Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Two Questions on Samsung/Android

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Alternatives to Virgin Media > Other Telco Services Discussion

Land line cost ?
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 15-01-2022, 18:08   #1
Itshim
Do I care what you think
 
Itshim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Cardiff South Wales
Age: 71
Services: V6 ,Virgin L. Phone Broadband.sky go Netflix
Posts: 3,541
Itshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appeal
Itshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appeal
Land line cost ?

As I don't have a " live" openreach line my question is this should l choose to just use Freeview with another BB source ( not virgin) besides the cost of BB what other costs would incur ie telephone line rental not need of phone line.
__________________
No point in being pessimistic. You know it won`t work.
Itshim is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 15-01-2022, 18:45   #2
pip08456
Sad Doig Fan!
 
pip08456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Barry South Wales
Age: 66
Services: Now back with VM for BB & phone. 100Mb service.
Posts: 11,031
pip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny star
pip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny star
Re: Land line cost ?

You don't need a phone line or BB for Freeview.
pip08456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-01-2022, 11:44   #3
Itshim
Do I care what you think
 
Itshim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Cardiff South Wales
Age: 71
Services: V6 ,Virgin L. Phone Broadband.sky go Netflix
Posts: 3,541
Itshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appeal
Itshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appeal
Re: Land line cost ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by pip08456 View Post
You don't need a phone line or BB for Freeview.
I know . Looking at using Freeview + BB for streaming etc (have smart TV). Hence wondering the costs ?
__________________
No point in being pessimistic. You know it won`t work.
Itshim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-01-2022, 11:53   #4
pip08456
Sad Doig Fan!
 
pip08456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Barry South Wales
Age: 66
Services: Now back with VM for BB & phone. 100Mb service.
Posts: 11,031
pip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny star
pip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny star
Re: Land line cost ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Itshim View Post
I know . Looking at using Freeview + BB for streaming etc (have smart TV). Hence wondering the costs ?
Many ISP's are now offering BB without phone line especially in areas which are transferring to Digital voice.

Just Google broadband only deals.
pip08456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-01-2022, 17:27   #5
Itshim
Do I care what you think
 
Itshim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Cardiff South Wales
Age: 71
Services: V6 ,Virgin L. Phone Broadband.sky go Netflix
Posts: 3,541
Itshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appeal
Itshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appealItshim has a bronzed appeal
Re: Land line cost ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by pip08456 View Post
Many ISP's are now offering BB without phone line especially in areas which are transferring to Digital voice.

Just Google broadband only deals.
Broadband only and u switch .,none except virgin media ! . So question still stands what is the extra cost ? ie what does the landline cost ,and who is paid to ?
__________________
No point in being pessimistic. You know it won`t work.
Itshim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-01-2022, 21:11   #6
pip08456
Sad Doig Fan!
 
pip08456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Barry South Wales
Age: 66
Services: Now back with VM for BB & phone. 100Mb service.
Posts: 11,031
pip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny star
pip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny starpip08456 has a nice shiny star
Re: Land line cost ?

There is BT and EE supply BB without landline call package.

https://www.moneysupermarket.com/broadband/

Don't forget whichever you go to there is a cost included for the line to supply you, Virgin included (coax in their case) Others either don't include a call package, PAYG calls or anytime calls, etc.

Most of Cardiff is covered by Openreach FTTP so there's more no call package deals out there, all you have to do is refuse Digital Voice when offered it.
pip08456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 21:16.


Server: curium.zmnt.uk
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.