Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Comparing FTTP and Virgin in the same street

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media Internet Service

Comparing FTTP and Virgin in the same street
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 13-09-2021, 20:32   #1
Skie
a giant headend
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 1,122
Skie has reached the bronze age
Skie has reached the bronze ageSkie has reached the bronze ageSkie has reached the bronze ageSkie has reached the bronze ageSkie has reached the bronze ageSkie has reached the bronze ageSkie has reached the bronze age
Comparing FTTP and Virgin in the same street

More out of interest than anything else, and I'm sure some people might find it informative.

FTTP was rolled out here 12 months ago and I have now got a willing pingtest victim.

First, Virgin:


Modem mode on a USG

Now BT FTTP:


BT Smart Hub 2 with a Raspberry Pi to respond to pings (and also run Smokeping as the ADSL was shockingly bad a while back)

Compared to the ADSL on a good day:
Skie is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 14-09-2021, 12:43   #2
roughbeast
cf.mega poster
 
roughbeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Coventry Cab CV829
Services: 1GB /50mb, TV V6x2, Phone XL Talk unlimited and mobile x4
Posts: 1,647
roughbeast has reached the bronze age
roughbeast has reached the bronze ageroughbeast has reached the bronze ageroughbeast has reached the bronze age
Re: Comparing FTTP and Virgin in the same street

Pretty much as expected. MY VM TBB quality graph is usually slightly better than that, but not by much. VM could only match BT FTTP if they strip out all their cable and replace it with fibre. I'm sure someone will argue that the basic VM network architecture is at the root of the problem too.

BTW I was going to display my graph but TBB isn't working properly for me. The log in page isn't responding atm.
__________________
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Coventry Cab CV829
Services: 1Gb /50Mb, V6 box X2, Phone XL Talk unlimited and mobile x4. SH4 in modem mode with GT-AX11000

Last edited by roughbeast; 14-09-2021 at 12:49.
roughbeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-09-2021, 18:35   #3
Skie
a giant headend
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 1,122
Skie has reached the bronze age
Skie has reached the bronze ageSkie has reached the bronze ageSkie has reached the bronze ageSkie has reached the bronze ageSkie has reached the bronze ageSkie has reached the bronze ageSkie has reached the bronze age
Re: Comparing FTTP and Virgin in the same street

Yeah the login page was really slow earlier.

VM are ripping everything out and replacing it with fibre, though no doubt they'll sell it as a super expensive upgrade for the first few years whilst giving away for free to new customers.
Skie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-09-2021, 17:16   #4
Aye Up
Barking up the wrong tree
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Manchester
Age: 37
Services: VM 350Mb, BT Phone Line & Broadband, YouView
Posts: 84
Aye Up will become famous soon enoughAye Up will become famous soon enoughAye Up will become famous soon enough
Re: Comparing FTTP and Virgin in the same street

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skie View Post
Yeah the login page was really slow earlier.

VM are ripping everything out and replacing it with fibre, though no doubt they'll sell it as a super expensive upgrade for the first few years whilst giving away for free to new customers.
I stand to be corrected here, however VM are not ripping out the existing network, fibre will be rolled out along side it. I suspect eventually they may do that but not this decade I would think.
Aye Up is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-09-2021, 17:36   #5
pip08456
Sad Doig Fan!
 
pip08456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Barry South Wales
Age: 65
Services: Now back with VM for BB & phone. 50Mb service.
Posts: 10,477
pip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny star
pip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny star
Re: Comparing FTTP and Virgin in the same street

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aye Up View Post
I stand to be corrected here, however VM are not ripping out the existing network, fibre will be rolled out along side it. I suspect eventually they may do that but not this decade I would think.
There's no need for them to do so ATM as DOCSIS 3.1 is capable of 1Gb speeds.
pip08456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-09-2021, 19:48   #6
alanbjames
cf.mega poster
 
alanbjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Swansea, South Wales UK.
Age: 70
Services: XL Phone, XXXL Gig1 BB SH4 (wired).
Posts: 2,547
alanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quads
Re: Comparing FTTP and Virgin in the same street

My graph is better than this.... the only mass spike was when I was downloading a lot earlier.

alanbjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-09-2021, 20:26   #7
roughbeast
cf.mega poster
 
roughbeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Coventry Cab CV829
Services: 1GB /50mb, TV V6x2, Phone XL Talk unlimited and mobile x4
Posts: 1,647
roughbeast has reached the bronze age
roughbeast has reached the bronze ageroughbeast has reached the bronze ageroughbeast has reached the bronze age
Re: Comparing FTTP and Virgin in the same street

Quote:
Originally Posted by pip08456 View Post
There's no need for them to do so ATM as DOCSIS 3.1 is capable of 1Gb speeds.
It is the upload speed of 52Mb that is the problem. Would deploying DOCSIS 3.1 on the upstream improve that? With VMs particular network architecture would FTTP enable higher upstream speeds or not?

Finally accessed my quality graph. Pretty much what I have always had from VM.




__________________
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Coventry Cab CV829
Services: 1Gb /50Mb, V6 box X2, Phone XL Talk unlimited and mobile x4. SH4 in modem mode with GT-AX11000

Last edited by roughbeast; 15-09-2021 at 20:31.
roughbeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-09-2021, 20:57   #8
Skie
a giant headend
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 1,122
Skie has reached the bronze age
Skie has reached the bronze ageSkie has reached the bronze ageSkie has reached the bronze ageSkie has reached the bronze ageSkie has reached the bronze ageSkie has reached the bronze ageSkie has reached the bronze age
Re: Comparing FTTP and Virgin in the same street

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aye Up View Post
I stand to be corrected here, however VM are not ripping out the existing network, fibre will be rolled out along side it. I suspect eventually they may do that but not this decade I would think.
No you're right, I went a bit superlative.

I suspect in some areas they might have to replace stuff just given space constraints, but mostly it's an overbuild.
Skie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-09-2021, 21:32   #9
Pierre
The Dark Satanic Mills
 
Pierre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: floating in the ether
Posts: 9,821
Pierre has a pair of shiny starsPierre has a pair of shiny starsPierre has a pair of shiny stars
Pierre has a pair of shiny starsPierre has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Comparing FTTP and Virgin in the same street

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aye Up View Post
I stand to be corrected here, however VM are not ripping out the existing network, fibre will be rolled out along side it. I suspect eventually they may do that but not this decade I would think.
Project Mustang, the replacement of the HFC network with fibre, will be a lng and arduous piece of work. There are several trials and surveys ongoing. They hope to use as much existing infrastructure (cabinets and duct) as possible but obviously depending on the legacy architecture there are differing amounts of both.

The removal of the TDM voice network will free up space in cabs and duct as they remove Krone blocks and twisted pair copper, but the two projects may not be in total sync to capitalise on that.

IIRC, and I can confirm quickly, the HFC shut off is scheduled for around 2035-2040, and they’ll continue to upgrade that until switch off.

XGS-PON will implemented across the FTTP network, replacing RFoG, and across the Mustang overlay.

Make no mistake VMO2 are investing a monumental amount of money to deliver this.
__________________
The wheel's still turning but the hamsters dead.
Pierre is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-2021, 15:20   #10
rtho782
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 235
rtho782 is just really nicertho782 is just really nicertho782 is just really nicertho782 is just really nicertho782 is just really nicertho782 is just really nice
Re: Comparing FTTP and Virgin in the same street

Yeah I imagine part of the issue with the FTTP upgrade is that VM's network is a hodgepodge of networks built by various different predecessors to various different specs (e.g. ducted vs direct buried, etc etc)
rtho782 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-2021, 16:33   #11
Pierre
The Dark Satanic Mills
 
Pierre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: floating in the ether
Posts: 9,821
Pierre has a pair of shiny starsPierre has a pair of shiny starsPierre has a pair of shiny stars
Pierre has a pair of shiny starsPierre has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Comparing FTTP and Virgin in the same street

Quote:
Originally Posted by rtho782 View Post
Yeah I imagine part of the issue with the FTTP upgrade is that VM's network is a hodgepodge of networks built by various different predecessors to various different specs (e.g. ducted vs direct buried, etc etc)
There's no direct buried, It's all ducted.

The difference is the type of HFC architecture. Different types of cabs, no. of cabs etc.
__________________
The wheel's still turning but the hamsters dead.
Pierre is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-2021, 17:02   #12
pythagoras
cf.addict
 
pythagoras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Wigan
Age: 60
Posts: 476
pythagoras is a pillar of societypythagoras is a pillar of societypythagoras is a pillar of societypythagoras is a pillar of societypythagoras is a pillar of societypythagoras is a pillar of societypythagoras is a pillar of societypythagoras is a pillar of societypythagoras is a pillar of societypythagoras is a pillar of societypythagoras is a pillar of societypythagoras is a pillar of societypythagoras is a pillar of societypythagoras is a pillar of societypythagoras is a pillar of societypythagoras is a pillar of societypythagoras is a pillar of societypythagoras is a pillar of societypythagoras is a pillar of societypythagoras is a pillar of society
Re: Comparing FTTP and Virgin in the same street

@roughbeast is there a setting in the ax11000 that allows think broadband quality monitor to function properly? I just have a solid red background on mine.
pythagoras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-2021, 18:17   #13
pip08456
Sad Doig Fan!
 
pip08456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Barry South Wales
Age: 65
Services: Now back with VM for BB & phone. 50Mb service.
Posts: 10,477
pip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny star
pip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny star
Re: Comparing FTTP and Virgin in the same street

Quote:
Originally Posted by pythagoras View Post
@roughbeast is there a setting in the ax11000 that allows think broadband quality monitor to function properly? I just have a solid red background on mine.
Go to advanced, select respond to pings from WAN.

pip08456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-2021, 22:00   #14
pythagoras
cf.addict
 
pythagoras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Wigan
Age: 60
Posts: 476
pythagoras is a pillar of societypythagoras is a pillar of societypythagoras is a pillar of societypythagoras is a pillar of societypythagoras is a pillar of societypythagoras is a pillar of societypythagoras is a pillar of societypythagoras is a pillar of societypythagoras is a pillar of societypythagoras is a pillar of societypythagoras is a pillar of societypythagoras is a pillar of societypythagoras is a pillar of societypythagoras is a pillar of societypythagoras is a pillar of societypythagoras is a pillar of societypythagoras is a pillar of societypythagoras is a pillar of societypythagoras is a pillar of societypythagoras is a pillar of society
Re: Comparing FTTP and Virgin in the same street

Quote:
Originally Posted by pip08456 View Post
Go to advanced, select respond to pings from WAN.

Thanks, that did it.
pythagoras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-2021, 23:18   #15
gunner45
cf.member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: London
Services: TV XL with V6 box + phone, M350, VM Hub 3.0
Posts: 93
gunner45 is on a distinguished roadgunner45 is on a distinguished road
Re: Comparing FTTP and Virgin in the same street

Using existing ducting to install fibre from optical nodes to premises via distribution cabinets is only part of the work that Virgin Media needs to do. Unless the hub sites will contain the OLTs (unlikely for various reasons) VM will need to distribute with more virtual hub cabinets in the field, and each will need to be powered.
gunner45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 17:10.


Server: curium.zmnt.uk
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.