Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Virgin Boosting Speeds

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media Internet Service

Virgin Boosting Speeds
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 16-03-2023, 07:06   #76
Synthetic
cf.geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Newcastle
Posts: 785
Synthetic is a name known to allSynthetic is a name known to allSynthetic is a name known to allSynthetic is a name known to allSynthetic is a name known to allSynthetic is a name known to allSynthetic is a name known to allSynthetic is a name known to all
Re: Virgin Boosting Speeds

Seems to be random, nothing here on the Gateshead headend yet, we've had the extra upstreams for ages
Synthetic is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 21-03-2023, 11:20   #77
mike86
cf.addict
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 137
mike86 is on a distinguished roadmike86 is on a distinguished road
Re: Virgin Boosting Speeds

I have 5x QAM64. Are those the extra upstreams you mean?
mike86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-03-2023, 18:39   #78
Chrysalis
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Services: Gig1, Hub 5
Posts: 12,044
Chrysalis is cast in bronzeChrysalis is cast in bronzeChrysalis is cast in bronzeChrysalis is cast in bronze
Chrysalis is cast in bronze
Re: Virgin Boosting Speeds

Quote:
Originally Posted by mike86 View Post
I have 5x QAM64. Are those the extra upstreams you mean?
Yes before was just 4x QAM64, also you likely have a 3.1 DOCISIS upstream as well (not visible on hub5, and wont be used on hub 3 or older).
Chrysalis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-03-2023, 09:17   #79
SnoopZ
CF Resident Dog
 
SnoopZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 14,320
SnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny stars
SnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Virgin Boosting Speeds

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chrysalis View Post
Yes before was just 4x QAM64, also you likely have a 3.1 DOCISIS upstream as well (not visible on hub5, and wont be used on hub 3 or older).
So there is no way of finding out if I have a 3.1 upstream on my Hub5 or does something show up in the network log?
__________________
PSN: Snoopzster
SnoopZ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 22-03-2023, 16:53   #80
Chrysalis
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Services: Gig1, Hub 5
Posts: 12,044
Chrysalis is cast in bronzeChrysalis is cast in bronzeChrysalis is cast in bronzeChrysalis is cast in bronze
Chrysalis is cast in bronze
Re: Virgin Boosting Speeds

Its in the network log, will be along the lines of US profile assignment change.
Chrysalis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-03-2023, 18:55   #81
Broken Hope
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 163
Broken Hope has disabled reputation
Re: Virgin Boosting Speeds

Guessing this means I have the 3.1 upstream.

US profile assignment change. US Chan ID: 6

CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1
Broken Hope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-03-2023, 22:38   #82
SnoopZ
CF Resident Dog
 
SnoopZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 14,320
SnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny stars
SnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Virgin Boosting Speeds

Quote:
Originally Posted by Broken Hope View Post
Guessing this means I have the 3.1 upstream.

US profile assignment change. US Chan ID: 6

CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1
I've got this too.
__________________
PSN: Snoopzster
SnoopZ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2023, 17:26   #83
Chrysalis
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Services: Gig1, Hub 5
Posts: 12,044
Chrysalis is cast in bronzeChrysalis is cast in bronzeChrysalis is cast in bronzeChrysalis is cast in bronze
Chrysalis is cast in bronze
Re: Virgin Boosting Speeds

Quote:
Originally Posted by Broken Hope View Post
Guessing this means I have the 3.1 upstream.

US profile assignment change. US Chan ID: 6

CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1
Looks good.
Chrysalis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-03-2023, 21:46   #84
telfordcable
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Telford
Services: 5G Three 599/21
Posts: 1,299
telfordcable has upset the applecarttelfordcable has upset the applecarttelfordcable has upset the applecarttelfordcable has upset the applecarttelfordcable has upset the applecarttelfordcable has upset the applecarttelfordcable has upset the applecarttelfordcable has upset the applecarttelfordcable has upset the applecarttelfordcable has upset the applecarttelfordcable has upset the applecarttelfordcable has upset the applecarttelfordcable has upset the applecarttelfordcable has upset the applecarttelfordcable has upset the applecarttelfordcable has upset the applecart
Re: Virgin Boosting Speeds

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hugh View Post


Happy with this (especially since I downgraded to the 100Mb package, which then got doubled with Volt Boost).

Yawn!!!!

My 5G beat that! 1125Meg down and 152Meg up! £12 a month for no contract with smarty social tariff total unlimited!
telfordcable is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-03-2023, 09:23   #85
Hugh
laeva recumbens anguis
Cable Forum Team
 
Hugh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Age: 67
Services: Premiere Collection
Posts: 42,145
Hugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden aura
Hugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden aura
Re: Virgin Boosting Speeds

[img]Download Failed (1)[/img]

Your speed tests are obviously derived from the square root of a negative number…
__________________
There is always light.
If only we’re brave enough to see it.
If only we’re brave enough to be it
.
If my post is in bold and this colour, it's a Moderator Request.

Last edited by Hugh; 30-03-2023 at 09:46.
Hugh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2023, 17:28   #86
sevsman
cf.member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 12
sevsman is on a distinguished roadsevsman is on a distinguished road
Re: Virgin Boosting Speeds

So, maybe a pinch of salt needed, but I really hope not!!
Today I dealt with retentions and after accepting a new 18 month contract at £40 for the gig connected got started talking "off the record" about the upload speeds and I was told that within the next 2-3 months the gig customers will be getting the same 100mbps upload boost that the business customers now get as a standard.

Here's to hoping!!
sevsman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-2023, 12:10   #87
Jimmy-J
as common as muck
 
Jimmy-J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Dirty Old Town
Posts: 3,515
Jimmy-J has a bronze arrayJimmy-J has a bronze arrayJimmy-J has a bronze array
Jimmy-J has a bronze arrayJimmy-J has a bronze arrayJimmy-J has a bronze arrayJimmy-J has a bronze arrayJimmy-J has a bronze arrayJimmy-J has a bronze arrayJimmy-J has a bronze arrayJimmy-J has a bronze arrayJimmy-J has a bronze arrayJimmy-J has a bronze array
Re: Virgin Boosting Speeds

Quote:
Originally Posted by sevsman View Post
So, maybe a pinch of salt needed, but I really hope not!!
Today I dealt with retentions and after accepting a new 18 month contract at £40 for the gig connected got started talking "off the record" about the upload speeds and I was told that within the next 2-3 months the gig customers will be getting the same 100mbps upload boost that the business customers now get as a standard.

Here's to hoping!!
Do you have any other services with Virgin?
__________________
I'm not afraid of dying, I just don't want to be there when it happens. -Woody Allen

Jimmy-J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-2023, 20:08   #88
Synthetic
cf.geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Newcastle
Posts: 785
Synthetic is a name known to allSynthetic is a name known to allSynthetic is a name known to allSynthetic is a name known to allSynthetic is a name known to allSynthetic is a name known to allSynthetic is a name known to allSynthetic is a name known to all
Re: Virgin Boosting Speeds

Quote:
Originally Posted by sevsman View Post
So, maybe a pinch of salt needed, but I really hope not!!
Today I dealt with retentions and after accepting a new 18 month contract at £40 for the gig connected got started talking "off the record" about the upload speeds and I was told that within the next 2-3 months the gig customers will be getting the same 100mbps upload boost that the business customers now get as a standard.

Here's to hoping!!
Yes as per this thread, this has been rolling out for a few weeks at least now
Synthetic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2023, 07:14   #89
sevsman
cf.member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 12
sevsman is on a distinguished roadsevsman is on a distinguished road
Re: Virgin Boosting Speeds

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimmy-J View Post
Do you have any other services with Virgin?
I had 1gb and telephone but dropped the telephone as it was £1 cheaper without it and I've never had it plugged in anyway.
I was leaving though and had already decided on a new supplier so they had to work hard to keep me.
sevsman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-05-2023, 20:40   #90
humey
cf.member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 60
humey will become famous soon enoughhumey will become famous soon enoughhumey will become famous soon enough
Re: Virgin Boosting Speeds

I am many others (VM Forum and Reddit) got the increase today and some were getting it here and there the past months (dependant on area).

Apparently RFoG customers will not be able to get it.
humey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 23:46.


Server: osmium.zmnt.uk
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.