Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | VM Business service over last few days

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media Internet Service

VM Business service over last few days
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 29-07-2020, 05:45   #1
fizzyade
cf.member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 49
fizzyade is on a distinguished roadfizzyade is on a distinguished road
VM Business service over last few days

Anybody else had a terrible service over the past few days? (Iím connected to new Malden). Iím on the business service with static IPís.

Iíve had a few periods of big outages and a service that has been very intermittent.

Iíve rebooted the modem and my opnsense machine multiple times and it doesnít seem to have made any changes.

Another weird thing that happened after an outage last night, was that hops in a trace route barring opnsense and the modem are all timing out, I noticed this because Iím currently writing an open source ping plotter type application and I noticed it first there.

Iíve tried running the trace route on the firewall and in the Hitron GUI itself and both exhibit the same behaviour.

Iím not the only one Iíve seen get hit with these outages when I look on Twitter, and when it goes down I see fing tweeting saying they have detected a network outage (I guess other uses with fingboxes are providing this info).

Iíve also seen outages where the modem itself is reporting everything is ok and the GRE tunnel is up, but there appears to be no routing from the modem outward.
fizzyade is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 29-07-2020, 16:29   #2
fizzyade
cf.member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 49
fizzyade is on a distinguished roadfizzyade is on a distinguished road
Re: VM Business service over last few days

Surely I can't be the only person seeing this? Just did another trace route, no hops are responding.

From the Hitron itself:



From my ping analyser:

fizzyade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-07-2020, 00:04   #3
fizzyade
cf.member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 49
fizzyade is on a distinguished roadfizzyade is on a distinguished road
Re: VM Business service over last few days

Running a traceroute from a BT connection to the Hitron shows the last hop that responds to the ICMP probe as being:

brnt-core-2a-ae12-0.network.virginmedia.net [62.254.84.22]

After that, all ICMP responses (apart from the final echo response) just disappear.

This happened straight after the outage in the early hours of yesterday (Tuesday) morning, prior to this ICMP was working correctly as I have been working on the software above without any problems, now no matter where I run a route to only my internal gateway, the Hitron and the target hop result in a response.
fizzyade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-07-2020, 19:14   #4
ccarmock
cf.geek
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 775
ccarmock has much to be proud ofccarmock has much to be proud ofccarmock has much to be proud ofccarmock has much to be proud ofccarmock has much to be proud ofccarmock has much to be proud ofccarmock has much to be proud ofccarmock has much to be proud ofccarmock has much to be proud ofccarmock has much to be proud of
Re: VM Business service over last few days

I am on the VM Business service, with 5 static IP addresses, also fed from New Malden. No issues experienced here....
ccarmock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-07-2020, 21:50   #5
fizzyade
cf.member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 49
fizzyade is on a distinguished roadfizzyade is on a distinguished road
Re: VM Business service over last few days

Quote:
Originally Posted by ccarmock View Post
I am on the VM Business service, with 5 static IP addresses, also fed from New Malden. No issues experienced here....
And if you traceroute to 1.1.1.1, do you see ICMP responses from the intermediate hops?

This is the issue I'm having at the moment, to me to looks like the VM network is dropping certain ICMP packets, specifically type 11 seems to have gone AWOL.

Below is the result of a trace to 1.1.1.1 from my machine *but using a VPN*, here I'm seeing the TTL exceeded responses, switch off the VPN and the TTL exceeded responses disappear (yes, I know it's a different route, but I can't get any TTL exceeded responses via virgin to any destination I've tried).

Initially I thought something had gone wrong with my gateway or something on my network, but using the diagnostic tool on the Hitron and running a traceroute there has exactly the same issue.

fizzyade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-07-2020, 22:43   #6
pip08456
Sad Doig Fan!
 
pip08456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Barry South Wales
Age: 64
Services: Now back with VM for BB & phone. 50Mb service.
Posts: 9,422
pip08456 has a nice shiny star
pip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny star
Re: VM Business service over last few days

Still getting to the destination OK though.
pip08456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-07-2020, 22:49   #7
fizzyade
cf.member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 49
fizzyade is on a distinguished roadfizzyade is on a distinguished road
Re: VM Business service over last few days

Quote:
Originally Posted by pip08456 View Post
Still getting to the destination OK though.
Yes, but TTL exceeded messages seem to be being dropped.

This is specifically an issue for me because I'm developing software that is built around these packets .

It seems a really strange thing to drop, if other people can confirm the same behaviour.
fizzyade is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:07.


Server: curium.zmnt.uk
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.