Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | 500mb Question

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media Internet Service

500mb Question
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-05-2019, 17:22   #91
General Maximus
C/O Felix Legion
 
General Maximus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lincoln
Services: phone + L TV + 350mbit BB + Sky+HD
Posts: 8,258
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
Re: 500mb Question

yeah all they should be doing is sending you the right number of V6's to replace any existing Tivo's
__________________
Join the Mockingjay, join the fight
General Maximus is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 03-05-2019, 17:41   #92
Tricky Trevor
cf.geek
 
Tricky Trevor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Nottingham
Age: 62
Services: Ultimate Oomph,500 mbit,2xV6,,4K tv
Posts: 522
Tricky Trevor has entered a golden reputation eraTricky Trevor has entered a golden reputation eraTricky Trevor has entered a golden reputation eraTricky Trevor has entered a golden reputation eraTricky Trevor has entered a golden reputation eraTricky Trevor has entered a golden reputation eraTricky Trevor has entered a golden reputation eraTricky Trevor has entered a golden reputation eraTricky Trevor has entered a golden reputation eraTricky Trevor has entered a golden reputation eraTricky Trevor has entered a golden reputation era
Re: 500mb Question

I've just been hanging about on webchat and CS for an hour to be told that I have to wait for a call next week because it's a different department that's handling V.VIP and they don't have access to it. So I will have to wait until next week.

So far I've had 2 different people on webchat that have told me that I WILL get a V6 on V.VIP to replace my slow Tivo.
__________________
I used to be indecisive but now I'm not so sure.
Tricky Trevor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2019, 20:13   #93
RainmakerRaw
cf.addict
 
RainmakerRaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Services: 500/35 but wishing for 10Gbe like our Nordic cousins.
Posts: 230
RainmakerRaw is a glorious beacon of lightRainmakerRaw is a glorious beacon of lightRainmakerRaw is a glorious beacon of lightRainmakerRaw is a glorious beacon of lightRainmakerRaw is a glorious beacon of lightRainmakerRaw is a glorious beacon of lightRainmakerRaw is a glorious beacon of light
Re: 500mb Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tricky Trevor View Post
I've just been hanging about on webchat and CS for an hour to be told that I have to wait for a call next week because it's a different department that's handling V.VIP and they don't have access to it. So I will have to wait until next week.

So far I've had 2 different people on webchat that have told me that I WILL get a V6 on V.VIP to replace my slow Tivo.

I've been on hold with VM for over two HOURS getting bounced around departments. They finally got the right person, put the order on the system and said because we already have a VM unlimited SIM we need to call VM Mobile (on the same phone number!), get a PAC and then call back to put through the VVIP order that's now parked. Still on hold.. Wish I'd never bothered now and I'm presuming the UK team has now gone home so I'll eventually have someone offshore answer and tell me to call next week. Two hours wasted. Joy.
__________________
P-p-p-p-pick up a penguin!
Running Linux and BSD for maximum awesome
RainmakerRaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2019, 20:16   #94
SnoopZ
CF Resident Dog
 
SnoopZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 11,575
SnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny stars
SnoopZ has a pair of shiny stars
Re: 500mb Question

Always best to phone in the morning! and wait a few weeks for things to get quicker.
__________________
PSN: Snoopzster
SnoopZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2019, 20:21   #95
wildfruit
cf.member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Services: 500Mb, talk more anytime 2 x V6, sky cinema, Sky sports Maxit TV, kids pack, unlimited sim
Posts: 53
wildfruit is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: 500mb Question

Did have a bit of bouncing around and waiting but I’ll be on v.vip from 28th may
Could have had it sooner( as soon as Tuesday) but would rather wait til my sky tv service finished.
wildfruit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2019, 20:49   #96
alanbjames
cf.mega poster
 
alanbjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Swansea, South Wales UK.
Age: 68
Services: XL Phone, XXL 350mb BB SH3 (wired).
Posts: 2,094
alanbjames has a brilliant futurealanbjames has a brilliant futurealanbjames has a brilliant futurealanbjames has a brilliant futurealanbjames has a brilliant futurealanbjames has a brilliant futurealanbjames has a brilliant futurealanbjames has a brilliant futurealanbjames has a brilliant futurealanbjames has a brilliant futurealanbjames has a brilliant futurealanbjames has a brilliant future
Re: 500mb Question

I wont be going anywhere near the 500mb till u can get on its own.

Phaps Virgins greed will die a death by then.
alanbjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2019, 21:34   #97
RainmakerRaw
cf.addict
 
RainmakerRaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Services: 500/35 but wishing for 10Gbe like our Nordic cousins.
Posts: 230
RainmakerRaw is a glorious beacon of lightRainmakerRaw is a glorious beacon of lightRainmakerRaw is a glorious beacon of lightRainmakerRaw is a glorious beacon of lightRainmakerRaw is a glorious beacon of lightRainmakerRaw is a glorious beacon of lightRainmakerRaw is a glorious beacon of light
Re: 500mb Question

Finally got through, the poor guy sounded frazzled and called me the wrong (two different) names on several occasions between spells on hold. I get the impression they're literally juggling calls. All sorted now anyway, and as we already had VIP + an unlimited SIM it's actually saving us money (89 + 25 monthly vs 99 for VVIP). My modem just rebooted and peak speeds are currently 250Mbps out of 500 thanks to congestion. I can use the fault code for a tenner off, judging by experience and end up with 500Mbps off peak for cheaper than I was paying for the package below before. :p
__________________
P-p-p-p-pick up a penguin!
Running Linux and BSD for maximum awesome
RainmakerRaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2019, 00:30   #98
RainmakerRaw
cf.addict
 
RainmakerRaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Services: 500/35 but wishing for 10Gbe like our Nordic cousins.
Posts: 230
RainmakerRaw is a glorious beacon of lightRainmakerRaw is a glorious beacon of lightRainmakerRaw is a glorious beacon of lightRainmakerRaw is a glorious beacon of lightRainmakerRaw is a glorious beacon of lightRainmakerRaw is a glorious beacon of lightRainmakerRaw is a glorious beacon of light
Re: 500mb Question

Finally got chance to sit down and play properly with the new speed. Here's a speed test over VPN (WireGuard protocol), via my home made Arch Linux router from a 2012 MacBook Pro client (Core i5 3210M, 16GB RAM, running Fedora 30 Linux).

The router is a re-purposed SFF Dell Optiplex 7010 (Core i7 3700, 8GB RAM, Intel Pro 1000VT quad core server NIC) and it maxed out at 20% CPU. So, in theory it's good for 2.5Gbps over VPN. Plenty of life left in it yet...

__________________
P-p-p-p-pick up a penguin!
Running Linux and BSD for maximum awesome
RainmakerRaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2019, 12:14   #99
CapricornDog
cf.member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 2
CapricornDog is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: 500mb Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by alanbjames View Post
I wont be going anywhere near the 500mb till u can get on its own.

Phaps Virgins greed will die a death by then.
Amen to that.
CapricornDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2019, 11:35   #100
SimonB79
cf.member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 96
SimonB79 will become famous soon enoughSimonB79 will become famous soon enoughSimonB79 will become famous soon enough
Re: 500mb Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by CapricornDog View Post
Amen to that.
personally if vivid500 had 50up for say £55 per month I may be tempted, otherwise donít see the point with 350 having 35! 🤔

like most folk itís upload I want rather then down! 😇
SimonB79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2019, 11:40   #101
General Maximus
C/O Felix Legion
 
General Maximus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lincoln
Services: phone + L TV + 350mbit BB + Sky+HD
Posts: 8,258
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
Re: 500mb Question

Couldnt agree more
__________________
Join the Mockingjay, join the fight
General Maximus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2019, 11:56   #102
RainmakerRaw
cf.addict
 
RainmakerRaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Services: 500/35 but wishing for 10Gbe like our Nordic cousins.
Posts: 230
RainmakerRaw is a glorious beacon of lightRainmakerRaw is a glorious beacon of lightRainmakerRaw is a glorious beacon of lightRainmakerRaw is a glorious beacon of lightRainmakerRaw is a glorious beacon of lightRainmakerRaw is a glorious beacon of lightRainmakerRaw is a glorious beacon of light
Re: 500mb Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by SimonB79 View Post
like most folk itís upload I want rather then down! 😇

One of the unfortunate side-effects of DOCSIS, at least for now. Meanwhile our friends in Scandinavia, Romania etc can have symmetric 10Gbps FTTH for 25 Euros a month, or symmetric gigabit FTTH for a tenner.
__________________
P-p-p-p-pick up a penguin!
Running Linux and BSD for maximum awesome
RainmakerRaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2019, 15:22   #103
Paul M
Dr Pepper Addict
Cable Forum Team
 
Paul M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Nottingham
Age: 56
Services: VM Phone : VM Mobile : Sky TV : VM BB (350 Mbps) : Vodafone BB (38 Mbps)
Posts: 22,576
Paul M is seeing silvered starsPaul M is seeing silvered starsPaul M is seeing silvered stars
Paul M is seeing silvered starsPaul M is seeing silvered starsPaul M is seeing silvered starsPaul M is seeing silvered starsPaul M is seeing silvered starsPaul M is seeing silvered starsPaul M is seeing silvered stars
Re: 500mb Question

JFYI, I have added the 500M prefix to the forum now, and updated this thread.
__________________

Baby, I was born this way.
Paul M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2019, 20:48   #104
Hom3r
Proud Ex EU Citizen.
 
Hom3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Galactic Sector ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha, www.daves-world.co.uk. A secret Moonbase (shh don't tell anybody)
Age: 50
Services: 1 V6 Tivo, 2x1TB Tivo, , SH3. Samsung Galaxy Note 8, Smart Home stuff, & Cuddy Toy
Posts: 15,255
Hom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny stars
Hom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny stars
Re: 500mb Question

I pay £163.63 for Full House TV, Vivid 200 BB, & Talk more Anytime for Phone.

So will I get this?
__________________
I voted leave, Leave means leave, and NO to an illegal 2nd referendum. We already voted in a democratic vote. Twitter Facebook
My Blog
Hom3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2019, 22:29   #105
Mythica
cf.geek
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 506
Mythica has a brilliant futureMythica has a brilliant futureMythica has a brilliant futureMythica has a brilliant futureMythica has a brilliant futureMythica has a brilliant futureMythica has a brilliant futureMythica has a brilliant futureMythica has a brilliant futureMythica has a brilliant futureMythica has a brilliant futureMythica has a brilliant future
Re: 500mb Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hom3r View Post
I pay £163.63 for Full House TV, Vivid 200 BB, & Talk more Anytime for Phone.

So will I get this?
Why are you paying that much? The VIP package is £129.
Mythica is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 23:57.


Server: xenon.zmnt.net
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.