Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | ESPN, BT, Euro, Premier and Sky Sports news

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media TV Service

Any V6 users also tried SkyQ?
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 15-09-2019, 13:46   #1
southlad
cf.member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 47
southlad is on a distinguished roadsouthlad is on a distinguished road
Any V6 users also tried SkyQ?

Just wondered if anyone had used both the V6 and SkyQ and could give me your opinion on advantages and disadvantages of both?
southlad is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 15-09-2019, 14:58   #2
ozsat
cf.geek
 
ozsat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Area 31 (Oxford)
Services: V6 TiVo (+MRS), VIVID500/35, Freeview HD, SkyQ UHD, FreesatHD, BTtv UHD, DAB+, Panasonic 4k/HDR
Posts: 985
ozsat has much to be proud ofozsat has much to be proud ofozsat has much to be proud ofozsat has much to be proud ofozsat has much to be proud ofozsat has much to be proud ofozsat has much to be proud ofozsat has much to be proud ofozsat has much to be proud ofozsat has much to be proud of
Re: Any V6 users also tried SkyQ?

I have both.

SkyQ is best with late programme changes - although that too has been bad on BBC recently - BBC issue as they changed their update system.

V6 is best for series links as SkyQ seems often seems to forget them between series. V6 also does links across channels.

Interface are very different - but it is what you get used to as it is personal choice.

Netflix works well on V6 - but some films judder on SkyQ as it is unable to handle some frame rates.

There is still no HDR on SkyQ.

Additional boxes only need WiFi access on SkyQ - but then they just slave off the main box. So 6 recordings at once is maximum for house and all boxes share same recording folder.

Additional boxes on VM each need RF and network connections - but they can be set to either share their resources or keep them private.
ozsat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-09-2019, 16:01   #3
FrogGuy
cf.member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 6
FrogGuy is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Any V6 users also tried SkyQ?

I switched from the V6 to SkyQ and switched right back again! The SkyQ system is good but series linking can be poor, plus I think the navigation is better on Virgin.

One example is the backward catch up guide on the V6 is so good. Sky doesn't have this, but trying to find catch up shows is clunky.
FrogGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-09-2019, 22:03   #4
muppetman11
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 11,779
muppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny stars
muppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Any V6 users also tried SkyQ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by FrogGuy View Post
I switched from the V6 to SkyQ and switched right back again! The SkyQ system is good but series linking can be poor, plus I think the navigation is better on Virgin.

One example is the backward catch up guide on the V6 is so good. Sky doesn't have this, but trying to find catch up shows is clunky.
I've always found speaking the show name into the remote has got me there pretty easy.
muppetman11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 04:48   #5
ozsat
cf.geek
 
ozsat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Area 31 (Oxford)
Services: V6 TiVo (+MRS), VIVID500/35, Freeview HD, SkyQ UHD, FreesatHD, BTtv UHD, DAB+, Panasonic 4k/HDR
Posts: 985
ozsat has much to be proud ofozsat has much to be proud ofozsat has much to be proud ofozsat has much to be proud ofozsat has much to be proud ofozsat has much to be proud ofozsat has much to be proud ofozsat has much to be proud ofozsat has much to be proud ofozsat has much to be proud of
Re: Any V6 users also tried SkyQ?

V6 is ideal for the 7-day catch up - but not beyond that.

I wanted to watch last week's QI on SkyQ and said "QI". I got a long list of episodes from catch-up, BBC and UKTV - in addition to lots of QIXL episodes.

Sky Q speaking is ideal for finding the show - but not the last episode.

Quote:
Originally Posted by muppetman11 View Post
I've always found speaking the show name into the remote has got me there pretty easy.
ozsat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 06:02   #6
muppetman11
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 11,779
muppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny stars
muppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Any V6 users also tried SkyQ?

I've never had trouble using voice finding the last episode.

As an example I voice searched Sanditon (currently working on ITV)

It pulls up on this week and On Demand by selecting On Demand all 4 episodes are listed with air dates and yesterday's at the bottom it literally took seconds.

As I say it's probably habit with me but that's the way I've always found quickest , that's not knocking the merits of a backwards EPG though.
muppetman11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 12:40   #7
FrogGuy
cf.member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 6
FrogGuy is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Any V6 users also tried SkyQ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by muppetman11 View Post
I've always found speaking the show name into the remote has got me there pretty easy.
The voice search is good. However, let's take EastEnders as an example. I can use the V6 backwards guide to find last nights episode in about 5 seconds.

On Sky Q, I would say 'EastEnders' into the voice remote and then have to scroll through lots of Classic EastEnders episodes from Drama and the latest BBC1 episode was always at the bottom. Then, I have to download it.

That's just one example.
FrogGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 13:12   #8
vincerooney
cf.mega poster
 
vincerooney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Services: XL TV XL Phone XL 100MB broadband TiVo Cat
Posts: 1,818
vincerooney has reached the bronze age
vincerooney has reached the bronze agevincerooney has reached the bronze agevincerooney has reached the bronze agevincerooney has reached the bronze agevincerooney has reached the bronze age
Re: Any V6 users also tried SkyQ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by FrogGuy View Post
The voice search is good. However, let's take EastEnders as an example. I can use the V6 backwards guide to find last nights episode in about 5 seconds.

On Sky Q, I would say 'EastEnders' into the voice remote and then have to scroll through lots of Classic EastEnders episodes from Drama and the latest BBC1 episode was always at the bottom. Then, I have to download it.

That's just one example.
The real question here is why would you want to scroll past the classic eastenders episodes! Far superior in every way.
vincerooney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 13:16   #9
muppetman11
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 11,779
muppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny stars
muppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Any V6 users also tried SkyQ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by FrogGuy View Post
The voice search is good. However, let's take EastEnders as an example. I can use the V6 backwards guide to find last nights episode in about 5 seconds.

On Sky Q, I would say 'EastEnders' into the voice remote and then have to scroll through lots of Classic EastEnders episodes from Drama and the latest BBC1 episode was always at the bottom. Then, I have to download it.

That's just one example.
I've just tried that example and with the touch remote swipe down and hold got to Fridays episode in seconds.

I guess its what you get familiar with , I suppose there is no right or wrong.
muppetman11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 13:18   #10
oliver1948uk
cf.geek
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Mansfield Woodhouse NG19
Services: VM Mix TV, 200 internet, basic house phone. Also Virgin mobile phone
Posts: 500
oliver1948uk has a brilliant futureoliver1948uk has a brilliant futureoliver1948uk has a brilliant futureoliver1948uk has a brilliant futureoliver1948uk has a brilliant futureoliver1948uk has a brilliant futureoliver1948uk has a brilliant futureoliver1948uk has a brilliant futureoliver1948uk has a brilliant futureoliver1948uk has a brilliant futureoliver1948uk has a brilliant futureoliver1948uk has a brilliant future
Re: Any V6 users also tried SkyQ?

If you follow EastEnders, why not set up a Series Link?
oliver1948uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 13:22   #11
denphone
Still alive and fighting
 
denphone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: In the land of beyond and beyond.
Services: XL BB, 2 V6 boxes , XL TV.
Posts: 51,415
denphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver bling
denphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver bling
Re: Any V6 users also tried SkyQ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by oliver1948uk View Post
If you follow EastEnders, why not set up a Series Link?
Exactly..
__________________
“The only lesson you can learn from history is that it repeats itself”
denphone is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 14:32   #12
ozsat
cf.geek
 
ozsat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Area 31 (Oxford)
Services: V6 TiVo (+MRS), VIVID500/35, Freeview HD, SkyQ UHD, FreesatHD, BTtv UHD, DAB+, Panasonic 4k/HDR
Posts: 985
ozsat has much to be proud ofozsat has much to be proud ofozsat has much to be proud ofozsat has much to be proud ofozsat has much to be proud ofozsat has much to be proud ofozsat has much to be proud ofozsat has much to be proud ofozsat has much to be proud ofozsat has much to be proud of
Re: Any V6 users also tried SkyQ?

It is all personal choice - but for every niggle one has - an equally annoying one is on the other.

The big thing for me on the V6 is wishlists.
ozsat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 14:39   #13
denphone
Still alive and fighting
 
denphone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: In the land of beyond and beyond.
Services: XL BB, 2 V6 boxes , XL TV.
Posts: 51,415
denphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver bling
denphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver bling
Re: Any V6 users also tried SkyQ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ozsat View Post
It is all personal choice - but for every niggle one has - an equally annoying one is on the other.
Extremely useful for digging up those golden TV nuggets.
__________________
“The only lesson you can learn from history is that it repeats itself”
denphone is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:14.


Server: xenon.zmnt.net
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.