Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Subtitles

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media TV Service

Subtitles
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-04-2019, 16:25   #1
Taf
cf.mega poster
 
Taf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kairdiff-by-the-sea
Age: 63
Services: TVXL BBXL Superhub 2ac (wired) 1Tb Tivo
Posts: 8,239
Taf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny star
Taf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny star
Subtitles

Who is responsible for the subtitles for programmes shown on VM TV?

I ask this because subtitles on several shows I recorded on 5USA are appearing up to a minute before the line is actually spoken. They start in synch, then lose it completely. Ditto after an ad break.

And one show (Vikings) gets several minutes into the show before displaying "subtitles are not available for this show".

In this "inclusive" world, why are so many prerecored shows without subtitles?
Taf is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 10-04-2019, 16:28   #2
Media Boy
GOT NEWS? PM us
 
Media Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Media Boy HQ
Posts: 12,463
Media Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny stars
Media Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny starsMedia Boy has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Subtitles

The Broadcaster is responsible for the subtitles.

We see it on the Channel 5 Digital Channels sometime as well.
__________________
Blog - Updated Jun. 13th.
What may launch - May. 14th.
MPEG4 News - Jun 13th.
Media Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2019, 17:19   #3
cheekyangus
cf.geek
 
cheekyangus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 514
cheekyangus is a name known to allcheekyangus is a name known to allcheekyangus is a name known to allcheekyangus is a name known to allcheekyangus is a name known to allcheekyangus is a name known to allcheekyangus is a name known to allcheekyangus is a name known to all
Re: Subtitles

Here is the OFCOM document on which channels are required to have subtitles in 2018. https://www.ofcom.org.uk/__data/asse...es-in-2018.pdf

See page 5 on that PDF (that's the marked Page 5 of the document, not the 5th PDF page by the way). There are 3 levels of requirements.

Under Ofcom's broadcasting code (dated 2013, I can't find a newer dated equivalent) a broadcaster must provide subtitling if it attracts a viewing share of more than 0.05% of total viewing.

And here is a BBC R&D article about subtitles speed from 2015.
https://www.bbc.co.uk/rd/blog/2015-0...d-subtitles-be
cheekyangus is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2019, 19:49   #4
Taf
cf.mega poster
 
Taf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kairdiff-by-the-sea
Age: 63
Services: TVXL BBXL Superhub 2ac (wired) 1Tb Tivo
Posts: 8,239
Taf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny star
Taf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny star
Re: Subtitles

Thanks I'll contact 5USA directly.

---------- Post added at 19:49 ---------- Previous post was at 17:51 ----------

Quote:
I have been catching-up on Taken on 5USA recently, episodes I recorded on my VirginMedia V6 TIVO.

I am saddened that the subtitles on every show are failing to synch with actual speech.

After only a couple of minutes, subtitles are being shown for speech that happens around a minute later.

It is so irritating that I lose all enjoyment of the show.
Taf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2019, 21:44   #5
BenMcr
Virgin Media Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Manchester
Services: Virgin Media V6 x2, Full House TV, VIVID 350
Posts: 16,648
BenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny stars
BenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Subtitles

Quote:
Originally Posted by cheekyangus View Post
Under Ofcom's broadcasting code (dated 2013, I can't find a newer dated equivalent) a broadcaster must provide subtitling if it attracts a viewing share of more than 0.05% of total viewing
Current code is here

https://www.ofcom.org.uk/tv-radio-an...ccess-services
__________________
I work for Virgin Media but all views are my own.
BenMcr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2019, 20:11   #6
Taf
cf.mega poster
 
Taf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kairdiff-by-the-sea
Age: 63
Services: TVXL BBXL Superhub 2ac (wired) 1Tb Tivo
Posts: 8,239
Taf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny star
Taf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny star
Re: Subtitles

Quote:
Thank you for your recent enquiry regarding the subtitles on Taken.

In order for us to investigate, please provide some examples of episodes where this has happened and dates that they were broadcast on.
Taf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2019, 14:23   #7
RichardCoulter
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 7,189
RichardCoulter has disabled reputation
Re: Subtitles

I've been having the same problem with Channel 4 and have been asked to do the same thing, so i'm currently noting the affected programmes.
RichardCoulter is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-2019, 13:51   #8
Taf
cf.mega poster
 
Taf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kairdiff-by-the-sea
Age: 63
Services: TVXL BBXL Superhub 2ac (wired) 1Tb Tivo
Posts: 8,239
Taf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny star
Taf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny star
Re: Subtitles

I looked at every episode I recorded of Taken, and they are all suffering the subtitle problem. I've let them know, so let's see what happens.
Taf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2019, 14:09   #9
Taf
cf.mega poster
 
Taf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kairdiff-by-the-sea
Age: 63
Services: TVXL BBXL Superhub 2ac (wired) 1Tb Tivo
Posts: 8,239
Taf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny star
Taf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny star
Re: Subtitles

Quote:
15th April 2019
We believe this to be a problem with the Virgin box. Please try switching the V6 Tivo box off at the mains and powering it back up.

Porcia
VIEWER ADVISOR
I did that, twice, and the problem persists.
Taf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-04-2019, 15:41   #10
Taf
cf.mega poster
 
Taf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kairdiff-by-the-sea
Age: 63
Services: TVXL BBXL Superhub 2ac (wired) 1Tb Tivo
Posts: 8,239
Taf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny star
Taf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny star
Re: Subtitles

Quote:
We have reviewed all the Season 2 episodes we can and are unable to detect any delay. We believe this to be a problem with Virgin and recommend contacting them.


---------- Post added at 15:41 ---------- Previous post was at 15:32 ----------

Thread started in VM Forums

https://community.virginmedia.com/t5...3974328#M54976
Taf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-04-2019, 15:45   #11
cheekyangus
cf.geek
 
cheekyangus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 514
cheekyangus is a name known to allcheekyangus is a name known to allcheekyangus is a name known to allcheekyangus is a name known to allcheekyangus is a name known to allcheekyangus is a name known to allcheekyangus is a name known to allcheekyangus is a name known to all
Re: Subtitles

Out of curiosity Taf, do you leave subtitles ON all the time, or switch them on and off?

I left them on the other day by accident and it occurred to me they seem to stay on unless turned off by the user.

My reason for asking is that maybe leaving them all on the time is what causes it.
cheekyangus is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 17-04-2019, 20:55   #12
Taf
cf.mega poster
 
Taf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kairdiff-by-the-sea
Age: 63
Services: TVXL BBXL Superhub 2ac (wired) 1Tb Tivo
Posts: 8,239
Taf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny star
Taf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny starTaf has a nice shiny star
Re: Subtitles

I only switch them on when the missus has gone to bed, or when it's a mumblathon audio track. My ears aren't what they were, but some sound tracks are hard for even young ears to understand.

Turning them off for "Taken" when they jump out of synch, then turning them on after the ad break resets them for a few seconds only.
Taf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2019, 22:00   #13
krismestry
cf.member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 15
krismestry is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Subtitles

I was watching Dad's Army on Gold today with subtitles on. When the audience laughed the subtitles read "canned laughter". Never seen that before.
krismestry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-04-2019, 09:24   #14
Raider999
cf.geek
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 863
Raider999 will become famous soon enoughRaider999 will become famous soon enoughRaider999 will become famous soon enough
Re: Subtitles

Quote:
Originally Posted by krismestry View Post
I was watching Dad's Army on Gold today with subtitles on. When the audience laughed the subtitles read "canned laughter". Never seen that before.
Probably the funniest thing that happened in the entire show
Raider999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-04-2019, 09:48   #15
Mr K
Lefty Liberal Remoaner
 
Mr K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Services: TV, Phone, BB, a goldfish
Posts: 5,046
Mr K has a bronzed appealMr K has a bronzed appeal
Mr K has a bronzed appealMr K has a bronzed appealMr K has a bronzed appealMr K has a bronzed appealMr K has a bronzed appealMr K has a bronzed appealMr K has a bronzed appealMr K has a bronzed appealMr K has a bronzed appealMr K has a bronzed appealMr K has a bronzed appealMr K has a bronzed appealMr K has a bronzed appealMr K has a bronzed appealMr K has a bronzed appealMr K has a bronzed appealMr K has a bronzed appealMr K has a bronzed appeal
Re: Subtitles

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raider999 View Post
Probably the funniest thing that happened in the entire show
Sacrilege !

https://youtu.be/_YMVPXmaKds
Mr K is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 20:39.


Server: xenon.zmnt.net
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.