Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Can VM cable be laid...?

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media Installation Issues

Can VM cable be laid...?
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-01-2022, 22:56   #1
cjw
cf.member
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
Posts: 1
cjw is an unknown quantity at this point
Can VM cable be laid...?

Hi,

Last tuesday VM engineer contractors came to start the external work, but my front garden has a raised decking with flower beds because of my disability. They told my PA/Carer it would have to be ripped out for them to lay the cable. My PA suggested going along a border that I have got running along the steps, but they said no, the only option is to rip the decking or nothing.

I've been onto VM manager and he actually told me that I had refused all the options the engineer gave me and I said no, he only gave me one and wasn't interested in anything else.

So, hopefully on Monday as requested the field manager will come out.

My question is as I've searching and seen videos. Does the cable have to be put underground or can it be traced along the public pathway to my path entrance and run upto my doorway in the border, this can be dug in or left exposed.

Something else I was told by this manager today. the cable from the public pathway to the router my laid diagonally across the garden. Why and is that true?

Thanks,

cjw
cjw is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 07-01-2022, 23:48   #2
ScottishSteve
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 376
ScottishSteve is a glorious beacon of lightScottishSteve is a glorious beacon of lightScottishSteve is a glorious beacon of lightScottishSteve is a glorious beacon of lightScottishSteve is a glorious beacon of lightScottishSteve is a glorious beacon of lightScottishSteve is a glorious beacon of light
Re: Can VM cable be laid...?

Mine comes in at the bottom of my garden and is fixed round my garden wall to the house.

The original install team said it would be better to do it that way rather than risk damaging the cable if ever doing any garden work.

Last edited by ScottishSteve; 08-01-2022 at 00:17.
ScottishSteve is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2022, 17:43   #3
Pierre
The Dark Satanic Mills
 
Pierre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: floating in the ether
Posts: 10,265
Pierre has a pair of shiny starsPierre has a pair of shiny starsPierre has a pair of shiny stars
Pierre has a pair of shiny starsPierre has a pair of shiny starsPierre has a pair of shiny starsPierre has a pair of shiny starsPierre has a pair of shiny starsPierre has a pair of shiny starsPierre has a pair of shiny starsPierre has a pair of shiny starsPierre has a pair of shiny starsPierre has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Can VM cable be laid...?

The cable can laid any way possible to get the house, it doesn’t need to below ground.
__________________
The wheel's still turning but the hamsters dead.
Pierre is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:06.


Server: curium.zmnt.uk
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.