Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | M1000 is available. How to order?

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media Internet Service

M1000 is available. How to order?
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 19-01-2020, 22:57   #46
Sephiroth
Simples
 
Sephiroth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: RG41
Services: 1 Gbps; Hub 4 MM; ASUS RT-AC68U. BT Infinity2; Tivo; V6; XL Phone; Devolo 1200AV
Posts: 6,790
Sephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze array
Sephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze array
Re: M1000 is available. How to order?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nomadking View Post
But it's still only a single 2.5G LAN port. It's of little use unless you have multiple 1Gb connections simultaneously using a 2.5Gb capable device eg a NAS.

My use of "they" was merely to avoid the presumption of "he" or "she".
What's wrong with "he/she"/ The politically correct and grammatically incorrect use of "they" for a singular context is an awful abomination (along with all forms of PC).

Your technical point, of course, stands true. I have a NAS with a 10Gb port, though but alas no such port on the PC that uses it. The 2.5 Gbps port can also be used as a WAN port.
__________________
Seph.

My advice is at your risk.
Sephiroth is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 19-01-2020, 23:19   #47
nomadking
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Northampton
Services: Virgin Media TV&BB 350Mb, V6 STB
Posts: 5,502
nomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appeal
nomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appealnomadking has a bronzed appeal
Re: M1000 is available. How to order?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sephiroth View Post
What's wrong with "he/she"/ The politically correct and grammatically incorrect use of "they" for a singular context is an awful abomination (along with all forms of PC).

Your technical point, of course, stands true. I have a NAS with a 10Gb port, though but alas no such port on the PC that uses it. The 2.5 Gbps port can also be used as a WAN port.
That assumes that I know whether you are a she or he in the first place.


If there isn't a difference between a WAN and a LAN connection, why the difference in labelling, and why the difference in settings for each type? The firmware might treat them differently.
nomadking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2020, 07:58   #48
pip08456
Sad Doig Fan!
 
pip08456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Barry South Wales
Age: 63
Services: Now back with VM for BB & phone. 50Mb service.
Posts: 8,788
pip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronze
pip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronze
Re: M1000 is available. How to order?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nomadking View Post
That assumes that I know whether you are a she or he in the first place.


If there isn't a difference between a WAN and a LAN connection, why the difference in labelling, and why the difference in settings for each type? The firmware might treat them differently.
Of course here's an even easier way. Use his name.
pip08456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2020, 09:41   #49
spiderplant
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 7,714
spiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny star
spiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny star
Re: M1000 is available. How to order?

Quote:
Originally Posted by pip08456 View Post
Use his name.
I think you mean "their name"
spiderplant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2020, 17:31   #50
Sephiroth
Simples
 
Sephiroth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: RG41
Services: 1 Gbps; Hub 4 MM; ASUS RT-AC68U. BT Infinity2; Tivo; V6; XL Phone; Devolo 1200AV
Posts: 6,790
Sephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze array
Sephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze array
Re: M1000 is available. How to order?

Quote:
Originally Posted by spiderplant View Post
I think you mean "their name"
... in which case it should be “their names”.
__________________
Seph.

My advice is at your risk.
Sephiroth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2020, 17:44   #51
pip08456
Sad Doig Fan!
 
pip08456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Barry South Wales
Age: 63
Services: Now back with VM for BB & phone. 50Mb service.
Posts: 8,788
pip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronze
pip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronzepip08456 is cast in bronze
Re: M1000 is available. How to order?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sephiroth View Post
... in which case it should be “their names”.
Only if addressing more than one person.
pip08456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2020, 19:02   #52
Sephiroth
Simples
 
Sephiroth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: RG41
Services: 1 Gbps; Hub 4 MM; ASUS RT-AC68U. BT Infinity2; Tivo; V6; XL Phone; Devolo 1200AV
Posts: 6,790
Sephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze array
Sephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze array
Re: M1000 is available. How to order?

Quote:
Originally Posted by pip08456 View Post
Only if addressing more than one person.
"They" and "their" implies the plural according to rules of grammar.

Anyway, M1000 certainly address more than one person. It is very popular.
__________________
Seph.

My advice is at your risk.
Sephiroth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2020, 20:21   #53
Hugh
Hic Sunt Dracones
Cable Forum Team
 
Hugh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Age: 63
Services: Premiere Collection
Posts: 33,803
Hugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden aura
Hugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden auraHugh has a golden aura
Re: M1000 is available. How to order?

"They" doesn’t - it has been used as a singular personal pronoun (as well as plural) for centuries, if the gender of the person is not identified in the sentence or phrase.

"There’s someone at the door!"
"Answer it, see what they want
."

Or, if someone cut you off when you were driving, and you didn’t see their face, it’s unlikely you’d slam your hand on the wheel and exclaim, “Did you see that? He or she cut me off!

Even Shakespeare used "their’ as a singular pronoun.

Quote:
There's not a man I meet but doth salute me
As I were their well-acquainted friend.”
__________________
If my post is in bold and this colour, it's a Moderator Request.
Hugh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2020, 21:11   #54
Kushan
FORMER Virgin Media Staff
 
Kushan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Warrington
Posts: 4,482
Kushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appeal
Kushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appealKushan has a bronzed appeal
Re: M1000 is available. How to order?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sephiroth View Post
Kush is pressing me and I don’t want to dodge! His underlying question is well founded. My instinct is that in the lifetime of the AX11000 router at my house, and with the possibility of full fibre roll-out and associated speed competition, then2.5Gig port will eventually come into useful play. I’ve had the AC68U for nearly 4 years and look what’s happened to speeds in that elapsed period. Naturally I would have to upgrade my PC equipment, but that’s all part of the fun.
Ah, so simply future proofing then! I can get behind that.

Though I'd sooner hold onto my money until routers with all 2.5G ports (not just the WAN) become more common. Ideally 5G or 10G.

My PC has a 10G port on it, but there isn't even a reasonably priced consumer switch that I would buy to take advantage of it.
__________________
My views are my own and in no way reflect those of Virgin Media.
Kushan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2020, 21:33   #55
Sephiroth
Simples
 
Sephiroth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: RG41
Services: 1 Gbps; Hub 4 MM; ASUS RT-AC68U. BT Infinity2; Tivo; V6; XL Phone; Devolo 1200AV
Posts: 6,790
Sephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze array
Sephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze arraySephiroth has a bronze array
Re: M1000 is available. How to order?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kushan View Post
Ah, so simply future proofing then! I can get behind that.

Though I'd sooner hold onto my money until routers with all 2.5G ports (not just the WAN) become more common. Ideally 5G or 10G.

My PC has a 10G port on it, but there isn't even a reasonably priced consumer switch that I would buy to take advantage of it.
Good point - even on the 1Gb aspect. For example, the Netgear GS108 Gigabit won't deliver 1 Gbps at the port - so the PC connects directly to the ASUS RT AC68U that I'm keeping for now.
__________________
Seph.

My advice is at your risk.
Sephiroth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 20:08   #56
fizzyade
cf.member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 20
fizzyade is on a distinguished roadfizzyade is on a distinguished road
Re: M1000 is available. How to order?

MikroTik do some 10g switches that are reasonably priced for the tech, I use a couple of them as the backbone of my network.
fizzyade is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:17.


Server: xenon.zmnt.net
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.