Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | What operating system do you use?

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Computers & IT > General IT Discussion

What operating system do you use?
View Poll Results: What Os do you run?
Windows 7 2 5.41%
Windows 10 14 37.84%
MacOS 3 8.11%
ChromeOS 2 5.41%
iOS 1 2.70%
Android 0 0%
Linux 2 5.41%
Other 2 5.41%
Windows 11 11 29.73%
Voters: 37. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-05-2022, 13:48   #1
Halcyon
Hello !
 
Halcyon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: East Midlands
Services: Sky, AppleTV, Netflix
Posts: 16,230
Halcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered stars
Halcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered stars
What operating system do you use?

Just wondering what operating system everyone uses and who's now on Windows 11 or other operating systems?
And your reasons why.
__________________
.
-

Halcyon is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 10-05-2022, 14:01   #2
Jaymoss
Just a Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 1,900
Jaymoss has reached the bronze age
Jaymoss has reached the bronze ageJaymoss has reached the bronze ageJaymoss has reached the bronze ageJaymoss has reached the bronze ageJaymoss has reached the bronze ageJaymoss has reached the bronze ageJaymoss has reached the bronze ageJaymoss has reached the bronze ageJaymoss has reached the bronze ageJaymoss has reached the bronze age
Re: What operating system do you use?

Windows 11 cuz ya got to keep up hahaha

you missed 11 off the Poll btw Had to hit other
Jaymoss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2022, 14:04   #3
Hugh
Hic Sunt Dracones
Cable Forum Team
 
Hugh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Age: 65
Services: Premiere Collection
Posts: 39,695
Hugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden aura
Hugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden aura
Re: What operating system do you use?

Windows 11 (added to poll)

Jaymoss, added your vote to "Windows 11" (and removed from ‘other’)

Also, iOS on my iPad and Android on my phone (OnePlus 7 Pro).
__________________
There is always light.
If only we’re brave enough to see it.
If only we’re brave enough to be it
.
If my post is in bold and this colour, it's a Moderator Request.
Hugh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2022, 14:07   #4
admars
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,525
admars has reached the bronze age
admars has reached the bronze ageadmars has reached the bronze ageadmars has reached the bronze ageadmars has reached the bronze age
Re: What operating system do you use?

depends which device I'm using.

work laptop win 10
old own laptop linux mint
recent own laptop win 11 insider/linux mint
phone android
admars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2022, 14:33   #5
heero_yuy
Perfect Soldier
 
heero_yuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Worthing West Sussex
Age: 65
Services: VM 500M SH3 thingy in modem mode XL TV V6 Sony Bravia smart TV and M phone
Posts: 10,476
heero_yuy is seeing silvered starsheero_yuy is seeing silvered starsheero_yuy is seeing silvered starsheero_yuy is seeing silvered stars
heero_yuy is seeing silvered starsheero_yuy is seeing silvered starsheero_yuy is seeing silvered starsheero_yuy is seeing silvered starsheero_yuy is seeing silvered starsheero_yuy is seeing silvered stars
Re: What operating system do you use?

HP probook Laptop is W7 with classic shell
Samsung Galaxy A12 Phone is Android.
Bravia smart TV is Sony's version of Mint
The desk PC is XP SP3 for legacy reasons
__________________
History is much like an endless waltz: The three beats of war, peace and revolution continue on forever.
However history will change with my coronation - Mariemaia Khushrenada
heero_yuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2022, 14:38   #6
cheekyangus
cf.mega poster
 
cheekyangus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,383
cheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quadscheekyangus has a fine set of Quads
Re: What operating system do you use?

Quote:
Originally Posted by heero_yuy View Post
HP probook Laptop is W7 with classic shell
Samsung Galaxy A12 Phone is Android.
Bravia smart TV is Sony's version of Mint
The desk PC is XP SP3 for legacy reasons
I knew Sony had used versions of Linux over the years, but I didn't know they'd used a Mint "flavour", they don't normally give enough information to be that specific.
cheekyangus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2022, 14:54   #7
heero_yuy
Perfect Soldier
 
heero_yuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Worthing West Sussex
Age: 65
Services: VM 500M SH3 thingy in modem mode XL TV V6 Sony Bravia smart TV and M phone
Posts: 10,476
heero_yuy is seeing silvered starsheero_yuy is seeing silvered starsheero_yuy is seeing silvered starsheero_yuy is seeing silvered stars
heero_yuy is seeing silvered starsheero_yuy is seeing silvered starsheero_yuy is seeing silvered starsheero_yuy is seeing silvered starsheero_yuy is seeing silvered starsheero_yuy is seeing silvered stars
Re: What operating system do you use?

Quote:
Originally Posted by cheekyangus View Post
I knew Sony had used versions of Linux over the years, but I didn't know they'd used a Mint "flavour", they don't normally give enough information to be that specific.

When I was trying to sort out a media serving problem I used the Universal Media Server as an experiment ( I currently use Serviio) and it reported the renderer's OS as Mint. They changed the next year to Android and my set must be a bit of a hybrid because I have had an occasional error message: The Android process has stopped.
__________________
History is much like an endless waltz: The three beats of war, peace and revolution continue on forever.
However history will change with my coronation - Mariemaia Khushrenada
heero_yuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2022, 15:12   #8
Halcyon
Hello !
 
Halcyon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: East Midlands
Services: Sky, AppleTV, Netflix
Posts: 16,230
Halcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered stars
Halcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered starsHalcyon is seeing silvered stars
Re: What operating system do you use?

At home I'm a Mac user so MacOS for me. I like how it just works and things are easy to find and do.
So we have a combination of iOs and MacOS devices.



At work we are mostly Windows 10 but I'm going to be trialing out Windows 11 in the near future and checking it gets on with all my Global Policies I have set on the Domain.


Found a member of staff still bringing in their old Windows 7 laptop the other day.

Quickly taken out of service and upgraded.
__________________
.
-

Halcyon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2022, 15:20   #9
SnoopZ
CF Resident Dog
 
SnoopZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13,160
SnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny stars
SnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny stars
Re: What operating system do you use?

Windows 10 but if Microsoft hadn't screwed me over with the Windows 11 requirements I would have moved to that.

Android on mobile devices.
__________________
PSN: Snoopzster
SnoopZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2022, 16:14   #10
Chris
Trollsplatter
Cable Forum Team
 
Chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: North of Watford
Services: Humane elimination of all common Internet pests
Posts: 35,570
Chris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden aura
Chris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden aura
Re: What operating system do you use?

This would have made more sense as a multi-choice poll as most people now use multiple devices and they aren’t all loaded with Microsoft.

I do about 90% of my work and all of my leisure on an iPad, about half of that with a keyboard attached, so I’ve selected iOS in the poll. However there are still some tasks in my working week that require a full desktop so I also use MacOS.
Chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2022, 16:33   #11
Jaymoss
Just a Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 1,900
Jaymoss has reached the bronze age
Jaymoss has reached the bronze ageJaymoss has reached the bronze ageJaymoss has reached the bronze ageJaymoss has reached the bronze ageJaymoss has reached the bronze ageJaymoss has reached the bronze ageJaymoss has reached the bronze ageJaymoss has reached the bronze ageJaymoss has reached the bronze ageJaymoss has reached the bronze age
Re: What operating system do you use?

Windows 11 PC
Windows 10 Laptop
Android Phone and 2 tablets
OpenATV and Wookiebuild on my Mut@ant HD2
Android TV Skinned by Amazon on my Firestick and Firecube
DD WRT on my linksys router running as secondary behind a VPN

Thought I would go mad on it seeing as a TV was mentioned hahaha
Jaymoss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2022, 17:31   #12
Paul
Dr Pepper Addict
Cable Forum Team
 
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Nottingham
Services: VM Phone : Sky Mobile : Sky TV : VM BB (350 Mbps) : Talk-Talk BB (72 Mbps)
Posts: 25,533
Paul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered stars
Paul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered stars
Re: What operating system do you use?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris View Post
This would have made more sense as a multi-choice poll.
This.

W7 at home
W10 at work
Centos 6 on my older servers.
Centos 7 on my newer servers.
__________________

Baby, I was born this way.
Paul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2022, 17:33   #13
Jaymoss
Just a Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 1,900
Jaymoss has reached the bronze age
Jaymoss has reached the bronze ageJaymoss has reached the bronze ageJaymoss has reached the bronze ageJaymoss has reached the bronze ageJaymoss has reached the bronze ageJaymoss has reached the bronze ageJaymoss has reached the bronze ageJaymoss has reached the bronze ageJaymoss has reached the bronze ageJaymoss has reached the bronze age
Re: What operating system do you use?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul View Post
This.

W7 at home
W10 at work
Centos 6 on my older servers.
Centos 7 on my newer servers.
Do you run the servers local? how big a hit has the new electricity charges have you had to take?
Jaymoss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2022, 17:36   #14
Paul
Dr Pepper Addict
Cable Forum Team
 
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Nottingham
Services: VM Phone : Sky Mobile : Sky TV : VM BB (350 Mbps) : Talk-Talk BB (72 Mbps)
Posts: 25,533
Paul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered stars
Paul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered stars
Re: What operating system do you use?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaymoss View Post
Do you run the servers local?
Nope, they are all in data centres.
__________________

Baby, I was born this way.
Paul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2022, 17:38   #15
Jaymoss
Just a Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 1,900
Jaymoss has reached the bronze age
Jaymoss has reached the bronze ageJaymoss has reached the bronze ageJaymoss has reached the bronze ageJaymoss has reached the bronze ageJaymoss has reached the bronze ageJaymoss has reached the bronze ageJaymoss has reached the bronze ageJaymoss has reached the bronze ageJaymoss has reached the bronze ageJaymoss has reached the bronze age
Re: What operating system do you use?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul View Post
Nope, they are all in data centres.
arrr right I get ya
Jaymoss is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:19.


Server: curium.zmnt.uk
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.