Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | WTF Is Going On?!!!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media Internet Service

WTF Is Going On?!!!
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-07-2020, 11:49   #16
Kushan
FORMER Virgin Media Staff
 
Kushan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Warrington
Posts: 4,638
Kushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appeal
Kushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appeal
Re: WTF Is Going On?!!!

It sounds like you're running your superhub in Hub mode, while dangling an Apple router off of that. You'd be better switching the superhub to Modem mode and having the Apple router handle everything.
__________________
My views are my own and in no way reflect those of Virgin Media.
Kushan is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 03-07-2020, 09:33   #17
General Maximus
C/O Felix Legion
 
General Maximus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lincoln
Services: phone + L TV + 350mbit BB + Sky+HD
Posts: 9,004
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
Re: WTF Is Going On?!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by spankysmagicpian View Post
There is something weird going on. Got up this morning - no internet connection on my phone, work laptop or my PC. Work lappy then connected quite happily to the VPN, only way I could get mine to connect was to change the DNS to Googles and my phone connected to the other router (Apple) rather than the Shub3....which incidentally, I have rebooted twice.

Apple router is fine as it's getting an IP from the Shub and internet is good to go. Connect directly to the Shub and it gets an IP but no internet.
If you have got two routers and haven't set them up to work together I imagine you have got some dodgy dealings going on with different subnets, addressing schemes and default gateways. Like Kush said, you would be better off putting the shub in modem mode and just using the Apple router.
__________________
Join the Mockingjay, join the fight
General Maximus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 23:53   #18
spankysmagicpian
cf.geek
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Manchester
Services: Ultimate Oomph although there is nothing ultimate or oomph about it.
Posts: 790
spankysmagicpian has a fine set of Quadsspankysmagicpian has a fine set of Quadsspankysmagicpian has a fine set of Quadsspankysmagicpian has a fine set of Quadsspankysmagicpian has a fine set of Quadsspankysmagicpian has a fine set of Quadsspankysmagicpian has a fine set of Quadsspankysmagicpian has a fine set of Quadsspankysmagicpian has a fine set of Quadsspankysmagicpian has a fine set of Quadsspankysmagicpian has a fine set of Quadsspankysmagicpian has a fine set of Quadsspankysmagicpian has a fine set of Quadsspankysmagicpian has a fine set of Quads
Re: WTF Is Going On?!!!

Well it's been working fine for nearly 10 years (I think off the top of my head)
Apple Time Capsule is fed off the Shub and is setup in access point mode.

I need two due to the size and age of the house.

and although I hate the phrase..... I do work in IT and have plenty of experience configuring switches and firewalls.

Just set it to auto DNS again and all is good. It did go off again on...Thursday or Friday and since then, I didn't have any issues on my phone re: WiFi. Seems like it was a bad config sent down the line to me.
spankysmagicpian is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:21.


Server: curium.zmnt.uk
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.