Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | 500mb Question

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media Internet Service

500mb Question
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-05-2019, 09:23   #61
General Maximus
C/O Felix Legion
 
General Maximus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lincoln
Services: phone + L TV + 350mbit BB + Sky+HD
Posts: 8,395
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
Re: 500mb Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikep View Post
Tried to get on the new deal and they cant do it for a month or something? Is this something any one else experienced?
That is fair enough in principle because they have said it is coming without mentioning a specific date but it doesnt make sense because they are advertising left, right and center on their site and saying it is available to order.

Complain complain complain.
__________________
Join the Mockingjay, join the fight
General Maximus is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 01-05-2019, 09:36   #62
mikep
cf.member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 45
mikep is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: 500mb Question

I think they said something about only a certain "team" can do it or something.
mikep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2019, 10:15   #63
Synthetic
cf.geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Newcastle
Posts: 657
Synthetic is a name known to allSynthetic is a name known to allSynthetic is a name known to allSynthetic is a name known to allSynthetic is a name known to allSynthetic is a name known to allSynthetic is a name known to allSynthetic is a name known to all
Re: 500mb Question

They've probably not updated their systems to do it properly yet, I remember being told this when I first tried to get 300, they had to call through to some other team which sounds like what Mike's saying.
Synthetic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2019, 11:02   #64
General Maximus
C/O Felix Legion
 
General Maximus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lincoln
Services: phone + L TV + 350mbit BB + Sky+HD
Posts: 8,395
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
Re: 500mb Question

yeah I had that with 350, it took several phone calls
__________________
Join the Mockingjay, join the fight
General Maximus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2019, 11:48   #65
Synthetic
cf.geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Newcastle
Posts: 657
Synthetic is a name known to allSynthetic is a name known to allSynthetic is a name known to allSynthetic is a name known to allSynthetic is a name known to allSynthetic is a name known to allSynthetic is a name known to allSynthetic is a name known to all
Re: 500mb Question

From what I gather it has to be added "manually", IE overridden and only certain teams have the access to do that.

The "Normal" teams only have access to add the VVIP package which 500 comes as part of.

Could also be completely wrong
Synthetic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2019, 12:24   #66
BenMcr
Virgin Media Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Manchester
Services: Virgin Media V6 x2, Full House TV, VIVID 350
Posts: 16,721
BenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny stars
BenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny stars
Re: 500mb Question

You can only get 500Mb as part of VVIP. There is no way to get it without VVIP.

The only exception would be if your area doesn't yet support 500Mb for whatever reason, you'd get VVIP with the fastest tier available in your area.
__________________
I work for Virgin Media but all views are my own.
BenMcr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2019, 12:50   #67
Tricky Trevor
cf.geek
 
Tricky Trevor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Nottingham
Age: 62
Services: Ultimate Oomph,500 mbit,2xV6,,4K tv
Posts: 527
Tricky Trevor has entered a golden reputation eraTricky Trevor has entered a golden reputation eraTricky Trevor has entered a golden reputation eraTricky Trevor has entered a golden reputation eraTricky Trevor has entered a golden reputation eraTricky Trevor has entered a golden reputation eraTricky Trevor has entered a golden reputation eraTricky Trevor has entered a golden reputation eraTricky Trevor has entered a golden reputation eraTricky Trevor has entered a golden reputation eraTricky Trevor has entered a golden reputation era
Re: 500mb Question

Did you put your post code in to see if it's available in your area?
__________________
I used to be indecisive but now I'm not so sure.
Tricky Trevor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2019, 12:57   #68
roughbeast
cf.mega poster
 
roughbeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Coventry Cab CV826
Services: 300Mb /20mb, TV V+ HD/ TIVO 1Tb, Phone XL Talk unlimited and mobile x4
Posts: 1,506
roughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of societyroughbeast is a pillar of society
Re: 500mb Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Maximus View Post
That is fair enough in principle because they have said it is coming without mentioning a specific date but it doesnt make sense because they are advertising left, right and center on their site and saying it is available to order.

Complain complain complain.
I certainly did. CS have now said I can have V.VIP Vivid 500 on 8th May.
__________________
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Coventry Cab CV826
Services: 500Mb /35Mb, V6 box X2, Phone XL Talk unlimited and mobile x4. SH3 modem mode with Asus RT-NAC88U
roughbeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2019, 18:38   #69
alanbjames
cf.mega poster
 
alanbjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Swansea, South Wales UK.
Age: 68
Services: XL Phone, XXL 350mb BB SH3 (wired).
Posts: 2,106
alanbjames has a brilliant futurealanbjames has a brilliant futurealanbjames has a brilliant futurealanbjames has a brilliant futurealanbjames has a brilliant futurealanbjames has a brilliant futurealanbjames has a brilliant futurealanbjames has a brilliant futurealanbjames has a brilliant futurealanbjames has a brilliant futurealanbjames has a brilliant futurealanbjames has a brilliant future
Re: 500mb Question

ive just come out of hospital and found my upload increased to 36mb but still on 350mb download.

logged into my account and no mention of 500mb being available but surely the area must be if they increased upload?
alanbjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2019, 18:49   #70
General Maximus
C/O Felix Legion
 
General Maximus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lincoln
Services: phone + L TV + 350mbit BB + Sky+HD
Posts: 8,395
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
Re: 500mb Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by alanbjames View Post
logged into my account and no mention of 500mb being available but surely the area must be if they increased upload?
no, the upload speed increase is independent of the 500mbit tier and something they have probably been working on for a long time because it is the one area where VM have lagged behind the competition. It wouldn't surprise if towards the end of this year they increased the lower tiers as well and made everyone 10:1.
__________________
Join the Mockingjay, join the fight
General Maximus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2019, 19:14   #71
SnoopZ
CF Resident Dog
 
SnoopZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 11,633
SnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny stars
SnoopZ has a pair of shiny stars
Re: 500mb Question

They really don't need 5 tiers it is crazy.
__________________
PSN: Snoopzster
SnoopZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2019, 19:20   #72
alanbjames
cf.mega poster
 
alanbjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Swansea, South Wales UK.
Age: 68
Services: XL Phone, XXL 350mb BB SH3 (wired).
Posts: 2,106
alanbjames has a brilliant futurealanbjames has a brilliant futurealanbjames has a brilliant futurealanbjames has a brilliant futurealanbjames has a brilliant futurealanbjames has a brilliant futurealanbjames has a brilliant futurealanbjames has a brilliant futurealanbjames has a brilliant futurealanbjames has a brilliant futurealanbjames has a brilliant futurealanbjames has a brilliant future
Re: 500mb Question

This is what ive been told by a Yank customer service agent from Virgin...

Im now paying 60.00 for 350mb Broadband and Home phone + all inc calls.

I will have to take out the VIP Package costing 99 a month + I will be charged and this is the honest truth i will need 2 TV Boxes, why i have to have two is beyond me + i will need to stump up a one time charge for activation.

I told him honestly and "Once again Virgin are Cr**ping over their long term members and just wanting new ones" and i hung up the phone.
alanbjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2019, 19:29   #73
SnoopZ
CF Resident Dog
 
SnoopZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 11,633
SnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny stars
SnoopZ has a pair of shiny stars
Re: 500mb Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by alanbjames View Post
This is what ive been told by a Yank customer service agent from Virgin...

Im now paying 60.00 for 350mb Broadband and Home phone + all inc calls.

I will have to take out the VIP Package costing 99 a month + I will be charged and this is the honest truth i will need 2 TV Boxes, why i have to have two is beyond me + i will need to stump up a one time charge for activation.

I told him honestly and "Once again Virgin are Cr**ping over their long term members and just wanting new ones" and i hung up the phone.
It was only announced on Monday, give things time to settle and see what happens as it is likely things will change.

Do you need the extra download or just want it? I mean you have a huge upload increase which is what most people on the top 350 tier have been complaining about.
__________________
PSN: Snoopzster
SnoopZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2019, 19:31   #74
General Maximus
C/O Felix Legion
 
General Maximus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lincoln
Services: phone + L TV + 350mbit BB + Sky+HD
Posts: 8,395
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
General Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze arrayGeneral Maximus has a bronze array
Re: 500mb Question

They told me i had to have a tivo box when i got 350mbits so i let them send it to me. It has never left the box.

It is as you said though, a carefully planned long term screw over by VM. They are hedging their bets that for every 4 people who put the phone down 1 person will cave in. They are trying to make a massive revenue jump as fast as possible. Eventually when they think they have reached saturation point they'll make it available to other packages and when people ring up say i didnt want tivo bla bla bla and i just want 500mbit bb you'll get "sorry, you signed a 12 month contract".
__________________
Join the Mockingjay, join the fight
General Maximus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2019, 19:43   #75
alanbjames
cf.mega poster
 
alanbjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Swansea, South Wales UK.
Age: 68
Services: XL Phone, XXL 350mb BB SH3 (wired).
Posts: 2,106
alanbjames has a brilliant futurealanbjames has a brilliant futurealanbjames has a brilliant futurealanbjames has a brilliant futurealanbjames has a brilliant futurealanbjames has a brilliant futurealanbjames has a brilliant futurealanbjames has a brilliant futurealanbjames has a brilliant futurealanbjames has a brilliant futurealanbjames has a brilliant futurealanbjames has a brilliant future
Re: 500mb Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by SnoopZ View Post
It was only announced on Monday, give things time to settle and see what happens as it is likely things will change.

Do you need the extra download or just want it? I mean you have a huge upload increase which is what most people on the top 350 tier have been complaining about.
Im complaining because as a company ANY company should be looking out for their long term revenue as much as any new and they dont seem to ever do this.
alanbjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:00.


Server: xenon.zmnt.net
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.