Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | 'You are in a queue'!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Computers & IT > Internet Discussion

'You are in a queue'!
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 20-12-2018, 16:17   #1
RichardCoulter
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 7,025
RichardCoulter has disabled reputation
'You are in a queue'!

We're all used to be kept on hold by companies on the phone, but earlier today I went onto a website and was met with a page saying that I was in a queue due to them being busy!

Can they really do this, or is it nonsense that I was actually in a queue? It did say to keep pressing refresh, so i'm wondering if this is simply an attempt to stop customers from going elsewhere by getting them to refresh in the hope of getting a connection.
RichardCoulter is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 20-12-2018, 16:24   #2
denphone
Still alive and happy
 
denphone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: In the land of beyond and beyond.
Services: XL BB, 2 V6 boxes , XL TV.
Posts: 49,913
denphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver bling
denphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver bling
Re: 'You are in a queue'!

Queues have been happening online when you go to certain sites for a while Richard so its nothing new as some sites can only take so much traffic at a time.
__________________
“The only lesson you can learn from history is that it repeats itself”
denphone is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20-12-2018, 16:25   #3
Hugh
Hic Sunt Dracones
Cable Forum Team
 
Hugh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Age: 62
Services: Premiere Collection
Posts: 32,661
Hugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden aura
Hugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden aura
Re: 'You are in a queue'!

It may be they have a volume threshold for the back end systems, and this keeps the customer engaged, rather than the system falling over.
__________________
If my post is in bold and this colour, it's a Moderator Request.
Hugh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-12-2018, 17:02   #4
RichardCoulter
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 7,025
RichardCoulter has disabled reputation
Re: 'You are in a queue'!

It's the first time that i've ever come across this!

So, do you think that people are actually in a queue in the true sense of the word, or is it just pot luck as to when/if I get a connection? What I'm really getting at is it worth staying on the site or would I lose nothing by trying again later?
RichardCoulter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-12-2018, 17:24   #5
SnoopZ
CF Resident Dog
 
SnoopZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 11,159
SnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny stars
SnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny stars
Re: 'You are in a queue'!

Saw this happen on Tesco direct on black Friday last year.
__________________
PSN: Snoopzster
How to post a Youtube video on CF[youtube]video code[/youtube ]
SnoopZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-12-2018, 17:42   #6
JPAC
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: N E Lincs
Posts: 332
JPAC is a glorious beacon of lightJPAC is a glorious beacon of lightJPAC is a glorious beacon of lightJPAC is a glorious beacon of lightJPAC is a glorious beacon of lightJPAC is a glorious beacon of lightJPAC is a glorious beacon of light
Re: 'You are in a queue'!

"Your call is important to us", if it was they'd answer it quicker.
__________________
#jc4pm
JPAC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-12-2018, 17:43   #7
RichardCoulter
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 7,025
RichardCoulter has disabled reputation
Re: 'You are in a queue'!

RichardCoulter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-12-2018, 18:37   #8
Ken W
cf.mega poster
 
Ken W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Winnersh UK
Services: LL Phone, TiVo, M+ VM mobile, BBand 150M tier Superhub, TIVO 500 M+
Posts: 1,634
Ken W has a reputation beyond reputeKen W has a reputation beyond reputeKen W has a reputation beyond reputeKen W has a reputation beyond reputeKen W has a reputation beyond reputeKen W has a reputation beyond reputeKen W has a reputation beyond reputeKen W has a reputation beyond reputeKen W has a reputation beyond reputeKen W has a reputation beyond reputeKen W has a reputation beyond reputeKen W has a reputation beyond reputeKen W has a reputation beyond repute
Re: 'You are in a queue'!

Quote:
Originally Posted by JPAC View Post
"Your call is important to us", if it was they'd answer it quicker.

If it was a sales call it would be answered in less than30 seconds.
Ken W is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20-12-2018, 19:30   #9
Paul M
Dr Pepper Addict
Cable Forum Team
 
Paul M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Nottingham
Age: 56
Services: VM Phone : Sky TV : VM Cable (350 Mbps) : Sky BB (38 Mbps)
Posts: 22,367
Paul M is seeing silvered starsPaul M is seeing silvered starsPaul M is seeing silvered stars
Paul M is seeing silvered starsPaul M is seeing silvered starsPaul M is seeing silvered starsPaul M is seeing silvered starsPaul M is seeing silvered starsPaul M is seeing silvered stars
Re: 'You are in a queue'!

You cannot truely be in a queue because you dont have a constant connection like with a phone call.

However, you can kind of simulate it by getting people to refresh and tracking their session.
__________________

Baby, I was born this way.
Paul M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-12-2018, 21:15   #10
RichardCoulter
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 7,025
RichardCoulter has disabled reputation
Re: 'You are in a queue'!

Thanks, i'm glad I kept trying then (and did eventually get onto the site).

Whilst waiting, they said that people could browse their products to save them time once they had got onto the site (but couldn't buy anything). How could this be done?

I didn't use it, but I'm wondering if this was a mirror site that used few resources because no transactions were actually taking place on it.
RichardCoulter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-01-2019, 19:44   #11
Qtx
Masked Marauder
 
Qtx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Services: Sky Fibre Unlimited 40/10
Posts: 3,346
Qtx has a bronzed appealQtx has a bronzed appeal
Qtx has a bronzed appealQtx has a bronzed appealQtx has a bronzed appealQtx has a bronzed appealQtx has a bronzed appealQtx has a bronzed appealQtx has a bronzed appealQtx has a bronzed appealQtx has a bronzed appealQtx has a bronzed appealQtx has a bronzed appealQtx has a bronzed appealQtx has a bronzed appealQtx has a bronzed appealQtx has a bronzed appealQtx has a bronzed appealQtx has a bronzed appealQtx has a bronzed appeal
Re: 'You are in a queue'!

Web servers can give an HTTP error code of 502 if the server is overloaded. It can be because the servers CPU is exhausted or bandwidth or many things depending on the setup and infrastructure used.

They can customise the error page to say anything though, in a similar way to the custom 404 HTTP error pages for page not found. You probably saw a custom 502 error page which told you to retry or redirected you to a static version of the site which is easy on resources, compared to the usual site that builds the page based dynamically on each quick which is more CPU intensive.
__________________
Virgin to Sky switch=best decision ever
-----
The greatest trick the Devil ever pulled was convincing the world he didn't exist. And like that, poof. He's gone.
Qtx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2019, 20:27   #12
cssjim
cf.member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Derby
Posts: 3
cssjim is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: 'You are in a queue'!

I can never understand why you get thanked for waiting. What else are you supposed to do?
cssjim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2019, 20:28   #13
Hugh
Hic Sunt Dracones
Cable Forum Team
 
Hugh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Age: 62
Services: Premiere Collection
Posts: 32,661
Hugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden aura
Hugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden aura
Re: 'You are in a queue'!

Quote:
Originally Posted by cssjim View Post
I can never understand why you get thanked for waiting. What else are you supposed to do?
Leave?
__________________
If my post is in bold and this colour, it's a Moderator Request.
Hugh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-02-2019, 18:35   #14
Sirius
#HadEnoughOfWin10
 
Sirius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 16,388
Sirius has a lot of silver blingSirius has a lot of silver blingSirius has a lot of silver blingSirius has a lot of silver blingSirius has a lot of silver blingSirius has a lot of silver blingSirius has a lot of silver bling
Sirius has a lot of silver blingSirius has a lot of silver blingSirius has a lot of silver blingSirius has a lot of silver blingSirius has a lot of silver blingSirius has a lot of silver blingSirius has a lot of silver blingSirius has a lot of silver blingSirius has a lot of silver blingSirius has a lot of silver blingSirius has a lot of silver bling
Re: 'You are in a queue'!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hugh View Post
Leave?
Have you ever had a call back from any company that has the "we will keep your place in the queue and call you back" system. I have never had that happen and now just wait in line
__________________
Imagine the mess Comrade Corbyn would make if he got in power
Sirius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-02-2019, 08:51   #15
RichardCoulter
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 7,025
RichardCoulter has disabled reputation
Re: 'You are in a queue'!

Good point Sirius, poor customer service must cost business a fortune in this country.
RichardCoulter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 13:14.


Server: xenon.zmnt.net
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.