Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | New Computer

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Computers & IT > Networking

New Computer
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 29-11-2018, 19:20   #16
SnoopZ
CF Resident Dog
 
SnoopZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 10,834
SnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny stars
SnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny stars
Re: New Computer

Deleted your answer, i don't like your tone.
__________________
PSN: Snoopzster
How to post a Youtube video on CF[youtube]video code[/youtube ]

Last edited by SnoopZ; 29-11-2018 at 19:25.
SnoopZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 29-11-2018, 19:53   #17
beaker17
If it moves, shoot it
 
beaker17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: London
Services: Virgin Media Tivo Kahuna Big Bundle, phone and Broadband.
Posts: 61
beaker17 is on a distinguished roadbeaker17 is on a distinguished road
Re: New Computer

Love you Pip
xxxx
beaker17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-11-2018, 09:22   #18
figgyburn
Natcheztrace
 
figgyburn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: edinburgh
Services: vm bbl.tvxl
Posts: 233
figgyburn is a name known to allfiggyburn is a name known to allfiggyburn is a name known to allfiggyburn is a name known to allfiggyburn is a name known to allfiggyburn is a name known to allfiggyburn is a name known to allfiggyburn is a name known to all
Re: New Computer

Quote:
Originally Posted by SnoopZ View Post
If your new computer is a desktop pc then it is unlikely to be wifi enabled and you would need some kind of a wifi adaptor to connect to the internet.

If your new computer is a Laptop then it will have built in wifi.
Surely new desktop/all in one computers will have wi fi built in these days without the need for a wi fi adaptor?.I will be looking for a new computer soon and hope I do not need any wi fi adaptor of any sort.
figgyburn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-11-2018, 10:44   #19
daveeb
cf.geek
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Leeds
Posts: 547
daveeb has entered a golden reputation eradaveeb has entered a golden reputation eradaveeb has entered a golden reputation eradaveeb has entered a golden reputation eradaveeb has entered a golden reputation eradaveeb has entered a golden reputation eradaveeb has entered a golden reputation eradaveeb has entered a golden reputation eradaveeb has entered a golden reputation eradaveeb has entered a golden reputation eradaveeb has entered a golden reputation era
Re: New Computer

Quote:
Originally Posted by figgyburn View Post
Surely new desktop/all in one computers will have wi fi built in these days without the need for a wi fi adaptor?.I will be looking for a new computer soon and hope I do not need any wi fi adaptor of any sort.
I think a lot of modern motherboards still don't have wifi capability built in. It's relatively easy to install an internal card or use a dongle but it still seems crazy that all modern boards don't have wifi as standard.
daveeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-11-2018, 11:14   #20
heero_yuy
Perfect Soldier
 
heero_yuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Worthing West Sussex
Age: 61
Services: VM 70M SHUB thingy in modem mode XL TV VboxHD Sony Bravia smart TV and M phone
Posts: 14,728
heero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny stars
heero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny stars
Re: New Computer

Quote:
Quote from daveeb:


I think a lot of modern motherboards still don't have wifi capability built in. It's relatively easy to install an internal card or use a dongle but it still seems crazy that all modern boards don't have wifi as standard.
I would think the issue is that most desktops are in metal case so an antenna on the Mobo wouldn't get out.

My laptop, that uses a metal chassies and part casing, has the WiFi antenna built round the edge of the screen.
__________________
History is much like an endless waltz. The three beats of war, peace and revolution continue on forever.
However history will change with my coronation - Mariemaia Kushrenada
heero_yuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-11-2018, 11:41   #21
Taf
cf.mega poster
 
Taf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kairdiff-by-the-sea
Age: 62
Services: TVXL BBXL Superhub 2ac (wired) 1Tb Tivo
Posts: 8,007
Taf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny star
Taf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny star
Re: New Computer

My daughter's 3 year old PC has a wifi aerial on the back, and an extension lead came with it so that the aerial could be located up to a metre away.
Taf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-11-2018, 18:50   #22
figgyburn
Natcheztrace
 
figgyburn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: edinburgh
Services: vm bbl.tvxl
Posts: 233
figgyburn is a name known to allfiggyburn is a name known to allfiggyburn is a name known to allfiggyburn is a name known to allfiggyburn is a name known to allfiggyburn is a name known to allfiggyburn is a name known to allfiggyburn is a name known to all
Re: New Computer

All in one computer should be fine then as they seem to be all plastic casings.
figgyburn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2018, 18:51   #23
techguyone
Deus Vult
 
techguyone's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: W Mids
Services: VM Freeview TV with Tivio > VM Fibre BB (70MB) with Superhub1 (modem mode) > VM XL Telephone
Posts: 1,988
techguyone has reached the bronze age
techguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze age
Send a message via Yahoo to techguyone
Re: New Computer

Frankly I'm confused why the OP keeps wittering on about wireless in any case, he's currently using Ethernet over USB on his existing PC and the new one, like all PC's since about 1988 has an Ethernet port, so why all the angst over wi-fi when he'll be using Ethernet anyway - with a bonus that he won't need the USB adaptor.
__________________
Never trust a man who, when left alone in a room with a tea cozy, doesn't try it on.
techguyone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2018, 21:11   #24
beaker17
If it moves, shoot it
 
beaker17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: London
Services: Virgin Media Tivo Kahuna Big Bundle, phone and Broadband.
Posts: 61
beaker17 is on a distinguished roadbeaker17 is on a distinguished road
Re: New Computer

All solved. My new PC is now working perfectly using WiFi.

Thank you all for the advice and some for their unnecessary provocative comments, but the Forum was of great help in giving me positive guidance.
I am not a computer buff in terms of cyber functional gymnastics, but am a veteran of 14 years computer operations and of moderate technical knowledge. I can cope with reasonably easy technical computer situations.

The setting up of the new PC went like a dream.

Thank you everybody for your help.
beaker17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2018, 21:23   #25
techguyone
Deus Vult
 
techguyone's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: W Mids
Services: VM Freeview TV with Tivio > VM Fibre BB (70MB) with Superhub1 (modem mode) > VM XL Telephone
Posts: 1,988
techguyone has reached the bronze age
techguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze age
Send a message via Yahoo to techguyone
Re: New Computer

Does your new PC not have an Ethernet port?
__________________
Never trust a man who, when left alone in a room with a tea cozy, doesn't try it on.
techguyone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2018, 19:16   #26
beaker17
If it moves, shoot it
 
beaker17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: London
Services: Virgin Media Tivo Kahuna Big Bundle, phone and Broadband.
Posts: 61
beaker17 is on a distinguished roadbeaker17 is on a distinguished road
Re: New Computer

All has been revealed.

My modem/router is a WiFi. I entered my VM details in the request panel of my new computer and it flew immediately. It is working on WiFi to perfection. Just a single power cable.

I have now joined the modern world after 14 years using XP and am delighted.

I would like to thank all the respondents who have helped me constructively on this thread and bid those who submitted unnecessary and derogatory remarks to have a nice day.
beaker17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2018, 20:55   #27
techguyone
Deus Vult
 
techguyone's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: W Mids
Services: VM Freeview TV with Tivio > VM Fibre BB (70MB) with Superhub1 (modem mode) > VM XL Telephone
Posts: 1,988
techguyone has reached the bronze age
techguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze age
Send a message via Yahoo to techguyone
Re: New Computer

No one has been negative, we're just a bit puzzled why you would use Wi-Fi on a desktop PC with an Ethernet port that will run a lot faster/more reliably with the Ethernet lead than it ever would on wireless.

Your hub (that thing you think is a modem but isn't) even has 4 Ethernet ports on it for you to use
__________________
Never trust a man who, when left alone in a room with a tea cozy, doesn't try it on.
techguyone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2018, 21:00   #28
pip08456
Sad Doig Fan!
 
pip08456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Barry South Wales
Age: 62
Services: Now back with VM for BB & phone. 50Mb service.
Posts: 7,496
pip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronze
pip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronze
Re: New Computer

Quote:
Originally Posted by beaker17 View Post
All has been revealed.

My modem/router is a WiFi. I entered my VM details in the request panel of my new computer and it flew immediately. It is working on WiFi to perfection. Just a single power cable.

I have now joined the modern world after 14 years using XP and am delighted.

I would like to thank all the respondents who have helped me constructively on this thread and bid those who submitted unnecessary and derogatory remarks to have a nice day.
We'll see.
pip08456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2018, 21:31   #29
techguyone
Deus Vult
 
techguyone's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: W Mids
Services: VM Freeview TV with Tivio > VM Fibre BB (70MB) with Superhub1 (modem mode) > VM XL Telephone
Posts: 1,988
techguyone has reached the bronze age
techguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze agetechguyone has reached the bronze age
Send a message via Yahoo to techguyone
Re: New Computer

Quote:
Originally Posted by pip08456 View Post
We'll see.
Hehe yes, Superhub ONE wasn't it? I hope the OP has got his PC right next to it, cause the Wi-Fi on those are shocking and the range drops off alarming fast with any distance.
__________________
Never trust a man who, when left alone in a room with a tea cozy, doesn't try it on.
techguyone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2018, 19:11   #30
beaker17
If it moves, shoot it
 
beaker17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: London
Services: Virgin Media Tivo Kahuna Big Bundle, phone and Broadband.
Posts: 61
beaker17 is on a distinguished roadbeaker17 is on a distinguished road
Re: New Computer

Quote:
Originally Posted by pip08456 View Post
We'll see.
I have already seen and am delighted.
My new PC works impeccably on WiFi about 5 feet away from my "modem"(pleased I give you all a good laugh) OK - Superhub 1 if that suits you better.

Oddly enough the speed is incredible - very fast.

So again I am grateful for the help that some posters gave me and over-the-moon with the WiFi and speed performance.

Oh I forgot - why have an unsightly USB cable to my desktop when with WiFi all I have is a single power cable, no matter how many USB sockets my "modem" has got.

Last edited by beaker17; 12-12-2018 at 19:15.
beaker17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:36.


Server: xenon.zmnt.net
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.