Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | BBC iplayer problem

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media TV Service

BBC iplayer problem
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 21-05-2019, 10:49   #121
iadom
Ole’s at the wheel.
 
iadom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Shaw, Oldham, Lancashire.
Services: V6 & TiVo stb. Phone. 200 Meg BB.
Posts: 7,225
iadom has a nice shiny stariadom has a nice shiny star
iadom has a nice shiny stariadom has a nice shiny stariadom has a nice shiny stariadom has a nice shiny stariadom has a nice shiny stariadom has a nice shiny stariadom has a nice shiny star
Re: BBC iplayer problem

Tell me about it, I did call retentions a while back when I was paying even more.

Currently on Full House (XL) TV, Vivid 200 BB and one phone line on Talk more Int.
One V6 box and one earlier TiVo box.
iadom is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 21-05-2019, 11:06   #122
denphone
Still alive and fighting
 
denphone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: In the land of beyond and beyond.
Services: XL BB, 2 V6 boxes , XL TV.
Posts: 51,421
denphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver bling
denphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver bling
Re: BBC iplayer problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by iadom View Post
Tell me about it, I did call retentions a while back when I was paying even more.

Currently on Full House (XL) TV, Vivid 200 BB and one phone line on Talk more Int.
One V6 box and one earlier TiVo box.
Obviously your best bet now is to wait until the end of your contract and tell them you are leaving as you have found better deals elsewhere , That usually work for us and that way its up to them to offer you a much better deal then you have currently got.

How long have you got left on your contract?
__________________
“The only lesson you can learn from history is that it repeats itself”
denphone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-05-2019, 11:15   #123
iadom
Ole’s at the wheel.
 
iadom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Shaw, Oldham, Lancashire.
Services: V6 & TiVo stb. Phone. 200 Meg BB.
Posts: 7,225
iadom has a nice shiny stariadom has a nice shiny star
iadom has a nice shiny stariadom has a nice shiny stariadom has a nice shiny stariadom has a nice shiny stariadom has a nice shiny stariadom has a nice shiny stariadom has a nice shiny star
Re: BBC iplayer problem

Quite a while yet.
iadom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-05-2019, 11:27   #124
denphone
Still alive and fighting
 
denphone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: In the land of beyond and beyond.
Services: XL BB, 2 V6 boxes , XL TV.
Posts: 51,421
denphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver bling
denphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver blingdenphone has a lot of silver bling
Re: BBC iplayer problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by iadom View Post
Quite a while yet.
Obviously if they raise their prices which they usually do in the few months then you have the option of cancelling your contract and taking it from there.
__________________
“The only lesson you can learn from history is that it repeats itself”
denphone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-05-2019, 14:43   #125
OLD BOY
Experience is everything
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Wokingham
Services: 2 V6 boxes; Full House; Now TV, Amazon and Netflix; VM broadband and landline
Posts: 9,682
OLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze array
OLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze array
Re: BBC iplayer problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by denphone View Post
Obviously if they raise their prices which they usually do in the few months then you have the option of cancelling your contract and taking it from there.
Good advice, Den.
OLD BOY is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 21-05-2019, 20:40   #126
Mr K
Lefty Liberal Remoaner
 
Mr K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Services: TV, Phone, BB, a goldfish
Posts: 5,323
Mr K has a bronzed appealMr K has a bronzed appeal
Mr K has a bronzed appealMr K has a bronzed appealMr K has a bronzed appealMr K has a bronzed appealMr K has a bronzed appealMr K has a bronzed appealMr K has a bronzed appealMr K has a bronzed appealMr K has a bronzed appealMr K has a bronzed appealMr K has a bronzed appealMr K has a bronzed appealMr K has a bronzed appealMr K has a bronzed appealMr K has a bronzed appealMr K has a bronzed appealMr K has a bronzed appealMr K has a bronzed appealMr K has a bronzed appealMr K has a bronzed appeal
Re: BBC iplayer problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by iadom View Post
Tell me about it, I did call retentions a while back when I was paying even more.

Currently on Full House (XL) TV, Vivid 200 BB and one phone line on Talk more Int.
One V6 box and one earlier TiVo box.
£131 does seem a heck of an amount for that.

I'm on almost identical package - Full House (XL) TV, Vivid 200 BB and but with Talk More Anytime, with one V6 box and one TiVo box. Pay £52.50 with Line rental paid upfront, so effectively £71.50. There is £18 of discounts on it, but even taking those off it would come to £89.50. If its right, Talk More Int. sure costs a lot.

btw i find IPlayer on the old Tivo slow to load up, but when it starts streaming it's ok, unlike the old days when it was crap.
Mr K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-05-2019, 09:50   #127
OLD BOY
Experience is everything
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Wokingham
Services: 2 V6 boxes; Full House; Now TV, Amazon and Netflix; VM broadband and landline
Posts: 9,682
OLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze array
OLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze array
Re: BBC iplayer problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr K View Post
£131 does seem a heck of an amount for that.

I'm on almost identical package - Full House (XL) TV, Vivid 200 BB and but with Talk More Anytime, with one V6 box and one TiVo box. Pay £52.50 with Line rental paid upfront, so effectively £71.50. There is £18 of discounts on it, but even taking those off it would come to £89.50. If its right, Talk More Int. sure costs a lot.

btw i find IPlayer on the old Tivo slow to load up, but when it starts streaming it's ok, unlike the old days when it was crap.
My last TiVo would stutter, stop and just give up altogether with the i-Player. I gave up using it in the end.

With the V6, it works perfectly and I use it quite a lot now.
OLD BOY is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 22-05-2019, 14:49   #128
Stuart
-
Cable Forum Team
 
Stuart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Somewhere
Services: Virgin for TV and Internet, BT for phone
Posts: 26,662
Stuart has a lot of silver blingStuart has a lot of silver blingStuart has a lot of silver blingStuart has a lot of silver blingStuart has a lot of silver bling
Stuart has a lot of silver blingStuart has a lot of silver blingStuart has a lot of silver blingStuart has a lot of silver bling
Re: BBC iplayer problem

Please get back on topic.
Stuart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-05-2019, 08:27   #129
chrispy2000
cf.addict
 
chrispy2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Peterborough
Services: Maxit,V6, BB 100Mb, Virgin Mobile
Posts: 316
chrispy2000 is on a distinguished roadchrispy2000 is on a distinguished road
Re: BBC iplayer problem

I don't know if this has been mentioned on here before, but on the iplayer does it now play in SD or HD?
There used to be a button to choose between them but that seems to have gone awhile ago.
__________________
Chris
______________________________________________

chrispy2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-05-2019, 08:46   #130
cheekyangus
cf.geek
 
cheekyangus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 750
cheekyangus is a name known to allcheekyangus is a name known to allcheekyangus is a name known to allcheekyangus is a name known to allcheekyangus is a name known to allcheekyangus is a name known to allcheekyangus is a name known to allcheekyangus is a name known to all
Re: BBC iplayer problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrispy2000 View Post
I don't know if this has been mentioned on here before, but on the iplayer does it now play in SD or HD?
There used to be a button to choose between them but that seems to have gone awhile ago.
It doesn't say, but on most people's it will do something abpve SD, it will do 1080p HD on most material. I think these days iPlayer auto-adapts to the connection speed. The other two BBC apps you can choose between two levels (something like good and best) but I'm not at a TV to check.
cheekyangus is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 25-05-2019, 09:32   #131
BenMcr
Virgin Media Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Manchester
Services: Virgin Media V6 x2, Full House TV, VIVID 350
Posts: 16,719
BenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny stars
BenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny stars
Re: BBC iplayer problem

Yes. iPlayer uses HD adaptive streaming on compatible devices - which include the V6 and TiVo

https://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/help/h...ck#bestquality

Best Quality is also the default option

https://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/help/t...ing/changes_hd
__________________
I work for Virgin Media but all views are my own.
BenMcr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-05-2019, 10:36   #132
chrispy2000
cf.addict
 
chrispy2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Peterborough
Services: Maxit,V6, BB 100Mb, Virgin Mobile
Posts: 316
chrispy2000 is on a distinguished roadchrispy2000 is on a distinguished road
Re: BBC iplayer problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by BenMcr View Post
Yes. iPlayer uses HD adaptive streaming on compatible devices - which include the V6 and TiVo

https://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/help/h...ck#bestquality

Best Quality is also the default option

https://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/help/t...ing/changes_hd
Thanks or your reply
__________________
Chris
______________________________________________

chrispy2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2019, 14:35   #133
Raider999
cf.geek
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 953
Raider999 will become famous soon enoughRaider999 will become famous soon enoughRaider999 will become famous soon enough
Re: BBC iplayer problem

Why does I-player prompt me to login to my account when I try to use catch-up through my V6 box?

This doesn't happen on my sky box.
Raider999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2019, 14:40   #134
ozsat
cf.geek
 
ozsat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Area 31 (Oxford)
Services: V6 TiVo (+MRS), VIVID500/35, Freeview HD, SkyQ UHD, FreesatHD, BTtv UHD, DAB+, Panasonic 4k/HDR
Posts: 986
ozsat has much to be proud ofozsat has much to be proud ofozsat has much to be proud ofozsat has much to be proud ofozsat has much to be proud ofozsat has much to be proud ofozsat has much to be proud ofozsat has much to be proud ofozsat has much to be proud ofozsat has much to be proud of
Re: BBC iplayer problem

You don't have the iPlayer app on the Sky box.

You have download access to some of the iPlayer content - but it is not the app.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raider999 View Post
Why does I-player prompt me to login to my account when I try to use catch-up through my V6 box?

This doesn't happen on my sky box.
ozsat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2019, 17:07   #135
BenMcr
Virgin Media Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Manchester
Services: Virgin Media V6 x2, Full House TV, VIVID 350
Posts: 16,719
BenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny stars
BenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny stars
Re: BBC iplayer problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raider999 View Post
Why does I-player prompt me to login to my account when I try to use catch-up through my V6 box?

This doesn't happen on my sky box.
https://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/help/h...sign-in/msi-tv

https://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/help/h...account-signin
__________________
I work for Virgin Media but all views are my own.
BenMcr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 23:45.


Server: xenon.zmnt.net
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.