Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | What kind of computer are you using?

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Computers & IT > General IT Discussion

What kind of computer are you using?
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 13-03-2018, 18:34   #16
nashville
nashville
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Rutherglen. Glasgow
Services: Virgin Media
Posts: 4,125
nashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronze
nashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronzenashville is cast in bronze
Re: What kind of computer are you using?

1have Windows 10 which was upgraded from Windows 7". But I use my IPad more than my PC ,
nashville is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 13-03-2018, 18:47   #17
Ken W
cf.mega poster
 
Ken W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Winnersh UK
Services: LL Phone, TiVo, M+ VM mobile, BBand 150M tier Superhub, TIVO 500 M+
Posts: 1,595
Ken W has a reputation beyond reputeKen W has a reputation beyond reputeKen W has a reputation beyond reputeKen W has a reputation beyond reputeKen W has a reputation beyond reputeKen W has a reputation beyond reputeKen W has a reputation beyond reputeKen W has a reputation beyond reputeKen W has a reputation beyond reputeKen W has a reputation beyond reputeKen W has a reputation beyond reputeKen W has a reputation beyond reputeKen W has a reputation beyond repute
Re: What kind of computer are you using?

ACER laptop 1612 Pentium Centrino 1.6 MHz 1 meg RAM and windows 7 originally Windows XP, it is very slow.
Ken W is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2018, 19:14   #18
heero_yuy
Perfect Soldier
 
heero_yuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Worthing West Sussex
Age: 61
Services: VM 70M SHUB thingy in modem mode XL TV VboxHD Sony Bravia smart TV and M phone
Posts: 14,705
heero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny stars
heero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny stars
Re: What kind of computer are you using?

Quote:
Quote from Ken W:

ACER laptop 1612 Pentium Centrino 1.6 MHz 1 meg RAM and windows 7 originally Windows XP, it is very slow.
Max out your RAM and fit an SSD for the main OS. Not too costly but will reward you in spades. No need to upgrade the OS.
__________________
History is much like an endless waltz. The three beats of war, peace and revolution continue on forever.
However history will change with my coronation - Mariemaia Kushrenada
heero_yuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2018, 20:13   #19
Ken W
cf.mega poster
 
Ken W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Winnersh UK
Services: LL Phone, TiVo, M+ VM mobile, BBand 150M tier Superhub, TIVO 500 M+
Posts: 1,595
Ken W has a reputation beyond reputeKen W has a reputation beyond reputeKen W has a reputation beyond reputeKen W has a reputation beyond reputeKen W has a reputation beyond reputeKen W has a reputation beyond reputeKen W has a reputation beyond reputeKen W has a reputation beyond reputeKen W has a reputation beyond reputeKen W has a reputation beyond reputeKen W has a reputation beyond reputeKen W has a reputation beyond reputeKen W has a reputation beyond repute
Re: What kind of computer are you using?

Quote:
Originally Posted by heero_yuy View Post
Max out your RAM and fit an SSD for the main OS. Not too costly but will reward you in spades. No need to upgrade the OS.


The RAM is maxed. I think it is better to go for a new and faster pc, perhaps a i5 or i7
Ken W is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14-03-2018, 00:59   #20
Gavin78
Ice Cold
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Leeds, Seacroft
Age: 40
Services: XL TV M Phone 200MB BB
Posts: 1,377
Gavin78 has a fine set of QuadsGavin78 has a fine set of QuadsGavin78 has a fine set of QuadsGavin78 has a fine set of QuadsGavin78 has a fine set of QuadsGavin78 has a fine set of QuadsGavin78 has a fine set of QuadsGavin78 has a fine set of QuadsGavin78 has a fine set of QuadsGavin78 has a fine set of QuadsGavin78 has a fine set of QuadsGavin78 has a fine set of QuadsGavin78 has a fine set of QuadsGavin78 has a fine set of Quads
Re: What kind of computer are you using?

I have a 4690k, Asus turbo 1060 and 16gb ram. currently have 4 HD's 500gb main SSD the rest are 3 x 2TB and a 3TB nas drive
Gavin78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-03-2018, 06:05   #21
Sirius
#HadEnoughOfWin10
 
Sirius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 16,385
Sirius has a lot of silver blingSirius has a lot of silver blingSirius has a lot of silver blingSirius has a lot of silver blingSirius has a lot of silver blingSirius has a lot of silver blingSirius has a lot of silver bling
Sirius has a lot of silver blingSirius has a lot of silver blingSirius has a lot of silver blingSirius has a lot of silver blingSirius has a lot of silver blingSirius has a lot of silver blingSirius has a lot of silver blingSirius has a lot of silver blingSirius has a lot of silver blingSirius has a lot of silver bling
Re: What kind of computer are you using?

Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4790K CPU @ 4.00GHz

Video Card NVIDIA GeForce GTX 780 Ti

Video Card #2 NVIDIA GeForce GTX 780 Ti

RAM 16 GB

Operating System Microsoft Windows 10 (build 16299), 64-bit

Home built to play Elite Dangerous
__________________
Imagine the mess Comrade Corbyn would make if he got in power
Sirius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-03-2018, 06:53   #22
Dude111
An Awesome Dude
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,798
Dude111 has reached the bronze age
Dude111 has reached the bronze ageDude111 has reached the bronze ageDude111 has reached the bronze ageDude111 has reached the bronze ageDude111 has reached the bronze ageDude111 has reached the bronze ageDude111 has reached the bronze ageDude111 has reached the bronze ageDude111 has reached the bronze age
Thanks for sharing everyone,its nice seeing we all have different stuff we love
Dude111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-03-2018, 09:21   #23
jonbxx
cf.geek
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Rickmansworth, Herts
Age: 47
Services: VM VIP Pack
Posts: 740
jonbxx is the helpful onejonbxx is the helpful onejonbxx is the helpful onejonbxx is the helpful onejonbxx is the helpful onejonbxx is the helpful onejonbxx is the helpful onejonbxx is the helpful onejonbxx is the helpful onejonbxx is the helpful onejonbxx is the helpful onejonbxx is the helpful onejonbxx is the helpful onejonbxx is the helpful onejonbxx is the helpful onejonbxx is the helpful onejonbxx is the helpful one
Re: What kind of computer are you using?

My home PC is pretty old now - Core 2 Duo, 8Gb RAM. Upgraded it with an SSD a couple of years back - the best upgrade you can ever make!

Getting itchy feet now and thinking of building a new machine - AMD Ryzen 1600 (or maybe 2600 when it comes out) 16Gb RAM, M.2 SSD plus a 1TB spinning drive. Nice!
jonbxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-03-2018, 09:30   #24
peanut
NUTS !!
 
peanut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 4,086
peanut has a nice shiny starpeanut has a nice shiny star
peanut has a nice shiny starpeanut has a nice shiny starpeanut has a nice shiny starpeanut has a nice shiny starpeanut has a nice shiny starpeanut has a nice shiny starpeanut has a nice shiny starpeanut has a nice shiny starpeanut has a nice shiny starpeanut has a nice shiny starpeanut has a nice shiny starpeanut has a nice shiny starpeanut has a nice shiny starpeanut has a nice shiny starpeanut has a nice shiny starpeanut has a nice shiny starpeanut has a nice shiny star
Re: What kind of computer are you using?

i7 - 4770k, 16gb Ram, 14TB Hard drives, 2 x 250gb SSDs, GTX 1080, Win 7.

I doubt I'll be upgrading anything for a while as the lack of PC games these days is quite a factor. Mainly use the PC for TV out to AV which works very well.
__________________
Oh what fun it is
peanut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-03-2018, 09:55   #25
SnoopZ
CF Resident Dog
 
SnoopZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 10,825
SnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny stars
SnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny stars
Re: What kind of computer are you using?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken W View Post
The RAM is maxed. I think it is better to go for a new and faster pc, perhaps a i5 or i7
1 Meg of RAM? i wish i had that much!
__________________
PSN: Snoopzster
How to post a Youtube video on CF[youtube]video code[/youtube ]
SnoopZ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14-03-2018, 13:46   #26
Gavin78
Ice Cold
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Leeds, Seacroft
Age: 40
Services: XL TV M Phone 200MB BB
Posts: 1,377
Gavin78 has a fine set of QuadsGavin78 has a fine set of QuadsGavin78 has a fine set of QuadsGavin78 has a fine set of QuadsGavin78 has a fine set of QuadsGavin78 has a fine set of QuadsGavin78 has a fine set of QuadsGavin78 has a fine set of QuadsGavin78 has a fine set of QuadsGavin78 has a fine set of QuadsGavin78 has a fine set of QuadsGavin78 has a fine set of QuadsGavin78 has a fine set of QuadsGavin78 has a fine set of Quads
Re: What kind of computer are you using?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sirius View Post
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4790K CPU @ 4.00GHz

Video Card NVIDIA GeForce GTX 780 Ti

Video Card #2 NVIDIA GeForce GTX 780 Ti

RAM 16 GB

Operating System Microsoft Windows 10 (build 16299), 64-bit

Home built to play Elite Dangerous

I have ED bought it for 90 when in beta played it for all of 3 hours and the whole control system put me off keep meaning to go back and really give it ago
Gavin78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-03-2018, 14:00   #27
Hugh
Hic Sunt Dracones
Cable Forum Team
 
Hugh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Age: 62
Services: Premiere Collection
Posts: 31,882
Hugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden aura
Hugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden aura
Re: What kind of computer are you using?

Intel i5-3570K 3.40Ghz overclocked to 4.7Ghz
16GB RAM
Win 10 Home 64bit
250GB Samsung SSD for OS and games
2TB hard drive
Nvidia GeForce GTX 670 2GB
2 x 24" monitors

It's about 5 years old, but does what I need it to do - I might add another SSD for games and change the graphics card for a 1070, but not just yet.
__________________
If my post is in bold and this colour, it's a Moderator Request.
Hugh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-03-2018, 17:25   #28
Mr K
Lefty Liberal Remoaner
 
Mr K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Services: TV, Phone, BB, a goldfish
Posts: 4,227
Mr K has a bronzed appealMr K has a bronzed appeal
Mr K has a bronzed appealMr K has a bronzed appealMr K has a bronzed appealMr K has a bronzed appealMr K has a bronzed appealMr K has a bronzed appealMr K has a bronzed appeal
Re: What kind of computer are you using?

A sort of a tall oblong one.
Mr K is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14-03-2018, 21:51   #29
Hugh
Hic Sunt Dracones
Cable Forum Team
 
Hugh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Age: 62
Services: Premiere Collection
Posts: 31,882
Hugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden aura
Hugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden aura
Re: What kind of computer are you using?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr K View Post
A sort of a tall oblong one.
Attached Images
File Type: jpeg AB1A753D-3BB2-49A9-923C-9E9E51A7767B.jpeg (33.9 KB, 38 views)
__________________
If my post is in bold and this colour, it's a Moderator Request.
Hugh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-03-2018, 22:50   #30
pip08456
Sad Doig Fan!
 
pip08456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Barry South Wales
Age: 62
Services: Now back with VM for BB & phone. 50Mb service.
Posts: 7,462
pip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronze
pip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronze
Re: What kind of computer are you using?

Oh no! An Oblelisk from AOS! What planet now?????
pip08456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 21:49.


Server: xenon.zmnt.net
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.