Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Can I pause my skysports package while there is no live football on ?

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media TV Service

Can I pause my skysports package while there is no live football on ?
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 29-05-2020, 12:10   #151
Raider999
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 1,169
Raider999 is a glorious beacon of lightRaider999 is a glorious beacon of lightRaider999 is a glorious beacon of lightRaider999 is a glorious beacon of lightRaider999 is a glorious beacon of lightRaider999 is a glorious beacon of lightRaider999 is a glorious beacon of light
Re: Can I pause my skysports package while there is no live football on ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by heavyside View Post
I will do that if this persists when football or F1 resumes. This greying out dates from shortly after I paused my sports package. I assumed it was a consequence of pausing. I did recently renew with Virgin Media. The only thing that changed as far as I can tell is that my previous package was Full House and is now Maxit something-or-other. Same package as before, new name, less per month.
Personally, I would get this sorted asap - it should have been available throughout the paused period.
Raider999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 29-05-2020, 13:49   #152
spiderplant
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 7,860
spiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny star
spiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny star
Re: Can I pause my skysports package while there is no live football on ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raider999 View Post
Personally, I would get this sorted asap - it should have been available throughout the paused period.
Might be better to wait until the live action restarts. Sounds like heavyside really was unsubscribed for whatever reason. If they resubscribe now, they won't be in "paused" mode.
spiderplant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-05-2020, 14:23   #153
heavyside
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 483
heavyside is a splendid one to beholdheavyside is a splendid one to beholdheavyside is a splendid one to beholdheavyside is a splendid one to beholdheavyside is a splendid one to beholdheavyside is a splendid one to beholdheavyside is a splendid one to beholdheavyside is a splendid one to beholdheavyside is a splendid one to behold
Re: Can I pause my skysports package while there is no live football on ?

How very odd. I've just checked my most recent contract - the one I was emailed when I renewed at the end of April - and I definitely have Sky Sports along with all the other bits and bobs I had from my previous contract. As I am only interested in Premier League football and F1 I will wait and see if the channels become un-greyed out by the time they resume.
heavyside is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-05-2020, 15:59   #154
Raider999
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 1,169
Raider999 is a glorious beacon of lightRaider999 is a glorious beacon of lightRaider999 is a glorious beacon of lightRaider999 is a glorious beacon of lightRaider999 is a glorious beacon of lightRaider999 is a glorious beacon of lightRaider999 is a glorious beacon of light
Re: Can I pause my skysports package while there is no live football on ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by heavyside View Post
How very odd. I've just checked my most recent contract - the one I was emailed when I renewed at the end of April - and I definitely have Sky Sports along with all the other bits and bobs I had from my previous contract. As I am only interested in Premier League football and F1 I will wait and see if the channels become un-greyed out by the time they resume.
I was only suggesting contacting now so it was all sorted by the required date - it should have been available throughout which suggests a problem.

It may not be resolved in 5 mins.
Raider999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-05-2020, 16:44   #155
Paul
Dr Pepper Addict
Cable Forum Team
 
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Nottingham
Services: VM Phone : Sky Mobile : Sky TV : VM BB (350 Mbps) : Vodafone BB (38 Mbps)
Posts: 23,334
Paul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered stars
Paul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered starsPaul is seeing silvered stars
Re: Can I pause my skysports package while there is no live football on ?

I thought Maxit only included BT Sport, not Sky Sport ?

(Which would explain why they are greyed out).
__________________

Baby, I was born this way.
Paul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-05-2020, 18:13   #156
spiderplant
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 7,860
spiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny star
spiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny star
Re: Can I pause my skysports package while there is no live football on ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by heavyside View Post
I will wait and see if the channels become un-greyed out by the time they resume.
They won't.

Do you have more than one box? If so, see whether the channels are there on your other box(es)
spiderplant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-05-2020, 20:19   #157
Raider999
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 1,169
Raider999 is a glorious beacon of lightRaider999 is a glorious beacon of lightRaider999 is a glorious beacon of lightRaider999 is a glorious beacon of lightRaider999 is a glorious beacon of lightRaider999 is a glorious beacon of lightRaider999 is a glorious beacon of light
Re: Can I pause my skysports package while there is no live football on ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul View Post
I thought Maxit only included BT Sport, not Sky Sport ?

(Which would explain why they are greyed out).

I already checked that he previously had a sky sub which he paused (earlier in thread)
Raider999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-05-2020, 20:57   #158
Richardr
cf.member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: St Albans, UK
Services: V6, Full House, Braodband
Posts: 68
Richardr is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Can I pause my skysports package while there is no live football on ?

Isn't there a position that pausing only works when the package is otherwise unchanged? Changing package, e.g. Full House to Maxit - would that negate the pause, and the way round it was to cancel, not pause?
Richardr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-05-2020, 21:23   #159
Mr K
Lefty Liberal Remoaner
 
Mr K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Services: TV, Phone, BB, a wife
Posts: 6,296
Mr K has a bronze arrayMr K has a bronze arrayMr K has a bronze array
Mr K has a bronze arrayMr K has a bronze arrayMr K has a bronze arrayMr K has a bronze arrayMr K has a bronze arrayMr K has a bronze arrayMr K has a bronze arrayMr K has a bronze arrayMr K has a bronze array
Re: Can I pause my skysports package while there is no live football on ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Richardr View Post
Isn't there a position that pausing only works when the package is otherwise unchanged? Changing package, e.g. Full House to Maxit - would that negate the pause, and the way round it was to cancel, not pause?
Just cancel. Chances are you'll get a better deal if they're trying to get you back. All this pausing of subs was to make sure you don't cancel/unsubscribe. Those premiership players Ferraris depend on your DD...
Mr K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-05-2020, 21:24   #160
spiderplant
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 7,860
spiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny star
spiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny star
Re: Can I pause my skysports package while there is no live football on ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Richardr View Post
Isn't there a position that pausing only works when the package is otherwise unchanged? Changing package, e.g. Full House to Maxit - would that negate the pause, and the way round it was to cancel, not pause?
I don't think there is any limitation like that. If you think you have been charged in error, speak to Customer Services.

Incidentally, the ability to request a pause has now ended. Those who have already paused will be contacted shortly.
spiderplant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-2020, 06:26   #161
heavyside
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 483
heavyside is a splendid one to beholdheavyside is a splendid one to beholdheavyside is a splendid one to beholdheavyside is a splendid one to beholdheavyside is a splendid one to beholdheavyside is a splendid one to beholdheavyside is a splendid one to beholdheavyside is a splendid one to beholdheavyside is a splendid one to behold
Re: Can I pause my skysports package while there is no live football on ?

I received my latest bill yesterday. Sky Sports is listed and is definitely included in my sub.
heavyside is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-2020, 10:35   #162
spiderplant
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 7,860
spiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny star
spiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny star
Re: Can I pause my skysports package while there is no live football on ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by heavyside View Post
I received my latest bill yesterday. Sky Sports is listed and is definitely included in my sub.
Hmm... you had a strange channel-entitlement fault before. I wonder whether your box is faulty?

For a start, try rebooting the box, and also your SuperHub.
spiderplant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-2020, 14:39   #163
heavyside
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 483
heavyside is a splendid one to beholdheavyside is a splendid one to beholdheavyside is a splendid one to beholdheavyside is a splendid one to beholdheavyside is a splendid one to beholdheavyside is a splendid one to beholdheavyside is a splendid one to beholdheavyside is a splendid one to beholdheavyside is a splendid one to behold
Re: Can I pause my skysports package while there is no live football on ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by spiderplant View Post
Hmm... you had a strange channel-entitlement fault before. I wonder whether your box is faulty?

For a start, try rebooting the box, and also your SuperHub.
I have now restarted both of my V6 boxes and my Superhub. The Sky Sports channels are still greyed out on both boxes. The SD Sky Sports channels are present and correct but not the HD variants which are the ones I watch and have listed on my Favourites. The Sky Movies HD channels are still there and working as are the BT Sport HD channels. As this is the same for both V6 boxes I am guessing this is some kind of admin or billing misunderstanding. I hope a call to 150 next week will clear this up before the Premier League and F1 start up again.
heavyside is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-2020, 14:53   #164
spiderplant
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 7,860
spiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny star
spiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny star
Re: Can I pause my skysports package while there is no live football on ?

Oh, that sounds like you are subscribed to the Sports&Cinema package but not the HD Sports. Sky Sports HD is a separate subscription. (Sky Cinema is always HD regardless).

Speak to Customer Services.
spiderplant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-2020, 15:28   #165
heavyside
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 483
heavyside is a splendid one to beholdheavyside is a splendid one to beholdheavyside is a splendid one to beholdheavyside is a splendid one to beholdheavyside is a splendid one to beholdheavyside is a splendid one to beholdheavyside is a splendid one to beholdheavyside is a splendid one to beholdheavyside is a splendid one to behold
Re: Can I pause my skysports package while there is no live football on ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by spiderplant View Post
Oh, that sounds like you are subscribed to the Sports&Cinema package but not the HD Sports. Sky Sports HD is a separate subscription. (Sky Cinema is always HD regardless).

Speak to Customer Services.
That sounds like it could be it. If it is it is annoying as when I renewed I specifically asked for all my previous channels in HD (Full House) to be retained. I will contact CS next week.
heavyside is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 19:03.


Server: curium.zmnt.uk
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.