Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Wi-Fi upgrade email

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media Internet Service

Wi-Fi upgrade email
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 21-02-2021, 13:58   #16
broadbandking
cf.mega poster
 
broadbandking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: At My Desk
Services: Virgin Media V6 XL TV - 1Gb Broadband
Posts: 3,001
broadbandking has a bronze arraybroadbandking has a bronze arraybroadbandking has a bronze array
broadbandking has a bronze arraybroadbandking has a bronze arraybroadbandking has a bronze array
Re: Wi-Fi upgrade email

Superhub 4 seems to stay in mode only mode and still using my TP Link deco for my wireless.
__________________
My Broadband Ping
broadbandking is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 21-02-2021, 14:20   #17
Hugh
Hic Sunt Dracones
Cable Forum Team
 
Hugh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Age: 64
Services: Premiere Collection
Posts: 36,426
Hugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden aura
Hugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden aura
Re: Wi-Fi upgrade email

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brunel View Post
It is no longer possible to have Wi-Fi turned off so that you can use your own access points instead of Hub.

If Wi-Fi is disabled on Hub, it will auto re-enable, with one SSID
I disabled wifi on our Hub3 on the 3rd November (when it was delivered) - I use Google Mesh for wifi, and it’s still disabled.
__________________
There is always light.
If only we’re brave enough to see it.
If only we’re brave enough to be it
.
If my post is in bold and this colour, it's a Moderator Request.

Last edited by Hugh; 21-02-2021 at 14:32.
Hugh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-02-2021, 15:24   #18
cje85
cf.member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 42
cje85 is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Wi-Fi upgrade email

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brunel View Post
Looking at the Wi-Fi signals using WiFianalyzer, I notice a very large signal eminating from the Hub3 marked as .. Hidden SSID both on 2.4Ghz & 5Ghz.
neither of these are visible in the normal Wi-Fi network settings on my 'phone.
Both have a completely different MAC address.
The hidden SSID is most likely to be another device on your network. Amazon Fire/Roku/NowTV/Chromecast all create a hidden network as do many smart devices.

Entering the MAC address on https://macvendors.com/ might show you what it is, the Hub's MAC will display "ARRIS Group, Inc.".
cje85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-02-2021, 16:26   #19
Brunel
Chief Mechanical Engineer
 
Brunel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: WEST RIDING of YORKSHIRE.
Services: V.M. VIVID 100 November 6 2018. Finally connected.
Posts: 184
Brunel will become famous soon enoughBrunel will become famous soon enoughBrunel will become famous soon enough
Re: Wi-Fi upgrade email

I do not have any of these so called "smart devices"

It was strongest close to the Hub3.

It immediately disappeard when I dist. the Hub3 power.

It is now no longer showing.
Brunel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-02-2021, 17:57   #20
tonycee
cf.member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Harrogate
Services: V6 100 broadband
Posts: 42
tonycee is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Wi-Fi upgrade email

[QUOTE=Brunel;36071514]I do not have any of these so called "smart devices"

Could it be a wi-fi printer?
tonycee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-02-2021, 18:32   #21
Brunel
Chief Mechanical Engineer
 
Brunel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: WEST RIDING of YORKSHIRE.
Services: V.M. VIVID 100 November 6 2018. Finally connected.
Posts: 184
Brunel will become famous soon enoughBrunel will become famous soon enoughBrunel will become famous soon enough
Re: Wi-Fi upgrade email

Could it be a wi-fi printer?

No... my old printer is cable connect only.
Brunel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-02-2021, 19:09   #22
cje85
cf.member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 42
cje85 is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Wi-Fi upgrade email

Whatever it is, it's definitely not from the hub. The second screenshot shows the hidden network is a different bandwidth (40Mhz) and also considerably stronger.
cje85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-02-2021, 20:46   #23
admars
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,453
admars has reached the bronze age
admars has reached the bronze ageadmars has reached the bronze ageadmars has reached the bronze ageadmars has reached the bronze age
Re: Wi-Fi upgrade email

have you been vaccinated against anything recently
admars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-02-2021, 21:40   #24
philwhite100
This tastes nice
 
philwhite100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Hindley Green Wigan
Services: TiVo V6 - 500mb -
Posts: 546
philwhite100 is just really nicephilwhite100 is just really nicephilwhite100 is just really nicephilwhite100 is just really nicephilwhite100 is just really nicephilwhite100 is just really nice
Send a message via ICQ to philwhite100
Re: Wi-Fi upgrade email

I got the email too. Does not affect me as i use a separate router and the hub is in Modem mode.
__________________
I once had Amnesia, i remember it well !!!
philwhite100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-02-2021, 23:24   #25
Paul
Dr Pepper Addict
Cable Forum Team
 
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Nottingham
Services: VM Phone : Sky Mobile : Sky TV : VM BB (350 Mbps) : Vodafone BB (38 Mbps)
Posts: 23,400
Paul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered stars
Paul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered stars
Re: Wi-Fi upgrade email

Quote:
Originally Posted by philwhite100 View Post
I got the email too. Does not affect me as i use a separate router and the hub is in Modem mode.
No it doesnt.

My hub is also in moden mode.
__________________

Baby, I was born this way.
Paul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-02-2021, 15:44   #26
SirThomas
cf.addict
 
SirThomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: PO9 - Havant
Services: Vodafone 80x20 Backup, MixTV & V6, Vivid 350, Hub3 & RT-AC87u
Posts: 100
SirThomas is a jewel in the roughSirThomas is a jewel in the roughSirThomas is a jewel in the roughSirThomas is a jewel in the roughSirThomas is a jewel in the rough
Re: Wi-Fi upgrade email

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brunel View Post
I do not have any of these so called "smart devices"

It was strongest close to the Hub3.
It immediately disappeard when I dist. the Hub3 power.
It is now no longer showing.
You've opted out of 'Virgin WiFi', yeah?
https://my.virginmedia.com/my-profile/view
2021-02-22_14-41-09.png

I had a very strong mystery WiFi network showing until I realised that it must be my neighbours hub broadcasting the Virgin WiFi signal!

Tom
SirThomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-02-2021, 17:26   #27
Brunel
Chief Mechanical Engineer
 
Brunel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: WEST RIDING of YORKSHIRE.
Services: V.M. VIVID 100 November 6 2018. Finally connected.
Posts: 184
Brunel will become famous soon enoughBrunel will become famous soon enoughBrunel will become famous soon enough
Re: Wi-Fi upgrade email

"You've opted out of 'Virgin WiFi', yeah?" YEAH!
Brunel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-02-2021, 20:21   #28
Mad Max
cf.mega poster
 
Mad Max's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 3,281
Mad Max has a bronzed appealMad Max has a bronzed appeal
Mad Max has a bronzed appealMad Max has a bronzed appealMad Max has a bronzed appealMad Max has a bronzed appealMad Max has a bronzed appealMad Max has a bronzed appealMad Max has a bronzed appealMad Max has a bronzed appealMad Max has a bronzed appealMad Max has a bronzed appealMad Max has a bronzed appealMad Max has a bronzed appealMad Max has a bronzed appeal
Re: Wi-Fi upgrade email

I got this email too, cannot say that I see any difference in the WiFi signal.
Mad Max is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-02-2021, 15:00   #29
Brunel
Chief Mechanical Engineer
 
Brunel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: WEST RIDING of YORKSHIRE.
Services: V.M. VIVID 100 November 6 2018. Finally connected.
Posts: 184
Brunel will become famous soon enoughBrunel will become famous soon enoughBrunel will become famous soon enough
Re: Wi-Fi upgrade email

As previous, no matter how many times I disable the hub 3 wireless, it keeps on re- activating.
Brunel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-02-2021, 18:22   #30
SnoopZ
CF Resident Dog
 
SnoopZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 12,555
SnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny stars
SnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Wi-Fi upgrade email

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brunel View Post
As previous, no matter how many times I disable the hub 3 wireless, it keeps on re- activating.
How long does it take to reactivate?

Do you turn the hub off at night?
__________________
PSN: Snoopzster
SnoopZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:33.


Server: curium.zmnt.uk
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.