Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Range Extenders

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Computers & IT > Networking

Mesh Wifi
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-04-2019, 09:39   #1
mrmistoffelees
067
 
mrmistoffelees's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Middlesbrough
Age: 44
Services: Many
Posts: 2,965
mrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appeal
mrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appeal
Mesh Wifi

My trusty old AC66u unfortunately does not provide great whole house wireless coverage.

I've been looking at either the Asus Lyra or the Linksys Velop

Not sure if the Lyra is compatible with my router?


Anyone own/used either of the above or can suggest alternatives?
__________________
Nerves of steel, heart of gold, knob of butter......
mrmistoffelees is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 01-04-2019, 13:50   #2
Mr_love_monkey
Inactive
 
Mr_love_monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: London way
Age: 44
Services: Sarcasm
Posts: 8,376
Mr_love_monkey has a pair of shiny starsMr_love_monkey has a pair of shiny starsMr_love_monkey has a pair of shiny starsMr_love_monkey has a pair of shiny starsMr_love_monkey has a pair of shiny starsMr_love_monkey has a pair of shiny stars
Mr_love_monkey has a pair of shiny starsMr_love_monkey has a pair of shiny starsMr_love_monkey has a pair of shiny starsMr_love_monkey has a pair of shiny starsMr_love_monkey has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Mesh Wifi

Depends how you want to do it, and how many cables you want to run

I got one of these a while ago : https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

It's POE - so a single cable going to it (it comes with a poe injector if you don't have a POE switch).
Gives me better wifi than my router did, plus does other stuff (like a guest network).
At the moment it's just sitting on my desk, but I'm aiming to mount it somewhere - and possibly buy another one for another part of the house.

... but it is a commercial grade AP - so set up isn't as straight forward (there's an app you need to use) - and then you need a controller - which can either be running on your desk top (but you lose reporting facilities if your desk top isn't on) - or (as I'm doing) run the controller on a raspberry pi - which then gives you a web front end for reporting, and controlling the guest network
Mr_love_monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2019, 14:36   #3
Ramrod
[NTHW] pc clan
 
Ramrod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Tonbridge
Age: 53
Services: Freeview/ BT infinity
Posts: 21,782
Ramrod has a golden aura
Ramrod has a golden auraRamrod has a golden auraRamrod has a golden auraRamrod has a golden auraRamrod has a golden auraRamrod has a golden auraRamrod has a golden auraRamrod has a golden auraRamrod has a golden auraRamrod has a golden auraRamrod has a golden auraRamrod has a golden auraRamrod has a golden aura
Re: Mesh Wifi

I'm using BT's mesh offering at work and it works really well. I'm tempted to use the ASUS version at home as I have a ASUS router but the cost is a little eyewatering and my finance dept would probably veto the idea
__________________
Step by step, walk the thousand mile road...
-----------------------------------------------------

nthwgaming.co.uk
Ramrod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2019, 16:03   #4
Hugh
Hic Sunt Dracones
Cable Forum Team
 
Hugh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Age: 63
Services: Premiere Collection
Posts: 35,262
Hugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden aura
Hugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden aura
Re: Mesh Wifi

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ramrod View Post
I'm using BT's mesh offering at work and it works really well. I'm tempted to use the ASUS version at home as I have a ASUS router but the cost is a little eyewatering and my finance dept would probably veto the idea
Even if you bought her something nice?
__________________
If my post is in bold and this colour, it's a Moderator Request.
Hugh is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2019, 16:17   #5
ianch99
cf.mega poster
 
ianch99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 3,083
ianch99 has a bronzed appealianch99 has a bronzed appeal
ianch99 has a bronzed appealianch99 has a bronzed appealianch99 has a bronzed appealianch99 has a bronzed appealianch99 has a bronzed appealianch99 has a bronzed appealianch99 has a bronzed appealianch99 has a bronzed appealianch99 has a bronzed appealianch99 has a bronzed appealianch99 has a bronzed appealianch99 has a bronzed appealianch99 has a bronzed appealianch99 has a bronzed appealianch99 has a bronzed appealianch99 has a bronzed appealianch99 has a bronzed appeal
Re: Mesh Wifi

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrmistoffelees View Post
My trusty old AC66u unfortunately does not provide great whole house wireless coverage.

I've been looking at either the Asus Lyra or the Linksys Velop

Not sure if the Lyra is compatible with my router?


Anyone own/used either of the above or can suggest alternatives?
I have a Asus Mesh solution which is working well, fast and reliable. I sold my AC66U and bought 3 second hand AC68U on eBay. These all use a Cat6 backhaul and provide WiFi throughout the house, one on each floor. The latest ASUS firmware seem solid in the Mesh configuration. On my iPhone I can get my full broadband speed over wifi: 382/21 so the AC68U although a few years old seems more than capable enough.

A friend tried the low end Tenda MW3 3 pack solution at ~£80 from Amazon. He seems very happy with it. Only a 100MHz LAN port but if this is fine then a good cheap house-wide mesh solution. Their MW6 is the next step up but is approx £150 ..
__________________
pfsense + BT Whole Home WiFi
ianch99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2019, 16:58   #6
mrmistoffelees
067
 
mrmistoffelees's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Middlesbrough
Age: 44
Services: Many
Posts: 2,965
mrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appeal
mrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appeal
Re: Mesh Wifi

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr_love_monkey View Post
Depends how you want to do it, and how many cables you want to run

I got one of these a while ago : https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

It's POE - so a single cable going to it (it comes with a poe injector if you don't have a POE switch).
Gives me better wifi than my router did, plus does other stuff (like a guest network).
At the moment it's just sitting on my desk, but I'm aiming to mount it somewhere - and possibly buy another one for another part of the house.

... but it is a commercial grade AP - so set up isn't as straight forward (there's an app you need to use) - and then you need a controller - which can either be running on your desk top (but you lose reporting facilities if your desk top isn't on) - or (as I'm doing) run the controller on a raspberry pi - which then gives you a web front end for reporting, and controlling the guest network
I could go commercial as i have a ton of meraki stuff and licensing
__________________
Nerves of steel, heart of gold, knob of butter......
mrmistoffelees is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2019, 17:38   #7
Mr_love_monkey
Inactive
 
Mr_love_monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: London way
Age: 44
Services: Sarcasm
Posts: 8,376
Mr_love_monkey has a pair of shiny starsMr_love_monkey has a pair of shiny starsMr_love_monkey has a pair of shiny starsMr_love_monkey has a pair of shiny starsMr_love_monkey has a pair of shiny starsMr_love_monkey has a pair of shiny stars
Mr_love_monkey has a pair of shiny starsMr_love_monkey has a pair of shiny starsMr_love_monkey has a pair of shiny starsMr_love_monkey has a pair of shiny starsMr_love_monkey has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Mesh Wifi

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrmistoffelees View Post
I could go commercial as i have a ton of meraki stuff and licensing
You've changed man, it used to be just about the wifi, and now you've gone all commercial....I don't even know who you are anymore.


Meraki I hear is good, but after the licensing runs out you're left with an expensive paperweight.
Mr_love_monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2019, 18:10   #8
mrmistoffelees
067
 
mrmistoffelees's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Middlesbrough
Age: 44
Services: Many
Posts: 2,965
mrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appeal
mrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appeal
Re: Mesh Wifi

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr_love_monkey View Post
You've changed man, it used to be just about the wifi, and now you've gone all commercial....I don't even know who you are anymore.


Meraki I hear is good, but after the licensing runs out you're left with an expensive paperweight.
We just changed over to new hardware despite renewing Meraki licensing for 3yrs (because interfering from the heavens...) so I have loads of time the merakis can be sideloaded as well

I wasn’t sure if the Lyra and velop acted as repeaters and without cabling but if each unit needs a cable then I’ll go commercial because SSID block/spoofing etc
__________________
Nerves of steel, heart of gold, knob of butter......
mrmistoffelees is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2019, 17:55   #9
General Maximus
C/O Felix Legion
 
General Maximus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lincoln
Services: phone + L TV + 350mbit BB + Sky+HD
Posts: 9,332
General Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronze
General Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronze
Re: Mesh Wifi

If you are happy with Asus then you just need to upgrade to a mesh wifi option

https://www.amazon.co.uk/ASUS-RT-AC6...36&sr=8-2&th=1
__________________
Join the Mockingjay, join the fight
General Maximus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2019, 19:32   #10
ianch99
cf.mega poster
 
ianch99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 3,083
ianch99 has a bronzed appealianch99 has a bronzed appeal
ianch99 has a bronzed appealianch99 has a bronzed appealianch99 has a bronzed appealianch99 has a bronzed appealianch99 has a bronzed appealianch99 has a bronzed appealianch99 has a bronzed appealianch99 has a bronzed appealianch99 has a bronzed appealianch99 has a bronzed appealianch99 has a bronzed appealianch99 has a bronzed appealianch99 has a bronzed appealianch99 has a bronzed appealianch99 has a bronzed appealianch99 has a bronzed appealianch99 has a bronzed appeal
Re: Mesh Wifi

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Maximus View Post
If you are happy with Asus then you just need to upgrade to a mesh wifi option

https://www.amazon.co.uk/ASUS-RT-AC6...36&sr=8-2&th=1
I mentioned this above but I do not think he is interested.
__________________
pfsense + BT Whole Home WiFi
ianch99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2019, 19:51   #11
General Maximus
C/O Felix Legion
 
General Maximus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lincoln
Services: phone + L TV + 350mbit BB + Sky+HD
Posts: 9,332
General Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronze
General Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronze
Re: Mesh Wifi

Sorry i missed it. I was new to thread and read top and bottom skipped the middle.
__________________
Join the Mockingjay, join the fight
General Maximus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2019, 09:26   #12
mrmistoffelees
067
 
mrmistoffelees's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Middlesbrough
Age: 44
Services: Many
Posts: 2,965
mrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appeal
mrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appealmrmistoffelees has a bronzed appeal
Re: Mesh Wifi

sorry both, my apologies for missing posts...

I have an AC66u so dont really want to buy a new router.

I was hoping the lyra or velop would need only cable for the first unit...
__________________
Nerves of steel, heart of gold, knob of butter......
mrmistoffelees is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-04-2019, 07:37   #13
Hugh
Hic Sunt Dracones
Cable Forum Team
 
Hugh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Age: 63
Services: Premiere Collection
Posts: 35,262
Hugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden aura
Hugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden aura
Re: Mesh Wifi

Did you get a solution?

I’m thinking of buying this -

https://www.expertreviews.co.uk/netw...ue-mesh-system
__________________
If my post is in bold and this colour, it's a Moderator Request.
Hugh is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 23-04-2019, 11:57   #14
ianch99
cf.mega poster
 
ianch99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 3,083
ianch99 has a bronzed appealianch99 has a bronzed appeal
ianch99 has a bronzed appealianch99 has a bronzed appealianch99 has a bronzed appealianch99 has a bronzed appealianch99 has a bronzed appealianch99 has a bronzed appealianch99 has a bronzed appealianch99 has a bronzed appealianch99 has a bronzed appealianch99 has a bronzed appealianch99 has a bronzed appealianch99 has a bronzed appealianch99 has a bronzed appealianch99 has a bronzed appealianch99 has a bronzed appealianch99 has a bronzed appealianch99 has a bronzed appeal
Re: Mesh Wifi

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hugh View Post
Did you get a solution?

Iím thinking of buying this -

https://www.expertreviews.co.uk/netw...ue-mesh-system
Friend of mine has the MW3 model and he is very pleased with it. The MW6 seems to use a single 5MHz channel for backhaul and client traffic but I doubt this will be a real world issue for most people.

If you are quick, Amazon have a "used" one for £129:

https://smile.amazon.co.uk/gp/offer-...condition=used
__________________
pfsense + BT Whole Home WiFi
ianch99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-2019, 09:08   #15
jonbxx
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Rickmansworth, Herts
Age: 49
Services: VM VIP Pack
Posts: 1,090
jonbxx has reached the bronze age
jonbxx has reached the bronze agejonbxx has reached the bronze agejonbxx has reached the bronze agejonbxx has reached the bronze agejonbxx has reached the bronze agejonbxx has reached the bronze agejonbxx has reached the bronze agejonbxx has reached the bronze age
Re: Mesh Wifi

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hugh View Post
Did you get a solution?

Iím thinking of buying this -

https://www.expertreviews.co.uk/netw...ue-mesh-system
I've got this system and it works well. It's very easy to set up - you plug the first unit in to the router, set this up and the other units connect almost immediately. I currently have 19 devices connected (5 wired, 14 wireless including a V6 box) and it's totally stable, giving an 100Mb wireless connection for my phone using SpeedTest.

Any downsides? I once had the two satellites lose connection and had to reboot everything but this was once in a year. There isn't a web setup utility, you have to use a slightly clunky app but it covers most things. I had a small problem connecting a 2.4g kitchen device (Sous Vide Cooker - first world problems) but that was due to the phone I used to connect being on 5g. Once I sorted that, it was all good.
jonbxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:21.


Server: curium.zmnt.uk
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.