Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | 10Gig Ethernet Card

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Computers & IT > Networking

10Gig Ethernet Card
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 18-02-2021, 01:05   #1
alanbjames
cf.mega poster
 
alanbjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Swansea, South Wales UK.
Age: 69
Services: XL Phone, XXL 500mb BB SH3 (wired).
Posts: 2,374
alanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quads
10Gig Ethernet Card

Can someone recommend a 10Gig RJ45 Ethernet card for 100 or under please?
alanbjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 18-02-2021, 02:20   #2
Paul
Dr Pepper Addict
Cable Forum Team
 
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Nottingham
Services: VM Phone : Sky Mobile : Sky TV : VM BB (350 Mbps) : Vodafone BB (38 Mbps)
Posts: 23,400
Paul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered stars
Paul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered stars
Re: 10Gig Ethernet Card

There are a couple on Amazon, but what do you need a 10G card for ?
__________________

Baby, I was born this way.
Paul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-02-2021, 04:38   #3
alanbjames
cf.mega poster
 
alanbjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Swansea, South Wales UK.
Age: 69
Services: XL Phone, XXL 500mb BB SH3 (wired).
Posts: 2,374
alanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quads
Re: 10Gig Ethernet Card

we are looking to upgrade our wired network.
alanbjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2021, 22:09   #4
idi banashapan
step on my trip
 
idi banashapan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,591
idi banashapan has disabled reputation
Re: 10Gig Ethernet Card

don't forget to upgrade all the cabling as well. A card alone won't do it.
__________________
If one does not understand a person, one tends to regard him as a fool
idi banashapan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-02-2021, 10:38   #5
gimpymoo
cf.addict
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Nottingham
Age: 43
Posts: 117
gimpymoo will become famous soon enoughgimpymoo will become famous soon enoughgimpymoo will become famous soon enough
Re: 10Gig Ethernet Card

Quote:
Originally Posted by idi banashapan View Post
don't forget to upgrade all the cabling as well. A card alone won't do it.
Not always.

10GB over good quality CAT5 over short distances and longer can be fine if terminated correctly.
gimpymoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-02-2021, 20:16   #6
Paul
Dr Pepper Addict
Cable Forum Team
 
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Nottingham
Services: VM Phone : Sky Mobile : Sky TV : VM BB (350 Mbps) : Vodafone BB (38 Mbps)
Posts: 23,400
Paul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered stars
Paul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered stars
Re: 10Gig Ethernet Card

A single card probably wont do much anyway, regardless of the wiring.
You [obviously] need both the sender and receiver to be 10G to get full speed.
(and the equipment they are connected to has to be able to handle such speeds)

I'd love to know what you are doing on a home network to even needs that sort of speed.
__________________

Baby, I was born this way.
Paul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-02-2021, 20:25   #7
gimpymoo
cf.addict
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Nottingham
Age: 43
Posts: 117
gimpymoo will become famous soon enoughgimpymoo will become famous soon enoughgimpymoo will become famous soon enough
Re: 10Gig Ethernet Card

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul View Post
A single card probably wont do much anyway, regardless of the wiring.
You [obviously] need both the sender and receiver to be 10G to get full speed.
(and the equipment they are connected to has to be able to handle such speeds)

I'd love to know what you are doing on a home network to even needs that sort of speed.
I would like 10Gb but the cost of updating file servers, computers, POE Switches, firewall etc, scary.

If we look at the time taken to get from 50Mb to 1Gb, how long will it take to get from 1Gb to 3Gb which would then make it all worthwhile.
gimpymoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-02-2021, 21:08   #8
nomadking
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Northampton
Services: Virgin Media TV&BB 350Mb, V6 STB
Posts: 6,791
nomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appeal
nomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appeal
Re: 10Gig Ethernet Card

Nothing wrong with future-proofing. Even if you have 3x 1Gb devices, they could still need a total of 3Gb running down the same cable.
nomadking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-02-2021, 14:36   #9
alanbjames
cf.mega poster
 
alanbjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Swansea, South Wales UK.
Age: 69
Services: XL Phone, XXL 500mb BB SH3 (wired).
Posts: 2,374
alanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quadsalanbjames has a fine set of Quads
Re: 10Gig Ethernet Card

Quote:
Originally Posted by idi banashapan View Post
don't forget to upgrade all the cabling as well. A card alone won't do it.
All my cabling is Cat 7.

---------- Post added at 13:36 ---------- Previous post was at 13:33 ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul View Post
A single card probably wont do much anyway, regardless of the wiring.
You [obviously] need both the sender and receiver to be 10G to get full speed.
(and the equipment they are connected to has to be able to handle such speeds)

I'd love to know what you are doing on a home network to even needs that sort of speed.
All our PCs are gonna get a 10gb ethernet card and im buying my son a 10gb switch for his birthday thats what he wants. Also gonna get a router with 10gb ports.
alanbjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-02-2021, 19:53   #10
rtho782
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 180
rtho782 has a spectacular aura about themrtho782 has a spectacular aura about themrtho782 has a spectacular aura about themrtho782 has a spectacular aura about them
Re: 10Gig Ethernet Card

Your best bet in terms of cost, is not to use RJ45 as this works out very expensive. Mellanox ConnectX-3 cards can be had on ebay in about the 50 range, these can then be used with SFP+ DACs, which are cheap cables for devices close together ( https://www.fs.com/uk/c/10g-sfp-dac-1114 ) or with cheap 10G SFP+ MMF modules ( https://www.fs.com/uk/products/11552.html ) for linking longer runs.

If you want/need to stay with copper for a particular run, you can use RJ45 DACs, these are much more expensive tho ( https://www.fs.com/uk/products/66613.html for 30m, 80m ones are ~65)

I have a 10G mellanox card in both my main PC and my server, and a cheap 10G switch ( https://linitx.com/product/mikrotik-...1g-4s+in/15664 ) that links the two, and provides a 1G port linking to the rest of my network.

The Mellanox ConnectX-2 cards also work well, and are even cheaper, but are very old now, so not much updated driver support for them.

10G networking is really good, and it means I can do things like have all the storage drives in my sever, and use iSCSI to mount them, meaning my desktop can be in a smaller case with no spinning rust. Very glad I upgraded.

I get pretty decent throughput as well:

Last edited by Paul; 21-02-2021 at 20:22. Reason: Pointless comment removed, dont be a dick.
rtho782 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:38.


Server: curium.zmnt.uk
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.