Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Virgin TV 360 users (Horizon)

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media TV Service

Virgin TV 360 users (Horizon)
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-09-2020, 11:49   #61
OLD BOY
Rise above the players
 
OLD BOY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Wokingham
Services: 2 V6 boxes with 360 software, Now TV, Amazon, Netflix, Starzplay, Apple TV; Discovery +, VM broadban
Posts: 12,569
OLD BOY is cast in bronzeOLD BOY is cast in bronzeOLD BOY is cast in bronzeOLD BOY is cast in bronze
OLD BOY is cast in bronzeOLD BOY is cast in bronzeOLD BOY is cast in bronzeOLD BOY is cast in bronzeOLD BOY is cast in bronzeOLD BOY is cast in bronzeOLD BOY is cast in bronzeOLD BOY is cast in bronze
Re: Virgin TV 360 users (Horizon)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ozsat View Post
A few shots
So there IS a record function!
OLD BOY is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 05-09-2020, 13:08   #62
Mythica
cf.geek
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 767
Mythica is just so famous around these partsMythica is just so famous around these partsMythica is just so famous around these partsMythica is just so famous around these partsMythica is just so famous around these partsMythica is just so famous around these partsMythica is just so famous around these partsMythica is just so famous around these partsMythica is just so famous around these partsMythica is just so famous around these partsMythica is just so famous around these partsMythica is just so famous around these partsMythica is just so famous around these partsMythica is just so famous around these partsMythica is just so famous around these parts
Re: Virgin TV 360 users (Horizon)

Quote:
Originally Posted by OLD BOY View Post
So there IS a record function!
What do you mean by this?
Mythica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2020, 13:11   #63
Zaxx
cf.member
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Posts: 1
Zaxx is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Virgin TV 360 users (Horizon)

Does the Virgin TV 360 still have the following features that the TV6 has?

1) Does the epg show the date of when the programme was first broadcast?

2) When fast forwarding does it rewind a few seconds after pressing play?

3) Are 4:3 programmes shown in the correct aspect ratio (assuming that that option can still be found in the video output settings) ?

Thanks....
Zaxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2020, 13:15   #64
ozsat
cf.mega poster
 
ozsat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Area 31 (Oxford)
Services: 1.2Gb/55Mb, VMTV (UHD/HDR/MRS), Freesat HD, Freeview HD, SkyQ UHD/HDR, BTtv UHD/HDR, DAB+
Posts: 1,496
ozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these parts
Re: Virgin TV 360 users (Horizon)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zaxx View Post
Does the Virgin TV 360 still have the following features that the TV6 has?

1) Does the epg show the date of when the programme was first broadcast?
Only the year

2) When fast forwarding does it rewind a few seconds after pressing play?
Not that I can see

3) Are 4:3 programmes shown in the correct aspect ratio (assuming that that option can still be found in the video output settings) ?
The 4:3 / 16:9 switching works fine - still only Sky who don't understand that.

Thanks....

Last edited by ozsat; 05-09-2020 at 13:24.
ozsat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2020, 13:18   #65
muppetman11
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 12,182
muppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny stars
muppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Virgin TV 360 users (Horizon)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mythica View Post
What do you mean by this?
I'm not sure he understands the main box is a master box with all the minis acting as slave boxes.

The slave boxes still allow you to record a show the difference being its recorded on the main box.
muppetman11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2020, 13:25   #66
ozsat
cf.mega poster
 
ozsat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Area 31 (Oxford)
Services: 1.2Gb/55Mb, VMTV (UHD/HDR/MRS), Freesat HD, Freeview HD, SkyQ UHD/HDR, BTtv UHD/HDR, DAB+
Posts: 1,496
ozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these parts
Re: Virgin TV 360 users (Horizon)

Once connected - the mini box looks as if it is a recording device - it just records on the main box and so recordings are shared.

The mini box still works if the main box is off - just recording capabilities are lost.
ozsat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2020, 14:16   #67
OLD BOY
Rise above the players
 
OLD BOY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Wokingham
Services: 2 V6 boxes with 360 software, Now TV, Amazon, Netflix, Starzplay, Apple TV; Discovery +, VM broadban
Posts: 12,569
OLD BOY is cast in bronzeOLD BOY is cast in bronzeOLD BOY is cast in bronzeOLD BOY is cast in bronze
OLD BOY is cast in bronzeOLD BOY is cast in bronzeOLD BOY is cast in bronzeOLD BOY is cast in bronzeOLD BOY is cast in bronzeOLD BOY is cast in bronzeOLD BOY is cast in bronzeOLD BOY is cast in bronze
Re: Virgin TV 360 users (Horizon)

Quote:
Originally Posted by OLD BOY View Post
So there IS a record function!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mythica View Post
What do you mean by this?
On the second picture in ozsat's post, the word 'RECORD' is dispayed next to a red button on the screen.

So if there is a record facility, the next question is whether the recording is made on the disk or whether it's actually a bookmark in the cloud.
OLD BOY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2020, 14:26   #68
Mythica
cf.geek
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 767
Mythica is just so famous around these partsMythica is just so famous around these partsMythica is just so famous around these partsMythica is just so famous around these partsMythica is just so famous around these partsMythica is just so famous around these partsMythica is just so famous around these partsMythica is just so famous around these partsMythica is just so famous around these partsMythica is just so famous around these partsMythica is just so famous around these partsMythica is just so famous around these partsMythica is just so famous around these partsMythica is just so famous around these partsMythica is just so famous around these parts
Re: Virgin TV 360 users (Horizon)

Quote:
Originally Posted by OLD BOY View Post
On the second picture in ozsat's post, the word 'RECORD' is dispayed next to a red button on the screen.

So if there is a record facility, the next question is whether the recording is made on the disk or whether it's actually a bookmark in the cloud.
It's been explained above. We already knew this the other day didn't we?
Mythica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2020, 15:07   #69
ozsat
cf.mega poster
 
ozsat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Area 31 (Oxford)
Services: 1.2Gb/55Mb, VMTV (UHD/HDR/MRS), Freesat HD, Freeview HD, SkyQ UHD/HDR, BTtv UHD/HDR, DAB+
Posts: 1,496
ozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these partsozsat is just so famous around these parts
Re: Virgin TV 360 users (Horizon)

Yes - all recordings are made on the disc in the main box.
ozsat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2020, 18:01   #70
SonicMaster
cf.geek
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 518
SonicMaster is a glorious beacon of lightSonicMaster is a glorious beacon of lightSonicMaster is a glorious beacon of lightSonicMaster is a glorious beacon of lightSonicMaster is a glorious beacon of lightSonicMaster is a glorious beacon of lightSonicMaster is a glorious beacon of light
Re: Virgin TV 360 users (Horizon)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ozsat View Post
Apps are currently these but I'm told more coming soon. Early TiVo users will remember there was little available at launch.
Thanks ozsat!

Interesting to see the likes of Deutsche Welle, CNN and WSJ on there but not BBC Sounds, ITV Player, All4, My5, Pluto TV etc. As you say, I'm sure there are more on the way and hopefully it will have all of these.
SonicMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2020, 18:08   #71
cheekyangus
cf.mega poster
 
cheekyangus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,975
cheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quads
Re: Virgin TV 360 users (Horizon)

Quote:
Originally Posted by SonicMaster View Post
Thanks ozsat!

Interesting to see the likes of Deutsche Welle, CNN and WSJ on there but not BBC Sounds, ITV Player, All4, My5, Pluto TV etc. As you say, I'm sure there are more on the way and hopefully it will have all of these.
DW, CNN and WSJ were probably easy to port from other Liberty Horizon regions.
cheekyangus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2020, 21:44   #72
RichardCoulter
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 8,867
RichardCoulter has disabled reputation
Re: Virgin TV 360 users (Horizon)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ozsat View Post
Yes - all recordings are made on the disc in the main box.
Can you use Quickview on these?
RichardCoulter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2020, 22:13   #73
RobboEdin
cf.mega poster
 
RobboEdin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,997
RobboEdin has reached the bronze age
RobboEdin has reached the bronze ageRobboEdin has reached the bronze ageRobboEdin has reached the bronze ageRobboEdin has reached the bronze ageRobboEdin has reached the bronze ageRobboEdin has reached the bronze ageRobboEdin has reached the bronze ageRobboEdin has reached the bronze ageRobboEdin has reached the bronze ageRobboEdin has reached the bronze ageRobboEdin has reached the bronze ageRobboEdin has reached the bronze ageRobboEdin has reached the bronze age
Re: Virgin TV 360 users (Horizon)

Quote:
Originally Posted by RichardCoulter View Post
Can you use Quickview on these?
No.
RobboEdin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2020, 23:46   #74
cheekyangus
cf.mega poster
 
cheekyangus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,975
cheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quads
Re: Virgin TV 360 users (Horizon)

Shame, Quickview is great. Maybe they'll add it later.
cheekyangus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2020, 13:21   #75
OLD BOY
Rise above the players
 
OLD BOY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Wokingham
Services: 2 V6 boxes with 360 software, Now TV, Amazon, Netflix, Starzplay, Apple TV; Discovery +, VM broadban
Posts: 12,569
OLD BOY is cast in bronzeOLD BOY is cast in bronzeOLD BOY is cast in bronzeOLD BOY is cast in bronze
OLD BOY is cast in bronzeOLD BOY is cast in bronzeOLD BOY is cast in bronzeOLD BOY is cast in bronzeOLD BOY is cast in bronzeOLD BOY is cast in bronzeOLD BOY is cast in bronzeOLD BOY is cast in bronze
Re: Virgin TV 360 users (Horizon)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ozsat View Post
Yes - all recordings are made on the disc in the main box.
If you have two Horizon boxes (rather than one main and one slave), do you know whether you can view recordings from the second box on the main box and vice versa, as you can with the V6?
OLD BOY is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:11.


Server: curium.zmnt.uk
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.