Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Netflix buffering

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media TV Service

Netflix buffering
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 19-11-2020, 19:43   #1
Inactive Digital
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Services: VM broadband, Sky Q
Posts: 252
Inactive Digital is a glorious beacon of lightInactive Digital is a glorious beacon of lightInactive Digital is a glorious beacon of lightInactive Digital is a glorious beacon of lightInactive Digital is a glorious beacon of lightInactive Digital is a glorious beacon of lightInactive Digital is a glorious beacon of light
Netflix buffering

Hi all, my parents have an original Tivo and have recently started using the Netflix app on it. However it frequently buffers and gets stuck on 25% (I can't check exactly what happens due to lockdown). I advised my step-dad to call faults and apparently he is being sent an 'internet cable' - I'm assuming that this is an ethernet cable...

I was under the impression that the Tivo boxes had their own built in modem and the ethernet port was for streaming from another box in the home, rather than connecting to the Internet. Will the new cable fix the fault?
Inactive Digital is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 19-11-2020, 20:19   #2
Chris
Trollsplatter
Cable Forum Team
 
Chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: North of Watford
Services: Humane elimination of all common Internet pests
Posts: 33,107
Chris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden aura
Chris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden auraChris has a golden aura
Re: Netflix buffering

Don’t know ... but on every Netflix app I’ve ever used, it will buffer up to 25% even if there’s no actual data coming in, just as long as there’s an active data connection.

I guess if the TiVo’s built in modem (or Wi-fi?) is on the blink, an Ethernet cable would be a quick fix.
Chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-11-2020, 20:35   #3
cheekyangus
cf.mega poster
 
cheekyangus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,533
cheekyangus has a brilliant futurecheekyangus has a brilliant futurecheekyangus has a brilliant futurecheekyangus has a brilliant futurecheekyangus has a brilliant futurecheekyangus has a brilliant futurecheekyangus has a brilliant futurecheekyangus has a brilliant futurecheekyangus has a brilliant futurecheekyangus has a brilliant futurecheekyangus has a brilliant futurecheekyangus has a brilliant future
Re: Netflix buffering

Doubt it will help, as you say the original VM model gets the internet from its own modem, the ethernet is for other things like sharing content between other household Tivos.

I've not used an original VM Tivo with Netflix for around 3 years, so although it wasn't awful experience it may be worse these days.

If getting them a V6 Tivo upgrade is too much hassle/cost, you'd be better getting a streaming stick, like a Roku and walk them through the setup on the phone. I've helped a relative of pension age recently with Roku and it went OK.
cheekyangus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-11-2020, 20:41   #4
spiderplant
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 7,997
spiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny stars
spiderplant has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Netflix buffering

An Ethernet cable won't help. Netflix will only use the built-in modem. They need to call again.
spiderplant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-11-2020, 21:07   #5
Inactive Digital
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Services: VM broadband, Sky Q
Posts: 252
Inactive Digital is a glorious beacon of lightInactive Digital is a glorious beacon of lightInactive Digital is a glorious beacon of lightInactive Digital is a glorious beacon of lightInactive Digital is a glorious beacon of lightInactive Digital is a glorious beacon of lightInactive Digital is a glorious beacon of light
Re: Netflix buffering

Thanks all, I've let him know. I thought it didn't sound right, but it's been a few years since I had a tivo and I wasn't entirely sure.
Inactive Digital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-11-2020, 10:33   #6
ScottishSteve
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 158
ScottishSteve is just really niceScottishSteve is just really niceScottishSteve is just really niceScottishSteve is just really niceScottishSteve is just really niceScottishSteve is just really nice
Re: Netflix buffering

When I had my original TiVo I found it did this all the time so I never used any of the apps.
V6 has never gave me any problems.
ScottishSteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-11-2020, 12:24   #7
Mr K
Lefty Liberal Remoaner
 
Mr K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Services: TV, Phone, BB, a wife
Posts: 6,692
Mr K has a bronze arrayMr K has a bronze arrayMr K has a bronze array
Mr K has a bronze arrayMr K has a bronze arrayMr K has a bronze arrayMr K has a bronze arrayMr K has a bronze arrayMr K has a bronze arrayMr K has a bronze arrayMr K has a bronze arrayMr K has a bronze arrayMr K has a bronze arrayMr K has a bronze arrayMr K has a bronze arrayMr K has a bronze arrayMr K has a bronze arrayMr K has a bronze arrayMr K has a bronze arrayMr K has a bronze array
Re: Netflix buffering

Quote:
Originally Posted by ScottishSteve View Post
When I had my original TiVo I found it did this all the time so I never used any of the apps.
V6 has never gave me any problems.
I've got one of the old Tivos. Don't use Netflix, but thinks like iPlayer used to buffer all the time, now it plays no problem. Maybe there's there's less pressure on its separate 10mb connection, now more have a V6.
Mr K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-11-2020, 12:46   #8
cheekyangus
cf.mega poster
 
cheekyangus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,533
cheekyangus has a brilliant futurecheekyangus has a brilliant futurecheekyangus has a brilliant futurecheekyangus has a brilliant futurecheekyangus has a brilliant futurecheekyangus has a brilliant futurecheekyangus has a brilliant futurecheekyangus has a brilliant futurecheekyangus has a brilliant futurecheekyangus has a brilliant futurecheekyangus has a brilliant futurecheekyangus has a brilliant future
Re: Netflix buffering

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr K View Post
I've got one of the old Tivos. Don't use Netflix, but thinks like iPlayer used to buffer all the time, now it plays no problem. Maybe there's there's less pressure on its separate 10mb connection, now more have a V6.
They changed how the tuners worked on the original VM Tivo a while back to improve performance. Each of the tuners used to "record" all the time, now just the channel you are watching "records" freeing up resources.

That's "record" as in being able to rewind each tuner an hour, not record as in selecting a show to record and stored until you delete. The other tuners are now inactive until required.
cheekyangus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-11-2020, 13:36   #9
spiderplant
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 7,997
spiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny stars
spiderplant has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Netflix buffering

It's more likely due to network capacity improvements.
spiderplant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-11-2020, 22:27   #10
Mr K
Lefty Liberal Remoaner
 
Mr K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Services: TV, Phone, BB, a wife
Posts: 6,692
Mr K has a bronze arrayMr K has a bronze arrayMr K has a bronze array
Mr K has a bronze arrayMr K has a bronze arrayMr K has a bronze arrayMr K has a bronze arrayMr K has a bronze arrayMr K has a bronze arrayMr K has a bronze arrayMr K has a bronze arrayMr K has a bronze arrayMr K has a bronze arrayMr K has a bronze arrayMr K has a bronze arrayMr K has a bronze arrayMr K has a bronze arrayMr K has a bronze arrayMr K has a bronze arrayMr K has a bronze array
Re: Netflix buffering

Quote:
Originally Posted by spiderplant View Post
It's more likely due to network capacity improvements.
Interesting. In the early days of Tivo, VM said issues with iPlayer buffering were all down to the BBC...
Mr K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-11-2020, 00:06   #11
OLD BOY
Just shield those at risk
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Wokingham
Services: 2 V6 boxes; Maxit TV; Now TV, Amazon, Netflix, Starzplay, Apple TV; VM broadband and landline
Posts: 11,434
OLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze array
OLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze array
Re: Netflix buffering

Netflix was the only streamer that worked on my old TiVo, although it took about a full minute to load!
OLD BOY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-11-2020, 00:21   #12
spiderplant
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 7,997
spiderplant has a pair of shiny starsspiderplant has a pair of shiny stars
spiderplant has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Netflix buffering

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr K View Post
Interesting. In the early days of Tivo, VM said issues with iPlayer buffering were all down to the BBC...
A lot of the problems in the early days were (or more accurately at the CDNs that the BBC used):
https://community.virginmedia.com/t5.../true#M1415480

But it was no secret that there were also network congestion issues:
https://www.cableforum.uk/board/show...1&postcount=17
https://www.cableforum.uk/board/show...9&postcount=33
https://www.cableforum.uk/board/show...8&postcount=67
spiderplant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-11-2020, 14:20   #13
Legendkiller2k
cf.geek
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Jupiter
Services: Plusnet fibre 80mbs, plusnet tv with bt sport,skyq with cinema and signature and netflix,hulu, kodi
Posts: 509
Legendkiller2k is a name known to allLegendkiller2k is a name known to allLegendkiller2k is a name known to allLegendkiller2k is a name known to allLegendkiller2k is a name known to allLegendkiller2k is a name known to allLegendkiller2k is a name known to allLegendkiller2k is a name known to all
Re: Netflix buffering

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr K View Post
Interesting. In the early days of Tivo, VM said issues with iPlayer buffering were all down to the BBC...
VM never take responsibility for their own issues.
__________________
Destiny is not set but what we make.
Legendkiller2k is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 21-11-2020, 16:13   #14
ozsat
cf.mega poster
 
ozsat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Area 31 (Oxford)
Services: 690/44Mpbs, TV (UHD/HDR/MRS), Freesat HD, Freeview HD, SkyQ UHD/HDR, BTtv UHD (+HDR), DAB+
Posts: 1,301
ozsat has a reputation beyond reputeozsat has a reputation beyond reputeozsat has a reputation beyond reputeozsat has a reputation beyond reputeozsat has a reputation beyond reputeozsat has a reputation beyond reputeozsat has a reputation beyond reputeozsat has a reputation beyond reputeozsat has a reputation beyond reputeozsat has a reputation beyond reputeozsat has a reputation beyond reputeozsat has a reputation beyond reputeozsat has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Netflix buffering

The Netflix 25% buffering issue I used to get on several devices but never the V6.

It was common across all platforms and seem to be (usually) fixed by just logging out and logging back in to Netflix.
ozsat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-11-2020, 21:45   #15
Mad Max
cf.mega poster
 
Mad Max's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 3,076
Mad Max has a bronzed appealMad Max has a bronzed appeal
Mad Max has a bronzed appealMad Max has a bronzed appealMad Max has a bronzed appealMad Max has a bronzed appealMad Max has a bronzed appealMad Max has a bronzed appealMad Max has a bronzed appealMad Max has a bronzed appeal
Re: Netflix buffering

Quote:
Originally Posted by ozsat View Post
The Netflix 25% buffering issue I used to get on several devices but never the V6.

It was common across all platforms and seem to be (usually) fixed by just logging out and logging back in to Netflix.
Same here.
Mad Max is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 15:19.


Server: curium.zmnt.uk
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.