Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Virgin TV 360 users (Horizon)

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media TV Service

Virgin TV 360 users (Horizon)
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 24-11-2020, 16:21   #211
biddy
cf.member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 7
biddy is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Virgin TV 360 users (Horizon)

Not sure if this is old news but I just got an email from Virgin telling me I'm ready to upgrade to TV 360 at no extra cost. "It's super easy to upgrade your Virgin TV V6 box and you can do it sitting on your sofa in a matter of minutes. All you need is our genius new remote which we'll pop in the post for you.

So it looks like we do get to keep the old V6's and have the new software.
biddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 24-11-2020, 16:24   #212
OLD BOY
Rise above the players
 
OLD BOY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Wokingham
Services: 2 V6 boxes with 360 software, Now TV, Amazon, Netflix, Starzplay, Apple TV; Discovery +, VM broadban
Posts: 12,404
OLD BOY is cast in bronzeOLD BOY is cast in bronzeOLD BOY is cast in bronzeOLD BOY is cast in bronze
OLD BOY is cast in bronzeOLD BOY is cast in bronzeOLD BOY is cast in bronzeOLD BOY is cast in bronzeOLD BOY is cast in bronzeOLD BOY is cast in bronze
Re: Virgin TV 360 users (Horizon)

Quote:
Originally Posted by biddy View Post
Not sure if this is old news but I just got an email from Virgin telling me I'm ready to upgrade to TV 360 at no extra cost. "It's super easy to upgrade your Virgin TV V6 box and you can do it sitting on your sofa in a matter of minutes. All you need is our genius new remote which we'll pop in the post for you.

So it looks like we do get to keep the old V6's and have the new software.
Indeed, we do. But do we keep our existing recordings and bookmarks, that is the question!
OLD BOY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-11-2020, 16:28   #213
jfman
Architect of Ideas
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 7,051
jfman has a bronze arrayjfman has a bronze arrayjfman has a bronze array
jfman has a bronze arrayjfman has a bronze array
Re: Virgin TV 360 users (Horizon)

Quote:
Originally Posted by OLD BOY View Post
Indeed, we do. But do we keep our existing recordings and bookmarks, that is the question!
No.

Quote:
Enjoy your recordings before you swap
Unfortunately your recordings and settings won’t be transferred to your new TV when you upgrade. But there’s still time to watch before you swap. Some programmes will be available to watch again on Catch Up or On Demand (depending on which TV pack you have) and you’ll find loads more to get hooked on in no time.
jfman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 24-11-2020, 16:30   #214
Dave42
cf.mega poster
 
Dave42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Jarrow Tyne & Wear
Services: V.I.P 120 tivo and v+
Posts: 5,348
Dave42 is cast in bronzeDave42 is cast in bronzeDave42 is cast in bronzeDave42 is cast in bronze
Dave42 is cast in bronzeDave42 is cast in bronzeDave42 is cast in bronzeDave42 is cast in bronzeDave42 is cast in bronzeDave42 is cast in bronzeDave42 is cast in bronzeDave42 is cast in bronzeDave42 is cast in bronzeDave42 is cast in bronzeDave42 is cast in bronze
Re: Virgin TV 360 users (Horizon)

ordered my upgrade here
Dave42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-11-2020, 16:30   #215
biddy
cf.member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 7
biddy is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Virgin TV 360 users (Horizon)

ah right. I'll not bother with the "upgrade" then.

Thanks for that info. I can barely read the small print.
biddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-11-2020, 16:42   #216
Mad Max
cf.mega poster
 
Mad Max's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 3,480
Mad Max has a bronzed appealMad Max has a bronzed appeal
Mad Max has a bronzed appealMad Max has a bronzed appealMad Max has a bronzed appealMad Max has a bronzed appealMad Max has a bronzed appealMad Max has a bronzed appealMad Max has a bronzed appealMad Max has a bronzed appealMad Max has a bronzed appealMad Max has a bronzed appealMad Max has a bronzed appealMad Max has a bronzed appealMad Max has a bronzed appealMad Max has a bronzed appealMad Max has a bronzed appealMad Max has a bronzed appealMad Max has a bronzed appeal
Re: Virgin TV 360 users (Horizon)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave42 View Post
ordered my upgrade here
Where?
Mad Max is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-11-2020, 16:45   #217
ozsat
cf.mega poster
 
ozsat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Area 31 (Oxford)
Services: 1.2Gb/55Mb, VMTV (UHD/HDR/MRS), Freesat HD, Freeview HD, SkyQ UHD/HDR, BTtv UHD/HDR, DAB+
Posts: 1,454
ozsat has a fine set of Quadsozsat has a fine set of Quadsozsat has a fine set of Quadsozsat has a fine set of Quadsozsat has a fine set of Quadsozsat has a fine set of Quadsozsat has a fine set of Quadsozsat has a fine set of Quadsozsat has a fine set of Quadsozsat has a fine set of Quadsozsat has a fine set of Quadsozsat has a fine set of Quadsozsat has a fine set of Quadsozsat has a fine set of Quads
Re: Virgin TV 360 users (Horizon)

They should not really be calling it an "upgrade".

TV360 is a replacement to your existing service with some of the main current V6 features coming in the future.
ozsat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-11-2020, 16:47   #218
muppetman11
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 12,179
muppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny stars
muppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny starsmuppetman11 has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Virgin TV 360 users (Horizon)

Quote:
Originally Posted by OLD BOY View Post
Indeed, we do. But do we keep our existing recordings and bookmarks, that is the question!
Being that there is nothing worth watching on TV Channels surely you can't have that much recorded.
muppetman11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-11-2020, 16:59   #219
OLD BOY
Rise above the players
 
OLD BOY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Wokingham
Services: 2 V6 boxes with 360 software, Now TV, Amazon, Netflix, Starzplay, Apple TV; Discovery +, VM broadban
Posts: 12,404
OLD BOY is cast in bronzeOLD BOY is cast in bronzeOLD BOY is cast in bronzeOLD BOY is cast in bronze
OLD BOY is cast in bronzeOLD BOY is cast in bronzeOLD BOY is cast in bronzeOLD BOY is cast in bronzeOLD BOY is cast in bronzeOLD BOY is cast in bronze
Re: Virgin TV 360 users (Horizon)

Quote:
Originally Posted by muppetman11 View Post
Being that there is nothing worth watching on TV Channels surely you can't have that much recorded.
Funnily enough, I was just saying the same thing to my wife. Most of the programmes on ‘My Shows’ are actually bookmarks for the streamers, which is not too much of a problem because I can at least list them, and re-establish them on the new system (if it allows bookmarks, that is).

There are not that many recordings I am concerned about really - just a few that I have not got around to watching yet. I’ll blitz them over the New Year to get rid of them before I make the change.

I also want to wait until they’ve sorted out the series link issue. I hope they do that quickly.

---------- Post added at 16:59 ---------- Previous post was at 16:57 ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by jfman View Post
No.
Thank you. At least we know now.
OLD BOY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-11-2020, 18:40   #220
djs9750
cf.member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 28
djs9750 is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Virgin TV 360 users (Horizon)

Quick question - does anyone know what would happen if you still have a Tivo box. We have 2 x V6 and 1 x Tivo. I assume the Tivo will not be updated like the V6, so would it have to be replaced by the new multi room box.
djs9750 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-2020, 11:24   #221
fox35
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 150
fox35 has a spectacular aura about themfox35 has a spectacular aura about themfox35 has a spectacular aura about themfox35 has a spectacular aura about them
Re: Virgin TV 360 users (Horizon)

I signed for this yesterday. The confirmation email states that I will receive just the new 360 Remote in the post within 7 days with instructions on how to download the NEW software to my box. So, Its the current V6 box just with a new Horizon software download and new 360 Remote.
fox35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-2020, 12:14   #222
Hugh
Hic Sunt Dracones
Cable Forum Team
 
Hugh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Age: 64
Services: Premiere Collection
Posts: 37,555
Hugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden aura
Hugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden aura
Re: Virgin TV 360 users (Horizon)

I got the email - probably won’t be doing it until they can transfer recordings, as SWMBO usually has around 20-30 to watch at any one time.
__________________
There is always light.
If only we’re brave enough to see it.
If only we’re brave enough to be it
.
If my post is in bold and this colour, it's a Moderator Request.
Hugh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-2020, 14:09   #223
Joedm45
cf.geek
 
Joedm45's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Beyond The Sun
Posts: 674
Joedm45 has a reputation beyond reputeJoedm45 has a reputation beyond reputeJoedm45 has a reputation beyond reputeJoedm45 has a reputation beyond reputeJoedm45 has a reputation beyond reputeJoedm45 has a reputation beyond reputeJoedm45 has a reputation beyond reputeJoedm45 has a reputation beyond reputeJoedm45 has a reputation beyond reputeJoedm45 has a reputation beyond reputeJoedm45 has a reputation beyond reputeJoedm45 has a reputation beyond reputeJoedm45 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Virgin TV 360 users (Horizon)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hugh View Post
I got the email - probably won’t be doing it until they can transfer recordings, as SWMBO usually has around 20-30 to watch at any one time.
I'll be waiting too. It seems there are too many bugs at the moment.

I'll keep a close eye on this thread for when things improve.
Joedm45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-2020, 14:40   #224
RobboEdin
cf.mega poster
 
RobboEdin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,991
RobboEdin has reached the bronze age
RobboEdin has reached the bronze ageRobboEdin has reached the bronze ageRobboEdin has reached the bronze ageRobboEdin has reached the bronze ageRobboEdin has reached the bronze ageRobboEdin has reached the bronze ageRobboEdin has reached the bronze ageRobboEdin has reached the bronze ageRobboEdin has reached the bronze ageRobboEdin has reached the bronze ageRobboEdin has reached the bronze age
Re: Virgin TV 360 users (Horizon)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joedm45 View Post
I'll be waiting too. It seems there are too many bugs at the moment.

I'll keep a close eye on this thread for when things improve.
It’s not a matter of bugs. It’s lack of function when compared to TiVo on the V6.
RobboEdin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-2020, 14:55   #225
denphone
Still alive and fighting
 
denphone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: In the land of beyond and beyond.
Services: XL BB, 2 V6 boxes , XL TV.
Posts: 55,159
denphone has a golden aura
denphone has a golden auradenphone has a golden auradenphone has a golden auradenphone has a golden auradenphone has a golden auradenphone has a golden auradenphone has a golden auradenphone has a golden auradenphone has a golden aura
Re: Virgin TV 360 users (Horizon)

Quote:
Originally Posted by RobboEdin View Post
It’s not a matter of bugs. It’s lack of function when compared to TiVo on the V6.
+1
__________________
“The only lesson you can learn from history is that it repeats itself”
denphone is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:33.


Server: curium.zmnt.uk
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.