoss is just really niceJaymoss is just really niceJaymoss is just really niceJaymoss is just really niceJaymoss is just really niceJaymoss is just really nice
Re: How long have you had cable BB

nearly 20 years. 512kbps was the bomb back then

Had TV first with Comtel bought soon after by NTL .Had dial up with ukonline then AOL until the cable modems were available . I remember the weekly calls "is it here yet"
Jaymoss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2021, 23:02   #9
Chris
Trollsplatter
Cable Forum Team
 
Chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: North of Watford
Services: Humane elimination of all common Internet pests
Posts: 33,637
Chris has a golden auraChris has a golden aura
Chris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden aura
Re: How long have you had cable BB

I joined NTL in around 2001 and was a customer for ... 3 years. Gave it up when we moved house and went off-net, although we did have Virgin dial up and then ADSL at our new address, until they closed the service.
Chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2021, 23:03   #10
copernob
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 139
copernob can only hope to improve
Re: How long have you had cable BB

It was so SloooooooooW back then and paid via the Phone.
copernob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2021, 23:12   #11
BenMcr
Virgin Media Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Manchester
Services: V6 x2, Maxit TV, Sky Sports and Sky Cinema. Gig1
Posts: 17,141
BenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny stars
BenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny stars
Re: How long have you had cable BB

Originally a Videotron user at my parent's home near Southampton around 1995 when I persuade them to get cable TV with the 'free phoneline' and we joined an ISP that offered zero rated calls for a monthly subscription fee for cable phone customers. That was like winning the lottery when you managed to dial in to a spare modem line!

Didn't get cable broadband for myself till several city moves later in 2010 when my current address in Manchester got a connected through a small fill in dig.
__________________
I work for Virgin Media but all views are my own.
BenMcr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2021, 23:27   #12
Paul
Dr Pepper Addict
Cable Forum Team
 
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Nottingham
Services: VM Phone : Sky Mobile : Sky TV : VM BB (350 Mbps) : Vodafone BB (38 Mbps)
Posts: 23,381
Paul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered stars
Paul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered stars
Re: How long have you had cable BB

Before Diamond cabled our area (we were one of the last they did) I was actually on virgin.net dialup for about 3 years - so ended up going full circle.
__________________

Baby, I was born this way.
Paul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2021, 23:31   #13
raging bull
cf.geek
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Services: Tivo V6 - L TV/XL Phone /200Mb BB
Posts: 839
raging bull has a fine set of Quadsraging bull has a fine set of Quadsraging bull has a fine set of Quadsraging bull has a fine set of Quadsraging bull has a fine set of Quadsraging bull has a fine set of Quadsraging bull has a fine set of Quadsraging bull has a fine set of Quadsraging bull has a fine set of Quadsraging bull has a fine set of Quadsraging bull has a fine set of Quadsraging bull has a fine set of Quadsraging bull has a fine set of Quadsraging bull has a fine set of Quads
Re: How long have you had cable BB

Sometime in the 1990's, using C&W analogue messaging via the STB.
Customer service supplied from Leeds (Seacroft) even pay to contact them.
512Kb service over the phone line using inbuilt computer modem for the kids.
raging bull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2021, 23:39   #14
spiderplant
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 8,113
spiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny stars
spiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny stars
Re: How long have you had cable BB

I've never lived anywhere that had cable
spiderplant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2021, 23:42   #15
SnoopZ
CF Resident Dog
 
SnoopZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 12,543
SnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny stars
SnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny stars
Re: How long have you had cable BB

I got a Cambridge Cable 600Kb connection around 2000 which then got bought by NTL which got rebranded into Virginmedia.

I have no other high-speed options in my village.
__________________
PSN: Snoopzster
SnoopZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 13:26.


Server: curium.zmnt.uk
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.