Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Does VM suffer from subsidence issues?

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media TV Service

Does VM suffer from subsidence issues?
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 30-04-2020, 06:41   #1
RichardCoulter
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 7,772
RichardCoulter has disabled reputation
Does VM suffer from subsidence issues?

Someone who used to work on a cable system in the past has told me this:

'To be honest, the overhead one was far better - as the underground one suffered from subsidence, with the entire estate slowly sliding further down the hill - pulling wall boxes off houses and dragging them under ground, and even snapping cables.'

Does the modern system have the same problem? You'd think it would, but i've never heard of any incidents.

He also said that their system used 60 to 65V (said to be the same as the UK telephone system) Is this enough to give you a bad electric shock? What does the modern day VM system use?

Last edited by RichardCoulter; 30-04-2020 at 06:49.
RichardCoulter is online now   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 30-04-2020, 07:52   #2
vm_tech
cf.addict
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 318
vm_tech is a name known to allvm_tech is a name known to allvm_tech is a name known to allvm_tech is a name known to allvm_tech is a name known to allvm_tech is a name known to allvm_tech is a name known to allvm_tech is a name known to all
Re: Does VM suffer from subsidence issues?

In my 12 years in the industry, working on a predominantly underground network (eg distribution tabs underground not just cables) I’ve never heard of a network subsiding and taking down wall boxes cabinets etc. There are cases where ducts etc have collapsed for various reasons, but not just due to being underground. The telephone network runs on 48v DC, and the HFC network is 60v AC, but the AC the will not be passing through customer drop cables, only down trunk coax to power amplifiers. The FTTP network is completely passive after the hub cabinet in the street
vm_tech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-04-2020, 08:48   #3
BenMcr
Virgin Media Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Manchester
Services: V6 x2, Maxit TV, Sky Sports and Sky Cinema. Gig1
Posts: 16,806
BenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny stars
BenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Does VM suffer from subsidence issues?

Quote:
Originally Posted by RichardCoulter View Post
'To be honest, the overhead one was far better - as the underground one suffered from subsidence, with the entire estate slowly sliding further down the hill - pulling wall boxes off houses and dragging them under ground, and even snapping cables.'
The problem there is the other way around by the sounds of it - the estate has the problem causing issues with the ducts and underground infrastructure. They probably had the same issues with any other utilities such as water or electricity.
__________________
I work for Virgin Media but all views are my own.
BenMcr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-04-2020, 12:00   #4
RichardCoulter
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 7,772
RichardCoulter has disabled reputation
Re: Does VM suffer from subsidence issues?

Quote:
Originally Posted by BenMcr View Post
The problem there is the other way around by the sounds of it - the estate has the problem causing issues with the ducts and underground infrastructure. They probably had the same issues with any other utilities such as water or electricity.
Yes, it was the estate that was subsiding. I should have been more clear.
RichardCoulter is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 30-04-2020, 19:32   #5
sollp
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: here
Age: 51
Services: Virginmobile,Sky TV, ZEN 76Mb,ZEN Phone line.
Posts: 1,270
sollp is the helpful onesollp is the helpful onesollp is the helpful onesollp is the helpful onesollp is the helpful onesollp is the helpful onesollp is the helpful onesollp is the helpful onesollp is the helpful onesollp is the helpful onesollp is the helpful onesollp is the helpful onesollp is the helpful onesollp is the helpful onesollp is the helpful onesollp is the helpful onesollp is the helpful onesollp is the helpful one
Re: Does VM suffer from subsidence issues?

Quote:
Originally Posted by RichardCoulter View Post
Yes, it was the estate that was subsiding. I should have been more clear.
I think you've answered your own question
__________________
"Once a Poacher, Always a Poacher"
sollp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-04-2020, 21:00   #6
Paul
Dr Pepper Addict
Cable Forum Team
 
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Nottingham
Services: VM Phone : Sky Mobile : Sky TV : VM BB (350 Mbps) : Vodafone BB (38 Mbps)
Posts: 23,287
Paul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered stars
Paul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered stars
Re: Does VM suffer from subsidence issues?

Quote:
Originally Posted by RichardCoulter View Post
He also said that their system used 60 to 65V (said to be the same as the UK telephone system)
The UK Telephone system works on 50v DC (at least the BT exchanges do, I would think VM are the same).
__________________

Baby, I was born this way.
Paul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2020, 11:00   #7
nodrogd
cf.mega poster
 
nodrogd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: West Herts
Services: FHTV, Sports & Movies (2x V6), TA Telco, VIVID 350. Freeview/Freesat HD, Virgin Mobile, Tesco Mobile
Posts: 1,685
nodrogd is just so famous around these partsnodrogd is just so famous around these partsnodrogd is just so famous around these partsnodrogd is just so famous around these partsnodrogd is just so famous around these partsnodrogd is just so famous around these partsnodrogd is just so famous around these partsnodrogd is just so famous around these partsnodrogd is just so famous around these partsnodrogd is just so famous around these partsnodrogd is just so famous around these partsnodrogd is just so famous around these partsnodrogd is just so famous around these partsnodrogd is just so famous around these partsnodrogd is just so famous around these parts
Re: Does VM suffer from subsidence issues?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul View Post
The UK Telephone system works on 50v DC (at least the BT exchanges do, I would think VM are the same).
No itís not. Most of the cable kit works at 48v, and some of the older Nokia kit works as low as 37v, which is why some customers with older phones used to have issues switching to cable when it first came out in the UK.
nodrogd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2020, 12:35   #8
RichardCoulter
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 7,772
RichardCoulter has disabled reputation
Re: Does VM suffer from subsidence issues?

Quote:
Originally Posted by sollp View Post
I think you've answered your own question
How so?

---------- Post added at 12:34 ---------- Previous post was at 12:32 ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by nodrogd View Post
No itís not. Most of the cable kit works at 48v, and some of the older Nokia kit works as low as 37v, which is why some customers with older phones used to have issues switching to cable when it first came out in the UK.
Would these voltages be enough to give you a shock? Could they be dangerous?

---------- Post added at 12:35 ---------- Previous post was at 12:34 ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by vm_tech View Post
In my 12 years in the industry, working on a predominantly underground network (eg distribution tabs underground not just cables) Iíve never heard of a network subsiding and taking down wall boxes cabinets etc. There are cases where ducts etc have collapsed for various reasons, but not just due to being underground. The telephone network runs on 48v DC, and the HFC network is 60v AC, but the AC the will not be passing through customer drop cables, only down trunk coax to power amplifiers. The FTTP network is completely passive after the hub cabinet in the street
Passive??
RichardCoulter is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2020, 16:41   #9
sollp
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: here
Age: 51
Services: Virginmobile,Sky TV, ZEN 76Mb,ZEN Phone line.
Posts: 1,270
sollp is the helpful onesollp is the helpful onesollp is the helpful onesollp is the helpful onesollp is the helpful onesollp is the helpful onesollp is the helpful onesollp is the helpful onesollp is the helpful onesollp is the helpful onesollp is the helpful onesollp is the helpful onesollp is the helpful onesollp is the helpful onesollp is the helpful onesollp is the helpful onesollp is the helpful onesollp is the helpful one
Re: Does VM suffer from subsidence issues?

Quote:
Originally Posted by RichardCoulter View Post
Yes, it was the estate that was subsiding. I should have been more clear.
This so

---------- Post added at 16:41 ---------- Previous post was at 16:37 ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by RichardCoulter View Post
How so?

---------- Post added at 12:34 ---------- Previous post was at 12:32 ----------



Would these voltages be enough to give you a shock? Could they be dangerous?

The 60vac that powers the CATV network stops at the Distribution amp, from the Tap plate no voltage is present.

---------- Post added at 12:35 ---------- Previous post was at 12:34 ----------



Passive??
The VMT1 Cab receives the light from H/E, there is power in this cab and once the optical light leaves this cab to feed the L3 Nodes and L4 Distribution cabs there is no power at all involved, so is called,"Passive"
__________________
"Once a Poacher, Always a Poacher"
sollp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2020, 16:47   #10
1andrew1
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 7,178
1andrew1 has a bronzed appeal1andrew1 has a bronzed appeal
1andrew1 has a bronzed appeal1andrew1 has a bronzed appeal1andrew1 has a bronzed appeal1andrew1 has a bronzed appeal1andrew1 has a bronzed appeal1andrew1 has a bronzed appeal1andrew1 has a bronzed appeal1andrew1 has a bronzed appeal1andrew1 has a bronzed appeal1andrew1 has a bronzed appeal
Re: Does VM suffer from subsidence issues?

Quote:
Originally Posted by RichardCoulter View Post
Yes, it was the estate that was subsiding. I should have been more clear.
If it's the estate that 's subsiding then everything on the estate will presumably subside, not just the telecomms infrastructure.
1andrew1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2020, 16:51   #11
sollp
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: here
Age: 51
Services: Virginmobile,Sky TV, ZEN 76Mb,ZEN Phone line.
Posts: 1,270
sollp is the helpful onesollp is the helpful onesollp is the helpful onesollp is the helpful onesollp is the helpful onesollp is the helpful onesollp is the helpful onesollp is the helpful onesollp is the helpful onesollp is the helpful onesollp is the helpful onesollp is the helpful onesollp is the helpful onesollp is the helpful onesollp is the helpful onesollp is the helpful onesollp is the helpful onesollp is the helpful one
Re: Does VM suffer from subsidence issues?

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1andrew1 View Post
If it's the estate that 's subsiding then everything on the estate will presumably subside, not just the telecomms infrastructure.
Yes exactly
__________________
"Once a Poacher, Always a Poacher"
sollp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2020, 18:28   #12
pip08456
Sad Doig Fan!
 
pip08456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Barry South Wales
Age: 64
Services: Now back with VM for BB & phone. 50Mb service.
Posts: 9,210
pip08456 has a nice shiny star
pip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny star
Re: Does VM suffer from subsidence issues?

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1andrew1 View Post
If it's the estate that 's subsiding then everything on the estate will presumably subside, not just the telecomms infrastructure.
Rather obvious to everyone except Richard.
pip08456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2020, 18:46   #13
RichardCoulter
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 7,772
RichardCoulter has disabled reputation
Re: Does VM suffer from subsidence issues?

Away with your rudeness.

Thank you to everyone else. Are there any cases where this affects Virgin Media infrastructure?
RichardCoulter is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2020, 19:02   #14
pip08456
Sad Doig Fan!
 
pip08456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Barry South Wales
Age: 64
Services: Now back with VM for BB & phone. 50Mb service.
Posts: 9,210
pip08456 has a nice shiny star
pip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny star
Re: Does VM suffer from subsidence issues?

Quote:
Originally Posted by RichardCoulter View Post
Away with your rudeness.

Thank you to everyone else. Are there any cases where this affects Virgin Media infrastructure?
See post 2
pip08456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-2020, 10:32   #15
punkrock101
cf.member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Newtownabbey
Age: 32
Services: Sky+HD with full viewing packages, Virgin Mix TV with a TiVo V6 box, VM VIVID 350 BB
Posts: 54
punkrock101 is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Does VM suffer from subsidence issues?

If the whole estate was subsiding Virgin cables would be the least of my worries.. I incidentally live on a hill so if my house started subsiding so would Gas & Water mains making it very dangerous indeed.
punkrock101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 13:13.


Server: xenon.zmnt.net
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.