Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | What do you have now in terms of a TV Box

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media TV Service

What do you have now in terms of a TV Box
View Poll Results: Which TV Box do you have?
V6 34 54.84%
Virgin TV 360 box 17 27.42%
Not with VM 7 11.29%
Tivo 4 6.45%
Voters: 62. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 25-03-2024, 00:50   #1
vincerooney
cf.mega poster
 
vincerooney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Services: XL TV XL Phone XL 100MB broadband TiVo Cat
Posts: 2,276
vincerooney has reached the bronze age
vincerooney has reached the bronze agevincerooney has reached the bronze agevincerooney has reached the bronze agevincerooney has reached the bronze agevincerooney has reached the bronze agevincerooney has reached the bronze agevincerooney has reached the bronze age
What do you have now in terms of a TV Box

Howdy all,

Just wondering how the migration to Virgin TV 360 is occurring? How many of you fine people have migrated over.

I have 3 tivo v6s and my mum likes all her recordings and series links. I'm still curious what is missing from the 360 compared to the v6 and also what the 360 has over the v6 now a few years after launch?
vincerooney is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 25-03-2024, 03:08   #2
Paul
Dr Pepper Addict
Cable Forum Team
 
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Nottingham
Age: 61
Services: Flextel SIP : Sky Mobile : Sky Q TV : VM BB (1000 Mbps) : Aquiss FTTP (900 Mbps)
Posts: 27,842
Paul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered stars
Paul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered stars
Re: What do you have now in terms of a TV Box

Not with VM (for TV).
__________________

Baby, I was born this way.
Paul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-03-2024, 09:57   #3
joglynne
Born again teenager.
 
joglynne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Manchester. (VM area 20)
Age: 75
Services: Maxit TV, M250 Fibre BB. Phone-Anytime Chatter
Posts: 13,718
joglynne has a golden aurajoglynne has a golden aurajoglynne has a golden aurajoglynne has a golden aura
joglynne has a golden aurajoglynne has a golden aura
Re: What do you have now in terms of a TV Box

I've still got a couple of V6 boxes. They suit us and my husband, a dedicated technophobe, would certainly not want to, or enjoy, moving over to the 360.

If the programmes he likes were all on freeview we would, most likely, ditch VM TV in a shot.
__________________
"I intend to live forever, or die trying" - Groucho Marx..... "but whilst I do I shall do so disgracefully." Jo Glynne
joglynne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-03-2024, 10:01   #4
RichardCoulter
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 10,141
RichardCoulter has disabled reputation
Re: What do you have now in terms of a TV Box

Do they still offer the V6 or do new customers have to have the 360?
RichardCoulter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-03-2024, 10:01   #5
Mr K
Woke and proud !
 
Mr K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Services: TV, Phone, BB, a wife
Posts: 9,166
Mr K has a nice shiny star
Mr K has a nice shiny starMr K has a nice shiny starMr K has a nice shiny starMr K has a nice shiny starMr K has a nice shiny starMr K has a nice shiny starMr K has a nice shiny starMr K has a nice shiny starMr K has a nice shiny starMr K has a nice shiny starMr K has a nice shiny starMr K has a nice shiny starMr K has a nice shiny starMr K has a nice shiny starMr K has a nice shiny starMr K has a nice shiny star
Re: What do you have now in terms of a TV Box

Never mind 360/V6 migration I've only just migrated my old tivo box to a V6. Won't be touching the 360, sounds like a downgrade.
Mr K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-03-2024, 10:08   #6
denphone
Still alive and fighting
 
denphone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: In the land of beyond and beyond.
Services: XL BB, 3 360 boxes , XL TV.
Posts: 56,345
denphone has a golden auradenphone has a golden aura
denphone has a golden auradenphone has a golden auradenphone has a golden auradenphone has a golden auradenphone has a golden auradenphone has a golden auradenphone has a golden auradenphone has a golden auradenphone has a golden auradenphone has a golden auradenphone has a golden aura
Re: What do you have now in terms of a TV Box

We have several 360s in our household, in my view, not others in our household, l prefer the V6 box.
__________________
“The only lesson you can learn from history is that it repeats itself”
denphone is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 25-03-2024, 10:56   #7
TimeLord2018
cf.geek
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 567
TimeLord2018 is just really niceTimeLord2018 is just really niceTimeLord2018 is just really niceTimeLord2018 is just really niceTimeLord2018 is just really niceTimeLord2018 is just really nice
Re: What do you have now in terms of a TV Box

Quote:
Originally Posted by RichardCoulter View Post
Do they still offer the V6 or do new customers have to have the 360?
V6 and 360 are basically identical in hardware terms , it's the firmware that's different (TiVo and Horizon)

Last edited by TimeLord2018; 25-03-2024 at 11:02.
TimeLord2018 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 25-03-2024, 12:20   #8
Kevc69
cf.member
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Posts: 32
Kevc69 is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: What do you have now in terms of a TV Box

pair of 360's, the wife misses the ability to resurrect accidentally deleted recordings and multichannel series link though.
Kevc69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-03-2024, 13:00   #9
spiderplant
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 8,914
spiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny stars
spiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny stars
Re: What do you have now in terms of a TV Box

Quote:
Originally Posted by RichardCoulter View Post
Do they still offer the V6 or do new customers have to have the 360?
New customers have to have 360 or Stream
spiderplant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-03-2024, 13:30   #10
Saul's Grandad
Lurkalot
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Nr. Grimsby
Services: Virgin TV, Phone, mobile & BB. Netflix and Amazon.
Posts: 108
Saul's Grandad is just really niceSaul's Grandad is just really niceSaul's Grandad is just really niceSaul's Grandad is just really niceSaul's Grandad is just really niceSaul's Grandad is just really nice
Re: What do you have now in terms of a TV Box

We have a V6 as the main, downstairs box and a TiVo upstairs. I don't think we will be hurrying to upgrade to the 360 after reading about it on here.
Saul's Grandad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-03-2024, 15:28   #11
RichardCoulter
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 10,141
RichardCoulter has disabled reputation
Re: What do you have now in terms of a TV Box

Quote:
Originally Posted by spiderplant View Post
New customers have to have 360 or Stream
Thanks SP.

It stands to reason that the poll will change in favour of the 360 over time then.

Do you know if/when people will be forcibly migrated from V6 to 360?
RichardCoulter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-03-2024, 16:02   #12
heavyside
cf.geek
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 654
heavyside is a splendid one to beholdheavyside is a splendid one to beholdheavyside is a splendid one to beholdheavyside is a splendid one to beholdheavyside is a splendid one to beholdheavyside is a splendid one to beholdheavyside is a splendid one to beholdheavyside is a splendid one to beholdheavyside is a splendid one to behold
Re: What do you have now in terms of a TV Box

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevc69 View Post
pair of 360's, the wife misses the ability to resurrect accidentally deleted recordings and multichannel series link though.
An undelete feature is the one thing that I miss from the V6. Hopefully it will appear in some form in a future update. Otherwise, I'm very happy I changed to the 360. It does everything else I need and does it well.
heavyside is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-03-2024, 16:34   #13
Mr K
Woke and proud !
 
Mr K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Services: TV, Phone, BB, a wife
Posts: 9,166
Mr K has a nice shiny star
Mr K has a nice shiny starMr K has a nice shiny starMr K has a nice shiny starMr K has a nice shiny starMr K has a nice shiny starMr K has a nice shiny starMr K has a nice shiny starMr K has a nice shiny starMr K has a nice shiny starMr K has a nice shiny starMr K has a nice shiny starMr K has a nice shiny starMr K has a nice shiny starMr K has a nice shiny starMr K has a nice shiny starMr K has a nice shiny star
Re: What do you have now in terms of a TV Box

Quote:
Originally Posted by RichardCoulter View Post
Thanks SP.

It stands to reason that the poll will change in favour of the 360 over time then.

Do you know if/when people will be forcibly migrated from V6 to 360?
Given that VM are still letting a lot of customers still struggle with the V6s predecessor, the original Tivo box, probably a long time away.

Problem with any 360 'upgrade' is the loss of all recordings, which many customers would go apeshit about.
Mr K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-03-2024, 16:39   #14
alwaysabear
RIp Sweetness
 
alwaysabear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: S Essex
Services: TiVo Full house sports bundle,Vivid 200, SHUB 3, talk more anytime.
Posts: 2,380
alwaysabear has a bronzed appealalwaysabear has a bronzed appeal
alwaysabear has a bronzed appealalwaysabear has a bronzed appealalwaysabear has a bronzed appealalwaysabear has a bronzed appealalwaysabear has a bronzed appealalwaysabear has a bronzed appealalwaysabear has a bronzed appealalwaysabear has a bronzed appealalwaysabear has a bronzed appealalwaysabear has a bronzed appealalwaysabear has a bronzed appealalwaysabear has a bronzed appealalwaysabear has a bronzed appealalwaysabear has a bronzed appeal
Re: What do you have now in terms of a TV Box

Still have the the original Tivo box, it works for me.
alwaysabear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-03-2024, 16:45   #15
Mr K
Woke and proud !
 
Mr K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Services: TV, Phone, BB, a wife
Posts: 9,166
Mr K has a nice shiny star
Mr K has a nice shiny starMr K has a nice shiny starMr K has a nice shiny starMr K has a nice shiny starMr K has a nice shiny starMr K has a nice shiny starMr K has a nice shiny starMr K has a nice shiny starMr K has a nice shiny starMr K has a nice shiny starMr K has a nice shiny starMr K has a nice shiny starMr K has a nice shiny starMr K has a nice shiny starMr K has a nice shiny starMr K has a nice shiny star
Re: What do you have now in terms of a TV Box

Quote:
Originally Posted by alwaysabear View Post
Still have the the original Tivo box, it works for me.
We probably need another option on this poll then !

I suspect there are a lot still with the original tivo, VM will only replace with a V6 as a result of a fault. For me it just got too slow, I considered that a fault, reported it as such, and got it replaced with a V6. Just be sure they don't give you a 360!
Mr K is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 17:13.


Server: osmium.zmnt.uk
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.