Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Superhub turning into wi-fi hot spot.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media Internet Service

Superhub turning into wi-fi hot spot.
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 18-01-2018, 19:30   #16
nomadking
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Northampton
Services: Virgin Media TV&BB 200Mb Tivo STB
Posts: 4,198
nomadking has reached the bronze age
nomadking has reached the bronze agenomadking has reached the bronze agenomadking has reached the bronze agenomadking has reached the bronze agenomadking has reached the bronze agenomadking has reached the bronze agenomadking has reached the bronze agenomadking has reached the bronze agenomadking has reached the bronze agenomadking has reached the bronze agenomadking has reached the bronze agenomadking has reached the bronze agenomadking has reached the bronze agenomadking has reached the bronze agenomadking has reached the bronze agenomadking has reached the bronze agenomadking has reached the bronze agenomadking has reached the bronze agenomadking has reached the bronze age
Re: Superhub turning into wi-fi hot spot.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BenMcr View Post
Yes, there are lots of things that Virgin Media can see about both the broadband and TV kit as part of diagnostic tools.
The difference is that it would have to send the info when changes are made or you try to use a wifi hotspot, rather than performing a check when a fault is reported.
nomadking is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 18-01-2018, 20:10   #17
Paul M
Dr Pepper Addict
Cable Forum Team
 
Paul M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Nottingham
Age: 55
Services: VM Phone : Sky TV : VM Cable (350 Mbps) : Sky BB (38 Mbps)
Posts: 21,879
Paul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny stars
Paul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Superhub turning into wi-fi hot spot.

If they have the bandwidth to do this on every SH3 then they should be giving ME more upload, not some bloody stranger walking down the street.
__________________

Baby, I was born this way.
Paul M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2018, 20:54   #18
nomadking
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Northampton
Services: Virgin Media TV&BB 200Mb Tivo STB
Posts: 4,198
nomadking has reached the bronze age
nomadking has reached the bronze agenomadking has reached the bronze agenomadking has reached the bronze agenomadking has reached the bronze agenomadking has reached the bronze agenomadking has reached the bronze agenomadking has reached the bronze agenomadking has reached the bronze agenomadking has reached the bronze agenomadking has reached the bronze agenomadking has reached the bronze agenomadking has reached the bronze agenomadking has reached the bronze agenomadking has reached the bronze agenomadking has reached the bronze agenomadking has reached the bronze agenomadking has reached the bronze agenomadking has reached the bronze agenomadking has reached the bronze age
Re: Superhub turning into wi-fi hot spot.

If you've got a neighbour with a superhub you could get free wifi using a VM PAYG SIM.
nomadking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2018, 21:09   #19
SirThomas
cf.member
 
SirThomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 31
SirThomas will become famous soon enoughSirThomas will become famous soon enoughSirThomas will become famous soon enough
Re: Superhub turning into wi-fi hot spot.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nomadking View Post
If you've got a neighbour with a superhub you could get free wifi using a VM PAYG SIM.
That's an interesting thought...

Wonder what traffic management they apply to such connections. I imagine there's soft-throttling after a certain data amount
SirThomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2018, 22:35   #20
BenMcr
Virgin Media Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Manchester
Services: Virgin Media V6 and TiVo, Full House TV, VIVID 300
Posts: 16,388
BenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny stars
BenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Superhub turning into wi-fi hot spot.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nomadking View Post
The difference is that it would have to send the info when changes are made or you try to use a wifi hotspot, rather than performing a check when a fault is reported.
Checks on kit aren't just done when faults are reported.

Anyway for this particular situation, it's really down to the fact that modem mode turns off all the WiFi in the Hubs, rather than any other thing.

---------- Post added at 22:35 ---------- Previous post was at 22:34 ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by SirThomas View Post
That's an interesting thought...

Wonder what traffic management they apply to such connections. I imagine there's soft-throttling after a certain data amount
There isn't any traffic management when you're using it.

However there is concurrent device management to restrict the number of devices that will connect to any particular Virgin Media WiFi hotspot coming from a residential Hub.
__________________
I work for Virgin Media but all views are my own.
BenMcr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2018, 23:19   #21
nomadking
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Northampton
Services: Virgin Media TV&BB 200Mb Tivo STB
Posts: 4,198
nomadking has reached the bronze age
nomadking has reached the bronze agenomadking has reached the bronze agenomadking has reached the bronze agenomadking has reached the bronze agenomadking has reached the bronze agenomadking has reached the bronze agenomadking has reached the bronze agenomadking has reached the bronze agenomadking has reached the bronze agenomadking has reached the bronze agenomadking has reached the bronze agenomadking has reached the bronze agenomadking has reached the bronze agenomadking has reached the bronze agenomadking has reached the bronze agenomadking has reached the bronze agenomadking has reached the bronze agenomadking has reached the bronze agenomadking has reached the bronze age
Re: Superhub turning into wi-fi hot spot.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BenMcr View Post
Checks on kit aren't just done when faults are reported.

Anyway for this particular situation, it's really down to the fact that modem mode turns off all the WiFi in the Hubs, rather than any other thing.
.
How would VM know if I tried to use a hot spot out and about, but had switched my hub at home to modem mode?
nomadking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-2018, 08:54   #22
Peter729
cf.member
 
Peter729's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 20
Peter729 will become famous soon enoughPeter729 will become famous soon enoughPeter729 will become famous soon enough
Re: Superhub turning into wi-fi hot spot.

I have the Hotspot app on my Iphone and it works fine, connecting to it saves on my monthly Giff Gaff data allowance
Peter729 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-2018, 09:30   #23
BenMcr
Virgin Media Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Manchester
Services: Virgin Media V6 and TiVo, Full House TV, VIVID 300
Posts: 16,388
BenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny stars
BenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Superhub turning into wi-fi hot spot.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nomadking View Post
How would VM know if I tried to use a hot spot out and about, but had switched my hub at home to modem mode?
Modem mode doesn't affect your usage of the app and Virgin Media WiFi network out and about.

However, each device configured for Virgin Media WiFi is authenticated against your account whenever your connect - either via your My Virgin Media details or via your Virgin Mobile SIM. If your account is not in the correct state for the connection, it's blocked. For instance if an account is suspending for non-payment, or in the case of PAYG you've not topped up within the last 60 days or registered for My Account.
__________________
I work for Virgin Media but all views are my own.

Last edited by BenMcr; 19-01-2018 at 09:37.
BenMcr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-01-2018, 17:39   #24
Osem
Expose lies & hypocrisy
Shark Attack Champion, Pacman Champion, Air Attack 3 Champion, MiniPool Champion
 
Osem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Right here!
Posts: 22,317
Osem is seeing silvered starsOsem is seeing silvered starsOsem is seeing silvered starsOsem is seeing silvered starsOsem is seeing silvered starsOsem is seeing silvered starsOsem is seeing silvered stars
Osem is seeing silvered starsOsem is seeing silvered starsOsem is seeing silvered starsOsem is seeing silvered starsOsem is seeing silvered starsOsem is seeing silvered starsOsem is seeing silvered starsOsem is seeing silvered starsOsem is seeing silvered starsOsem is seeing silvered starsOsem is seeing silvered starsOsem is seeing silvered starsOsem is seeing silvered stars
Re: Superhub turning into wi-fi hot spot.

Thanks guys. I've opted out.
__________________
Corbyn's nasty 'new' politics - hypocrisy, ineptitude, intimidation, extremism & even more debt.

Same old lies, same old Labour.
Osem is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:48.


Server: xenon.zmnt.net
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.