Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Virgin Media Changelog

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media TV Service

Virgin Media Changelog
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-12-2018, 10:47   #1201
BenMcr
Virgin Media Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Manchester
Services: Virgin Media V6 x2, Full House TV, VIVID 350
Posts: 16,617
BenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny stars
BenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Virgin Media Changelog

Quote:
Originally Posted by OLD BOY View Post
I agree, but maybe the strategy is now to procure UHD content for channel 999. I find it curious that the programmes currently showing on that channel are not available also on demand, but maybe that will change in the New Year.
That's probably because most of On Demand is still currently on the system that doesn't support UHD nor has the capacity for it.

Virgin have started to move content over to the new system, and that started with Sky Cinema On Demand (which is why all the HD for Sky Cinema came back)
__________________
I work for Virgin Media but all views are my own.
BenMcr is online now   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 11-12-2018, 11:27   #1202
denphone
Still alive and happy
 
denphone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: In the land of beyond and beyond.
Services: XL BB, 2 V6 boxes , XL TV.
Posts: 49,913
denphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver bling
denphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver bling
Re: Virgin Media Changelog

Quote:
Originally Posted by OLD BOY View Post
I agree, but maybe the strategy is now to procure UHD content for channel 999. I find it curious that the programmes currently showing on that channel are not available also on demand, but maybe that will change in the New Year.

Maybe the Virgin Exclusives will become Virgin UHD Exclusives on demand?
Perhaps in the future but certainly not currently for the reasons that have just been explained by Ben..
__________________
“The only lesson you can learn from history is that it repeats itself”
denphone is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2018, 13:32   #1203
OLD BOY
Experience is everything
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Wokingham
Services: 2 V6 boxes; Full House; Now TV, Amazon and Netflix; VM broadband and landline
Posts: 8,618
OLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze array
OLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze array
Re: Virgin Media Changelog

Quote:
Originally Posted by BenMcr View Post
That's probably because most of On Demand is still currently on the system that doesn't support UHD nor has the capacity for it.

Virgin have started to move content over to the new system, and that started with Sky Cinema On Demand (which is why all the HD for Sky Cinema came back)
Yes, understood, but Virgin's UHD channel is also available to viewers who can get only HD. So is there a technical reason why the downscaled version of Virgin's UHD channel cannot be shown on demand?
OLD BOY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2018, 14:10   #1204
RobboEdin
cf.mega poster
 
RobboEdin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,806
RobboEdin has reached the bronze age
RobboEdin has reached the bronze ageRobboEdin has reached the bronze ageRobboEdin has reached the bronze ageRobboEdin has reached the bronze ageRobboEdin has reached the bronze ageRobboEdin has reached the bronze ageRobboEdin has reached the bronze ageRobboEdin has reached the bronze age
Re: Virgin Media Changelog

Quote:
Originally Posted by OLD BOY View Post
Yes, understood, but Virgin's UHD channel is also available to viewers who can get only HD. So is there a technical reason why the downscaled version of Virgin's UHD channel cannot be shown on demand?
...because it’s broadcast in UHD and downscaled in the V6 for customers who don’t have a 4K TV?
RobboEdin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2018, 14:24   #1205
OLD BOY
Experience is everything
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Wokingham
Services: 2 V6 boxes; Full House; Now TV, Amazon and Netflix; VM broadband and landline
Posts: 8,618
OLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze array
OLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze array
Re: Virgin Media Changelog

Quote:
Originally Posted by RobboEdin View Post
...because it’s broadcast in UHD and downscaled in the V6 for customers who don’t have a 4K TV?
Yes, that's what I mean. If some viewers are watching the channel in HD rather than UHD, is it not possible to provide channell 999's content in HD on demand until the system is upgraded?
OLD BOY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2018, 14:33   #1206
cheekyangus
cf.addict
 
cheekyangus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 373
cheekyangus is a glorious beacon of lightcheekyangus is a glorious beacon of lightcheekyangus is a glorious beacon of lightcheekyangus is a glorious beacon of lightcheekyangus is a glorious beacon of lightcheekyangus is a glorious beacon of lightcheekyangus is a glorious beacon of light
Re: Virgin Media Changelog

Quote:
Originally Posted by OLD BOY View Post
Yes, that's what I mean. If some viewers are watching the channel in HD rather than UHD, is it not possible to provide channell 999's content in HD on demand until the system is upgraded?
OB it's the V6 that is downscaling it, it's not a separate stream, it is coming into every Full House home as UHD, the V6 then goes "I'm not connected to a 4K TV, I'll only show a quarter of the pixels." The OD infrastructure at the back end isn't configured in its entirety to work with UHD yet, neither is there enough of it to fit it in, but it is being worked on, hence the Sky Cinema OD comment.

At least that is how I understand it.
cheekyangus is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2018, 14:35   #1207
OLD BOY
Experience is everything
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Wokingham
Services: 2 V6 boxes; Full House; Now TV, Amazon and Netflix; VM broadband and landline
Posts: 8,618
OLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze array
OLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze array
Re: Virgin Media Changelog

Quote:
Originally Posted by cheekyangus View Post
OB it's the V6 that is downscaling it, it's not a separate stream, it is coming into every Full House home as UHD, the V6 then goes "I'm not connected to a 4K TV, I'll only show a quarter of the pixels." The OD infrastructure at the back end isn't configured in its entirety to work with UHD yet, neither is there enough of it to fit it in, but it is being worked on, hence the Sky Cinema OD comment.

At least that is how I understand it.
Ok, thank you for the explanation, cheekyangus.
OLD BOY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2019, 09:11   #1208
OLD BOY
Experience is everything
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Wokingham
Services: 2 V6 boxes; Full House; Now TV, Amazon and Netflix; VM broadband and landline
Posts: 8,618
OLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze array
OLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze array
Re: Virgin Media Changelog

The Smithsonian Channel has been launched on channel 295. You need to access it by entering the channel numbers at the moment as it is not yet listed on the EPG.
OLD BOY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2019, 09:22   #1209
nomadking
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Northampton
Services: Virgin Media TV&BB 200Mb Tivo STB
Posts: 4,655
nomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appeal
nomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appeal
Re: Virgin Media Changelog

Quote:
Originally Posted by OLD BOY View Post
The Smithsonian Channel has been launched on channel 295. You need to access it by entering the channel numbers at the moment as it is not yet listed on the EPG.
Just checked, and it's on the EPG here on a V6.
nomadking is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2019, 09:22   #1210
denphone
Still alive and happy
 
denphone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: In the land of beyond and beyond.
Services: XL BB, 2 V6 boxes , XL TV.
Posts: 49,913
denphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver bling
denphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver bling
Re: Virgin Media Changelog

Quote:
Originally Posted by OLD BOY View Post
The Smithsonian Channel has been launched on channel 295. You need to access it by entering the channel numbers at the moment as it is not yet listed on the EPG.
l can confirm that OB and l can also confirm that it is listed on the EPG.
__________________
“The only lesson you can learn from history is that it repeats itself”
denphone is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2019, 10:04   #1211
SonicMaster
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 235
SonicMaster will become famous soon enoughSonicMaster will become famous soon enoughSonicMaster will become famous soon enough
Re: Virgin Media Changelog

TruTV is now True Crime on 212.
SonicMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2019, 11:19   #1212
nodrogd
cf.mega poster
 
nodrogd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: West Herts
Services: FHTV, Sports & Movies (2x V6), TA Telco, VIVID 350. Freeview/Freesat HD, Virgin Mobile, Tesco Mobile
Posts: 1,649
nodrogd is just so famous around these partsnodrogd is just so famous around these partsnodrogd is just so famous around these partsnodrogd is just so famous around these partsnodrogd is just so famous around these partsnodrogd is just so famous around these partsnodrogd is just so famous around these partsnodrogd is just so famous around these partsnodrogd is just so famous around these partsnodrogd is just so famous around these partsnodrogd is just so famous around these partsnodrogd is just so famous around these partsnodrogd is just so famous around these partsnodrogd is just so famous around these partsnodrogd is just so famous around these parts
Re: Virgin Media Changelog

In Scotland STV HD has now moved to Channel 103.

https://community.virginmedia.com/t5...t/true#M175421
nodrogd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-02-2019, 16:41   #1213
Media Boy
GOT NEWS? PM us
 
Media Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Media Boy HQ
Posts: 12,372
Media Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny stars
Media Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Virgin Media Changelog

On February 13th Virgin Media did move Star Bharat from Virgin Channel 804 to Virgin Channel 802.
__________________
Blog - Updated Apr. 25th.
What may launch - Apr. 25th.
MPEG4 News - Apr 25th.
Media Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-02-2019, 19:02   #1214
Mad Max
cf.mega poster
 
Mad Max's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 2,464
Mad Max has reached the bronze age
Mad Max has reached the bronze ageMad Max has reached the bronze ageMad Max has reached the bronze ageMad Max has reached the bronze ageMad Max has reached the bronze ageMad Max has reached the bronze ageMad Max has reached the bronze ageMad Max has reached the bronze ageMad Max has reached the bronze ageMad Max has reached the bronze ageMad Max has reached the bronze ageMad Max has reached the bronze ageMad Max has reached the bronze ageMad Max has reached the bronze ageMad Max has reached the bronze ageMad Max has reached the bronze ageMad Max has reached the bronze ageMad Max has reached the bronze age
Re: Virgin Media Changelog

Quote:
Originally Posted by Media Boy View Post
On February 13th Virgin Media did move Star Bharat from Virgin Channel 804 to Virgin Channel 802.

did anyone really notice..........
Mad Max is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-02-2019, 19:11   #1215
Media Boy
GOT NEWS? PM us
 
Media Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Media Boy HQ
Posts: 12,372
Media Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny stars
Media Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Virgin Media Changelog

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mad Max View Post
did anyone really notice..........
Will I did when "Channel move" appeared on Channel 804.
__________________
Blog - Updated Apr. 25th.
What may launch - Apr. 25th.
MPEG4 News - Apr 25th.
Media Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:44.


Server: xenon.zmnt.net
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.