Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Will VM be moving over to DOCSIS 3.1 from DVB?

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media TV Service

Will VM be moving over to DOCSIS 3.1 from DVB?
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-05-2018, 09:42   #1
RichardCoulter
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 6,219
RichardCoulter has disabled reputation
Will VM be moving over to DOCSIS 3.1 from DVB?

Another forum member has reported that he attended a meeting yesterday at TV Connect 2018 with 'the head of DVB', who said that cable is moving away from DVB altogether and moving over to DOCSIS 3.1. He added that he "did have an argument with him because the two things are different technologies and they complement each other"!

I don't know anything about this new standard and wondered if anyone else had heard anything about VM doing this.
RichardCoulter is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 10-05-2018, 09:44   #2
weesteev
Cable Guru
Ants Champion
 
weesteev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: The North East/Scotland
Age: 35
Services: EE Fibre 80/20, Virgin FTTH coming soon!
Posts: 1,003
weesteev has reached the bronze age
weesteev has reached the bronze ageweesteev has reached the bronze ageweesteev has reached the bronze ageweesteev has reached the bronze ageweesteev has reached the bronze ageweesteev has reached the bronze age
Re: Will VM be moving over to DOCSIS 3.1 from DVB?

The idea is to move away from broadcast TV onto an IP based system which would use the same DOCSIS overlay as the broadband service. Yes this is true but its a VERY long way off. There is no inherent benefit to switching sub 1Gbps.

HTH
__________________


New Build Officer @ Virgin Media

All comments are my own opinion and not a direct expression of Virgin Media.
weesteev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2018, 10:04   #3
RichardCoulter
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 6,219
RichardCoulter has disabled reputation
Re: Will VM be moving over to DOCSIS 3.1 from DVB?

Thanks weesteev.

Done some digging and found that DOCSIS stands for 'Data Over Cable Service Interface Specification'.

This article from last February says that it will create 'virtual customer services equipment', which I take to mean the STB will be replaced by the cloud, but adds that as this will require a new modem, VM will start with the customers paying for the highest broadband speeds:

https://www.ispreview.co.uk/index.ph...3-1-plans.html

Someone who sits on a working group says to expect it to start happening circa 2021.

Last edited by RichardCoulter; 10-05-2018 at 10:12.
RichardCoulter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:17.


Server: xenon.zmnt.net
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.