Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | ASUS RT-AC88U providing unstable and incomplete service

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Computers & IT > Networking

ASUS RT-AC88U providing unstable and incomplete service
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 24-10-2018, 20:45   #1
roughbeast
cf.mega poster
 
roughbeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Coventry Cab CV826
Services: 300Mb /20mb, TV V+ HD/ TIVO 1Tb, Phone XL Talk unlimited and mobile x4
Posts: 1,515
roughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of society
Angry ASUS RT-AC88U providing unstable and incomplete service

I recently had to replace my AC88U with another after the WAN port died and ceased to pick up a connection through my Virgin Media Superhub 3 (modem-only mode). I made sure that I saved the current settings so that my stable arrangements continued.

As soon as my replacement arrived I set it up with default settings without any LAN connection. Bit by bit I added network components, such as switches, clients, media and my old N66U in AP mode. All seemed well until my family tried to connect from their devices by Ethernet and wifi.


1) Devices dropped internet connection even though connected to the router by Ethernet.
2) Devices dropped internet connection even though connected to the router by wifi.
3) Virgin Media 'On Demand' and 'Catch up' ,which require an internet connection , became inaccessible.
4) My Kodi boxes failed to connect to the AC88U media server, but could access the N66U media server via the AC88U!
5) My Kodi boxes could not connect to my cloud media via Livedrive
6) My pal in Kefalonia could connect to my VPN server but could no longer stream BBC iPlayer content.
7) My FON hotspot went off line even though it was a visible client.

All these problems can be temporarily put right by rebooting my modem and the AC88U simultaneously and then rebooting devices and/or by disabling and re-enabling network adaptors. After a while the problems re-appear.

I have tried everything including reinstating my old settings, restoring factory settings and starting again and by allocating ip addresses manually. Bizarrely, if I reinstate my old N66U as the DCHP server, the network runs smoothly. This is not a permanent solution because the AC88U has features and capacity unavailable on the N66U.

Has anyone any ideas as to what might be the issue? 1) Firmware issues? 2) Faulty kit?
__________________
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Coventry Cab CV826
Services: 500Mb /35Mb, V6 box X2, Phone XL Talk unlimited and mobile x4. SH3 modem mode with Asus RT-NAC88U
roughbeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 24-10-2018, 21:33   #2
videodj
cf.addict
 
videodj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Northampton
Age: 42
Services: Vivid 300Mb, Tivo V6, Tivo (Full House TV)
Posts: 342
videodj will become famous soon enoughvideodj will become famous soon enoughvideodj will become famous soon enough
Re: ASUS RT-AC88U providing unstable and incomplete service

I'd say it's faulty, I brought an Asus router last year, had nothin but problems, so replaced with a Netgear Night Hawk, and my network has been rock solid since. I won't touch Asus routers again.
__________________
Asus Rog Maximus X Hero, i7 8700k @ 4.7Ghz, 32Gb Corsair DDR4 PC3000 RAM, Asus Rog Strix RX Vega 64, 1 x 500Gb SanDisk Ultra 3D, 1 x 1Tb SanDisk Ultra 3D, 1 x 1Tb Seagate BarraCuda , W10 Pro 64 Bit, Xbox One, PS4, Galaxy S8+
videodj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-10-2018, 22:06   #3
roughbeast
cf.mega poster
 
roughbeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Coventry Cab CV826
Services: 300Mb /20mb, TV V+ HD/ TIVO 1Tb, Phone XL Talk unlimited and mobile x4
Posts: 1,515
roughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of society
Re: ASUS RT-AC88U providing unstable and incomplete service

Quote:
Originally Posted by videodj View Post
I'd say it's faulty, I brought an Asus router last year, had nothin but problems, so replaced with a Netgear Night Hawk, and my network has been rock solid since. I won't touch Asus routers again.
I am beginning to wonder.

What VPN server protocols has the Night Hawk? Does it do iMesh?
__________________
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Coventry Cab CV826
Services: 500Mb /35Mb, V6 box X2, Phone XL Talk unlimited and mobile x4. SH3 modem mode with Asus RT-NAC88U
roughbeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-10-2018, 09:54   #4
alanbjames
cf.mega poster
 
alanbjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Swansea, South Wales UK.
Age: 68
Services: XL Phone, XXL 350mb BB SH3 (wired).
Posts: 2,112
alanbjames has a brilliant futurealanbjames has a brilliant futurealanbjames has a brilliant futurealanbjames has a brilliant futurealanbjames has a brilliant futurealanbjames has a brilliant futurealanbjames has a brilliant futurealanbjames has a brilliant futurealanbjames has a brilliant futurealanbjames has a brilliant futurealanbjames has a brilliant futurealanbjames has a brilliant future
Re: ASUS RT-AC88U providing unstable and incomplete service

I had a Netgear Nighthawk X6 R8000. One of the worst routers i had. I had it 10 months, since the outset i saw a 10% decrease in wifi speed, browsing was sluggish and if u need to update router settings the entire router has to reboot each time.

I got so annoyed with it i took a hammer to it and its the best thing i could have done for the Netgear was to put it out of its misery.

I replaced for an Asus AC86U and all now is well, i had the AC87u before i bought the netgear but it packed in, wouldnt power on.
alanbjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-10-2018, 21:22   #5
Hom3r
Proud Ex EU Citizen.
 
Hom3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Galactic Sector ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha, www.daves-world.co.uk. A secret Moonbase (shh don't tell anybody)
Age: 50
Services: 1 V6 Tivo, 2x1TB Tivo, , SH3. Samsung Galaxy Note 8, Smart Home stuff, & Cuddy Toy
Posts: 15,292
Hom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny stars
Hom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny stars
Re: ASUS RT-AC88U providing unstable and incomplete service

I bought the AC88U but got zero wifi downstairs, so I returned it to Amazon, and bought a Netgear Nighthawk X6, so far so good.
__________________
I voted leave, Leave means leave, and NO to an illegal 2nd referendum. We already voted in a democratic vote. Twitter Facebook
My Blog
Hom3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-10-2018, 14:58   #6
roughbeast
cf.mega poster
 
roughbeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Coventry Cab CV826
Services: 300Mb /20mb, TV V+ HD/ TIVO 1Tb, Phone XL Talk unlimited and mobile x4
Posts: 1,515
roughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of society
Re: ASUS RT-AC88U providing unstable and incomplete service

Things are looking up.

Someone in another forum told me that, because the AC88U has two internal switches to service the 8 ethernet ports, we need to take care what ports we use. It is better to put your key network cables in ports 1-4 or in 5-8, not to mix them. That advice seems to be correct. I now have a stable the system. Services are running normally.

This begs the question: What do I do if I need more than 4 switches to run a larger network?
__________________
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Coventry Cab CV826
Services: 500Mb /35Mb, V6 box X2, Phone XL Talk unlimited and mobile x4. SH3 modem mode with Asus RT-NAC88U
roughbeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-10-2018, 16:28   #7
heero_yuy
Perfect Soldier
 
heero_yuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Worthing West Sussex
Age: 62
Services: VM 70M SHUB thingy in modem mode XL TV VboxHD Sony Bravia smart TV and M phone
Posts: 15,468
heero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny stars
heero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny starsheero_yuy has a pair of shiny stars
Re: ASUS RT-AC88U providing unstable and incomplete service

The general advice is to build your network pyramid like, not daisy chain to get the maximum throughput.
__________________
History is much like an endless waltz. The three beats of war, peace and revolution continue on forever.
However history will change with my coronation - Mariemaia Kushrenada
heero_yuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-10-2018, 21:23   #8
alanbjames
cf.mega poster
 
alanbjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Swansea, South Wales UK.
Age: 68
Services: XL Phone, XXL 350mb BB SH3 (wired).
Posts: 2,112
alanbjames has a brilliant futurealanbjames has a brilliant futurealanbjames has a brilliant futurealanbjames has a brilliant futurealanbjames has a brilliant futurealanbjames has a brilliant futurealanbjames has a brilliant futurealanbjames has a brilliant futurealanbjames has a brilliant futurealanbjames has a brilliant futurealanbjames has a brilliant futurealanbjames has a brilliant future
Re: ASUS RT-AC88U providing unstable and incomplete service

I'm gonna have to get that Egyptian friend of mine in for a few ideas then.
alanbjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-10-2018, 22:48   #9
Uncle Peter
81-82-83-84
 
Uncle Peter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: on holiday by mistake
Age: 49
Services: Vivid 200, Full House, V6 x2
Posts: 5,869
Uncle Peter has a nice shiny starUncle Peter has a nice shiny starUncle Peter has a nice shiny star
Uncle Peter has a nice shiny starUncle Peter has a nice shiny starUncle Peter has a nice shiny starUncle Peter has a nice shiny starUncle Peter has a nice shiny star
Re: ASUS RT-AC88U providing unstable and incomplete service

Quote:
Originally Posted by roughbeast View Post
Things are looking up.

Someone in another forum told me that, because the AC88U has two internal switches to service the 8 ethernet ports, we need to take care what ports we use. It is better to put your key network cables in ports 1-4 or in 5-8, not to mix them. That advice seems to be correct. I now have a stable the system. Services are running normally.

This begs the question: What do I do if I need more than 4 switches to run a larger network?
According to the specs yep there's a broadcom set and a realtek set in 2 banks of 4Ge ports. Something's obviously dodgy, most probably the firmware which would come as no great surprise.

Have you checked the cpu utilisation when it's playing up? ssh to the thing and run 'top'. Toggle between the cores with 1 to see if there are any problems.

Btw if you were ever in a situation where your network had some kind of requirement for 4x physical switches then the first place to put that Asus thing would be ebay or in the bin
__________________
Nero fiddles while Gordon burns... in his Joy Division oven gloves
Uncle Peter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:01.


Server: xenon.zmnt.net
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.