Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | IP ver 6 testing?

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media Internet Service

IP ver 6 testing?
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 20-07-2017, 11:59   #1
Steve25
cf.member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 5
Steve25 is an unknown quantity at this point
IP ver 6 testing?

My router (FritzBox) off SH3 in modem mode was temporarily allocated an IPv6 address overnight (2a02:8800:f000:1c01:e228:6dff:xxxx:xxxx) by VM.

Back to IP4 only this morning.

Maybe the start of some pre IPv6 rollout testing?

Stephen
Steve25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 24-07-2017, 14:11   #2
Kushan
FORMER Virgin Media Staff
 
Kushan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Warrington
Posts: 4,352
Kushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appeal
Kushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appeal
Re: IP ver 6 testing?

One can only hope, it's long overdue.
__________________
My views are my own and in no way reflect those of Virgin Media.
Kushan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-2017, 11:03   #3
InsaneNutter
cf.member
 
InsaneNutter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
Services: Virgin 200mbit / Superhub 3 Modem / pfSense Firewall
Posts: 86
InsaneNutter is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: IP ver 6 testing?

Not seen anything yet, however i'm IPv6 ready, we can only dream Virgin might finally be.
__________________
InsaneNutter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-2017, 13:11   #4
Jon22
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Newport, Shropshire
Posts: 300
Jon22 is on a distinguished roadJon22 is on a distinguished road
Re: IP ver 6 testing?

"Staff trial" starting soon?

http://www.ispreview.co.uk/index.php...addresses.html
Jon22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-2017, 13:46   #5
Kushan
FORMER Virgin Media Staff
 
Kushan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Warrington
Posts: 4,352
Kushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appeal
Kushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appeal
Re: IP ver 6 testing?

Interesting the part about "secret" features, I suspect the IPv6 trial involves more than just IPv6 - VoIP perhaps?
__________________
My views are my own and in no way reflect those of Virgin Media.
Kushan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-2017, 14:05   #6
Ignitionnet
Pragmatist
 
Ignitionnet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Leeds, West Yorkshire
Age: 39
Posts: 13,996
Ignitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny stars
Ignitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny starsIgnitionnet has a pair of shiny stars
Re: IP ver 6 testing?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve25 View Post
My router (FritzBox) off SH3 in modem mode was temporarily allocated an IPv6 address overnight (2a02:8800:f000:1c01:e228:6dff:xxxx:xxxx) by VM.

Back to IP4 only this morning.

Maybe the start of some pre IPv6 rollout testing?

Stephen


Needs to be in place for the VoIP project - not enough RFC1918 addresses for all the MTAs.
Ignitionnet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2018, 21:46   #7
Hom3r
All true..Except the lies
 
Hom3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Galactic Sector ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha, www.daves-world.co.uk. A secret Moonbase (shh don't tell anybody)
Age: 49
Services: 1 V6 Tivo Box, 2x1TB Tivo, , SH3. Samsung Galaxy Note 8, 2TB & 3 TB WD NAS, Smart Home stuff, & Cudd
Posts: 14,621
Hom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny stars
Hom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny starsHom3r has a pair of shiny stars
Re: IP ver 6 testing?

What will this mean to the end user?

My Asus RT-N66U supports it as does my Xbox 1.

I guess the SH3 does.

Can/will both IPv4 & IPv6 be used at the same time?

What is the benefit other than more addresses?
__________________
Twitter Facebook

My Blog
Hom3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2018, 10:41   #8
General Maximus
C/O Felix Legion
 
General Maximus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lincoln
Services: phone + L TV + 350mbit BB + Sky+HD
Posts: 6,797
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
Re: IP ver 6 testing?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hom3r View Post
I guess the SH3 does.
afaik all the shub's do and many many devices have for many years

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hom3r View Post
My Asus RT-N66U supports it as does my Xbox 1
if your 3rd party router supports ipv6 (which it most certainly will) then it doesn't matter whether the shub does or not because it is only the "router" you need to worry about.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hom3r View Post
Can/will both IPv4 & IPv6 be used at the same time?
ish. As far as you are concerned you will have an ipv6 address but the isp will have hardware in place which can convert it to an ipv4 address as it enters and leaves the network to services which do not support ipv6

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hom3r View Post
What is the benefit other than more addresses?
encryption for starters but the primary benefit is addresses. In my house there are 3 smart phones, 3 tablets, two sky boxes, two printers, two pcs, two laptops, two tvs, 2 bluray players, dvd player, 2 media players and 2 NAS servers which are all networked. I haven't got round to networked fridges and all that stuff yet but ipv6 isn't about giving isps more addresses so they can have more customers, it is about letting every device on the planet having a globally routable ip address.

If you are into your networking and already have a solid understanding of ip addresses and how data is transmitted across a network then these are good videos to watch.

I strongly recommend anyone who has an interest in ipv6 to at least watch the first one to get a basic understanding. There is some stuff you might not have heard of before wand will go over your head but you'll get the gist of it.

The three combined are about 45 mins but they are well worth the watch and you'll appreciate why ipv6 is so much better (and most people won't know or care why) and why isps and businesses need a period of transition.





__________________
Join the Mockingjay, join the fight

Last edited by General Maximus; 12-02-2018 at 10:45.
General Maximus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2018, 16:35   #9
Kushan
FORMER Virgin Media Staff
 
Kushan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Warrington
Posts: 4,352
Kushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appeal
Kushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appeal
Re: IP ver 6 testing?

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Maximus View Post
ish. As far as you are concerned you will have an ipv6 address but the isp will have hardware in place which can convert it to an ipv4 address as it enters and leaves the network to services which do not support ipv6
That's not necessarily true, Max. How IPv6 is deployed depends entirely on the ISP in question, however IPv6 and IPv4 can run side by side (Dual Stack). Only a couple of ISPs (mostly mobile operators in the US) have gone full IPv6 with IPv4 translation, but there aren't any indicators that any UK ISP will do the same. In all liklihood, we'll be going Dual stack with Carrier-Grade NAT CG-NAT) to share the last IPv4 addresses across multiple consumers. IPv4 isn't going anywhere.


Quote:
Originally Posted by General Maximus View Post
encryption for starters
To elaborate on this further, IPv6 doesn't contain any kind of encryption, nor is it encrypted by default. Rather, it was designed with encryption in mind so that when encryption is used, it's more efficient than with IPv4.
__________________
My views are my own and in no way reflect those of Virgin Media.
Kushan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2018, 18:35   #10
General Maximus
C/O Felix Legion
 
General Maximus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lincoln
Services: phone + L TV + 350mbit BB + Sky+HD
Posts: 6,797
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
Re: IP ver 6 testing?

Dual stack is what i was thinking of, i just didnt want to explain what it was plus the other options available.
__________________
Join the Mockingjay, join the fight
General Maximus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:30.


Server: xenon.zmnt.net
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.