Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Video Card info

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > General Discussion > Gaming Discussion

Video Card info
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-07-2024, 22:26   #1
Corey N Georgie
cf.addict
 
Corey N Georgie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: Swansea, South Wales, UK
Age: 43
Services: 1GB Volt, Telephone all Inclusive.
Posts: 231
Corey N Georgie is a jewel in the roughCorey N Georgie is a jewel in the roughCorey N Georgie is a jewel in the roughCorey N Georgie is a jewel in the roughCorey N Georgie is a jewel in the rough
Video Card info

i have a question for you people regarding video cards.

What would you guys go for to replace an old Nvidia 1080.


https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B0BZDYZ4...ogi&th=1&psc=1

OR


https://www.awd-it.co.uk/gigabyte-ra...&siteid=206719
Corey N Georgie is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 09-07-2024, 23:02   #2
Jaymoss
Just a Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 3,694
Jaymoss has a bronzed appealJaymoss has a bronzed appeal
Jaymoss has a bronzed appealJaymoss has a bronzed appealJaymoss has a bronzed appealJaymoss has a bronzed appealJaymoss has a bronzed appealJaymoss has a bronzed appealJaymoss has a bronzed appealJaymoss has a bronzed appealJaymoss has a bronzed appealJaymoss has a bronzed appealJaymoss has a bronzed appealJaymoss has a bronzed appealJaymoss has a bronzed appealJaymoss has a bronzed appealJaymoss has a bronzed appealJaymoss has a bronzed appeal
Re: Video Card info

What resolution you intent to play at?

---------- Post added at 23:02 ---------- Previous post was at 23:01 ----------

I would say the 4070
__________________
Is your muffin buttered? Would you like me to assign someone to butter your muffin?
Jaymoss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2024, 03:03   #3
Dude111
An Awesome Dude
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 4,106
Dude111 has a bronzed appealDude111 has a bronzed appeal
Dude111 has a bronzed appealDude111 has a bronzed appealDude111 has a bronzed appealDude111 has a bronzed appealDude111 has a bronzed appealDude111 has a bronzed appealDude111 has a bronzed appealDude111 has a bronzed appealDude111 has a bronzed appealDude111 has a bronzed appeal
Ya I would say get the one that offers the most resolutions....... It makes a difference when playing games!!

I play Alot of Mame games,Atari 2600 and Coleco games and im glad they fill the whole screen! (Like I was on the arcade game/console)

I have Atari 2600 and Coleco consoles but niether are hooked up.....
Dude111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2024, 06:48   #4
Stephen
Bah Humbug!!
 
Stephen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Glasgow
Age: 43
Services: Sky Q 2Tb, Sky Q mini, boxsets and Sports & Movies HD, Sky Fibre unlimited
Posts: 13,992
Stephen has a nice shiny starStephen has a nice shiny starStephen has a nice shiny star
Stephen has a nice shiny starStephen has a nice shiny starStephen has a nice shiny starStephen has a nice shiny starStephen has a nice shiny starStephen has a nice shiny starStephen has a nice shiny starStephen has a nice shiny starStephen has a nice shiny starStephen has a nice shiny starStephen has a nice shiny starStephen has a nice shiny starStephen has a nice shiny star
Re: Video Card info

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dude111 View Post
Ya I would say get the one that offers the most resolutions....... It makes a difference when playing games!!

I play Alot of Mame games,Atari 2600 and Coleco games and im glad they fill the whole screen! (Like I was on the arcade game/console)

I have Atari 2600 and Coleco consoles but niether are hooked up.....
Resolution isn't dictated by the GPU. It's the monitor that limits your Resolution. Monitors now are either 1080p, 1440p or 4k with ultrawide monitors also being an option with different resolutions.

Anything will fill the screen if you maximise it or make it full screen.


I personally would go with the 7800XT it's got a 256bit memory bandwidth compared to 192 on the 4070 as well as its boost clock speed being slightly higher than the Nvidia card.

However it's ray tracing performance probably isn't as good as the 4070 but if you don't plan on running RT then it's performance will be better. It's also got more memory which means the card should last longer.

I have the next card up, the 7900XT and it was for me a much better option over the Nvidia alternative. Just ensure you have at least a 750w power supply.

Though if you already have an nvidia card you may prefer to stick with them AMD drivers aren't always the greatest.
__________________
AMD Ryzen 7 7700 | 32GB DDR5 6000 | RADEON 7900XT | WD 2TB NVME

Last edited by Stephen; 10-07-2024 at 07:17.
Stephen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2024, 07:31   #5
peanut
NUTS !!
 
peanut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 5,039
peanut has a nice shiny starpeanut has a nice shiny starpeanut has a nice shiny starpeanut has a nice shiny star
peanut has a nice shiny starpeanut has a nice shiny starpeanut has a nice shiny starpeanut has a nice shiny starpeanut has a nice shiny starpeanut has a nice shiny starpeanut has a nice shiny starpeanut has a nice shiny starpeanut has a nice shiny starpeanut has a nice shiny starpeanut has a nice shiny starpeanut has a nice shiny starpeanut has a nice shiny star
Re: Video Card info

Now he's even more stuck for answers, lol. Basically either cards are capable. Also depends on what you're planning to use it for, what other hardware you've got already etc such as what res/htz monitor you have too.

Personal choice do play a part, I don't think I'd go for an AMD card, but it's what I'm used to. I went from a 1080 to a 4090. I kind of regret it in a way as I really aren't using it enough and should have got a 4070 or 4080.
__________________
Oh what fun it is
peanut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2024, 08:55   #6
Jaymoss
Just a Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 3,694
Jaymoss has a bronzed appealJaymoss has a bronzed appeal
Jaymoss has a bronzed appealJaymoss has a bronzed appealJaymoss has a bronzed appealJaymoss has a bronzed appealJaymoss has a bronzed appealJaymoss has a bronzed appealJaymoss has a bronzed appealJaymoss has a bronzed appealJaymoss has a bronzed appealJaymoss has a bronzed appealJaymoss has a bronzed appealJaymoss has a bronzed appealJaymoss has a bronzed appealJaymoss has a bronzed appealJaymoss has a bronzed appealJaymoss has a bronzed appeal
Re: Video Card info

Quote:
Originally Posted by peanut View Post
Now he's even more stuck for answers, lol. Basically either cards are capable. Also depends on what you're planning to use it for, what other hardware you've got already etc such as what res/htz monitor you have too.

Personal choice do play a part, I don't think I'd go for an AMD card, but it's what I'm used to. I went from a 1080 to a 4090. I kind of regret it in a way as I really aren't using it enough and should have got a 4070 or 4080.
I game at 1440p ultrawide and opted for a 4070 TI which handles everything
__________________
Is your muffin buttered? Would you like me to assign someone to butter your muffin?
Jaymoss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2024, 09:49   #7
peanut
NUTS !!
 
peanut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 5,039
peanut has a nice shiny starpeanut has a nice shiny starpeanut has a nice shiny starpeanut has a nice shiny star
peanut has a nice shiny starpeanut has a nice shiny starpeanut has a nice shiny starpeanut has a nice shiny starpeanut has a nice shiny starpeanut has a nice shiny starpeanut has a nice shiny starpeanut has a nice shiny starpeanut has a nice shiny starpeanut has a nice shiny starpeanut has a nice shiny starpeanut has a nice shiny starpeanut has a nice shiny star
Re: Video Card info

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaymoss View Post
I game at 1440p ultrawide and opted for a 4070 TI which handles everything
Mine's 4k, and with everything on max, ray tracing on full etc doesn't really break a sweat. I just not making use of it all, kind of lost the mood for gaming just lately as there's not much new stuff around. At the mo a 4.5k pc is used mainly for browsing and TV out. Still, hopefully things will change at some point but at least I'll have the options for a few years to come.
__________________
Oh what fun it is
peanut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2024, 10:01   #8
Jaymoss
Just a Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 3,694
Jaymoss has a bronzed appealJaymoss has a bronzed appeal
Jaymoss has a bronzed appealJaymoss has a bronzed appealJaymoss has a bronzed appealJaymoss has a bronzed appealJaymoss has a bronzed appealJaymoss has a bronzed appealJaymoss has a bronzed appealJaymoss has a bronzed appealJaymoss has a bronzed appealJaymoss has a bronzed appealJaymoss has a bronzed appealJaymoss has a bronzed appealJaymoss has a bronzed appealJaymoss has a bronzed appealJaymoss has a bronzed appealJaymoss has a bronzed appeal
Re: Video Card info

Quote:
Originally Posted by peanut View Post
Mine's 4k, and with everything on max, ray tracing on full etc doesn't really break a sweat. I just not making use of it all, kind of lost the mood for gaming just lately as there's not much new stuff around. At the mo a 4.5k pc is used mainly for browsing and TV out. Still, hopefully things will change at some point but at least I'll have the options for a few years to come.
Star Wars Outlaws mate. I can not wait for this game
__________________
Is your muffin buttered? Would you like me to assign someone to butter your muffin?
Jaymoss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2024, 10:09   #9
Stephen
Bah Humbug!!
 
Stephen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Glasgow
Age: 43
Services: Sky Q 2Tb, Sky Q mini, boxsets and Sports & Movies HD, Sky Fibre unlimited
Posts: 13,992
Stephen has a nice shiny starStephen has a nice shiny starStephen has a nice shiny star
Stephen has a nice shiny starStephen has a nice shiny starStephen has a nice shiny starStephen has a nice shiny starStephen has a nice shiny starStephen has a nice shiny starStephen has a nice shiny starStephen has a nice shiny starStephen has a nice shiny starStephen has a nice shiny starStephen has a nice shiny starStephen has a nice shiny starStephen has a nice shiny star
Re: Video Card info

Quote:
Originally Posted by peanut View Post
Now he's even more stuck for answers, lol. Basically either cards are capable. Also depends on what you're planning to use it for, what other hardware you've got already etc such as what res/htz monitor you have too.

Personal choice do play a part, I don't think I'd go for an AMD card, but it's what I'm used to. I went from a 1080 to a 4090. I kind of regret it in a way as I really aren't using it enough and should have got a 4070 or 4080.
I've always went for AMD usually a bit cheaper than the IMO overpriced Nvidia cards.

The 7900 is near the top of AMD cards with only the 7900XTX higher than it.

Currently only gaming at 1080p as need a new monitor but Doom Eternal maxed out with RT on and over 400fps. Hogwart's Legacy maxed with RT just over 100fps. RE4 remake maxed with full RT gets about 80fps.

It was 799.99 when I got it last June. Can be had a bit cheaper now though.

I should have asked the OP what CPU etc they have as don't want it bottle packing the GPU.
__________________
AMD Ryzen 7 7700 | 32GB DDR5 6000 | RADEON 7900XT | WD 2TB NVME
Stephen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-07-2024, 21:06   #10
Hom3r
Mum 15/08/46 - 30/09/20
 
Hom3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Galactic Sector ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha, A secret Moonbase (shh don't tell anybody)
Age: 55
Services: 1 V6, 2x1TB TiVo, SH3. Samsung Galaxy Note 10+ 5G, Ton's of Smart Home stuff, & Cuddy Toy
Posts: 17,016
Hom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny stars
Hom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Video Card info

Could the motherboard handle a newer GFX?
__________________
I'm a Trustee & Secretary for a local charity

STAY AT HOME: I found out that mum will never walk again as the coronavirus attacked her nervous system. She died on September 30th.
Hom3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-07-2024, 22:38   #11
Stephen
Bah Humbug!!
 
Stephen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Glasgow
Age: 43
Services: Sky Q 2Tb, Sky Q mini, boxsets and Sports & Movies HD, Sky Fibre unlimited
Posts: 13,992
Stephen has a nice shiny starStephen has a nice shiny starStephen has a nice shiny star
Stephen has a nice shiny starStephen has a nice shiny starStephen has a nice shiny starStephen has a nice shiny starStephen has a nice shiny starStephen has a nice shiny starStephen has a nice shiny starStephen has a nice shiny starStephen has a nice shiny starStephen has a nice shiny starStephen has a nice shiny starStephen has a nice shiny starStephen has a nice shiny star
Re: Video Card info

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hom3r View Post
Could the motherboard handle a newer GFX?
Aye it shouldn't have any issues with a newer card.
__________________
AMD Ryzen 7 7700 | 32GB DDR5 6000 | RADEON 7900XT | WD 2TB NVME
Stephen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:41.


Server: osmium.zmnt.uk
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
All Posts and Content are Cable Forum